Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Lake Blackwell, 2 Bedroom Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 620 sq ft
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4 adults maximum) best suited for adults.

Lake Blackwell...where you can create memories to last a lifetime!

Our vacation rental on Blackwell Lake will offer you spectacular second story views any time of the year! Landscaped steps and beautiful flower gardens lead you to our two bedroom bungalow, which is located 10 miles west of Alexandria. It's quaint, cozy and offers all of the comforts of home. The master bedroom has a queen bed, 6ft. closet and a restful decor. The second bedroom is small with a comfortable fold out bed. The kitchen and living room are open to each other and offer a homey feel.

Out the front door is a private deck with an umbrella table and gas grill. A 4 person hot tub rests on a lower deck for you to relax in anytime of the day or night.

Down the hill at the beach you may swim, sail, kayak and canoe or just float! Fishing off the docks or boat is a wonderful way to fritter away the day. A late night dip in the lake followed by a campfire, s’mores and star gazing is a great way to call it a night.

During the winter months, feel free to bring your ice fishing equipment, snow shoes and cross country skis. Please leave your snowmobiles at home since we offer a quiet retreat and our neighbors are non snowmobilers. This is billed as a quaint, quiet retreat.

Keywords: lake, woods, quaint, sailing, swimming, kayaking, fire ring, hot tub, canoeing, fishing, country, quiet, cross country ski trails, ice fishing, private deck, downhill skiing nearby, newly redecorated, electric fireplace, biking, lakeside deck, wireless internet, second story cottage, bungalow, apartment, gardens, beach, swimming raft, near village, near organic strawberry farm, Runestone Park the birth place of America

More Details

Owner
Glenaris and Barry Arvold
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 17, 2018

About Glenaris and Barry Arvold

Barry and I have been married 43 years. We built our rustic home and raised our 4 great children here. Now, we have 9 grandchildren who are our pride and joy.

We are a family that loves to travel and experience different cultures. We've been blessed to visit China, Peru, New Zealand, Mexico & more, but our favorite place on earth is HOME!

Glenaris and Barry Arvold purchased this bungalow in 1982

Why Glenaris and Barry Arvold chose Farwell

We are 10 min. off of I-94, 120 miles from the Twin Cities and 100 miles from Fargo, ND.

Alexandria is in the heart of lake country and as our area motto says, 'Easy to get to, hard to leave!'

What makes this bungalow unique

Our peaceful little lake will offer hours of fun. We have boats of all kinds for you to use during your stay at no extra charge. The tipi in the woods is sure to enchant. Bird watching, deer sightings, wild turkey parades and the distant howel of a lone coyote or the hoot of an owl are not uncommon occurances. Our favorite outdoor sounds involve the laughter of our resident loons.

We are near Andes Tower Hills ski resort, Kennsington Ruinstone Park, Golf courses, Antique and Boutique shopping in Alexandria and in season, you can pick your own organic strawberries less than a half mile away!

Alexandria offers small town entertainment such as bike trails, bowling, mini golf, go carts, many restaurants, movie, summer stock and community theatre. You'll have check out Big Ole and the Runestone Museum and our Maritime Museum to catch up on some local history. Did you know that Alexandria is the birthplace of America?!

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation bungalow rental in Farwell

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 620 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 bathroom with shower only.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Bed (1), (1) pack and play for a small child, Sleep Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
Notes:
fishing boat, sunfish sail boats, canoe, kayaks, fire ring, gardens, swimming raft, lakeside deck, small beach, wooded area, newly redecorated, electric fireplace, the county road separates from the beach area, large fire ring, sailing lessons available, ice fishing, cross country ski trails and snow shoeing out the front door.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Blackwell, 2 Bedroom Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
5

Nice quiet getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This was perfect for my husband and I. Nice view, cozy with a well furnished kitchen. Very nice owners. Would recommend to a friend!

  • Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return! Kind regards, Glen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Just okay

  • 2 of 5

I planned a surprise trip here for my husband for our 5 year anniversary and to celebrate him finishing his degree. It was the first time we’ve been able to get away since our honeymoon since we have a medically fragile 4 year old who’s always in the hospital and a 2 year old that make it impossible to get a way. It took a lot of coordinating to be able to come 7hours away but it seemed worth it to get away alone and spend a lot of time on the lake with the kayaks and boats that came with the rental. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed! We were almost to the bungalow before receiving any instructions on how to get in which was stressful. When we arrived there weren’t any instructions on where the kayaks and boats were stored, how to get a demonstration of building a fire in the tipi (which was required before starting one), or how to operate the hot tub which seemed to be broken. We were able to easily get ahold of the owners who were very nice and gave us instructions on how to fix the hot tub and offered to send a technician on Monday if we couldn’t get it ourselves (which we did) and gave us the instructions for the tipi campfire. However, we were informed that the kayaks and boats advertised with the rental would not be available until after Memorial Day. We were so disappointed as that was the main selling point of this rental for us. We tried to find somewhere nearby that rented them out but most of them were booked through our vacation because everyone was out on the lakes. We still had a nice time being being alone without the kids; we sat on the dock, went on walks, had a bonfire, played some games, and sat in the hot tub but if that’s all we wanted, we could’ve stayed closer to home and saved a lot of driving time and money. I’d also like to add that the shower didn’t have much pressure at all so showering took forever! Overall, the owners and their grandson (who was staying in the main house) were nice but the bungalow without the kayaks and boats was not worth it to us and had we known we wouldn’t have access to them, we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Submitted: 16-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay. Unfortunately, the ice recently went out on the lake and its very typical that boats, docks, swimming rafts are not in the water in Minnesota until after Memorial weekend because of the unsafe water temperatures. Its unfortunate that the breaker switch flipped off on the hot tub. Im glad you were able to switch it on and enjoy many of the other early spring activities such as bonfires, walks in a peaceful rural environment around the lake and all that Alexandria has to offer tourists. Kind regards, I wish we had been present on the property to offer more assistance. Barry and Glenaris Arvold
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

Amazing! Perfect honeymoon get away for me and my husband!

  • Submitted: 1-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, Im so glad you enjoyed it! I wish we could have met you. Maybe next time we wont be out of town!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

We had such an awesome time at this cute little get away. The bungalow is so cute and comfy. We felt so at home. The view is beautiful and right by the lake which made it really easy for us to go ice fish and snow shoe! The location is perfect for a romantic weekend away. The hot tub was a great addition to an already amazing place. Glen was such a sweetheart and her grandson Josh was so great at welcoming us. Nice family, great vacation. Planning on coming back next year!!

  • Submitted: 26-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! We appreciate guests like you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute cozy get away

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a nice stay away from the city and found just that! This place has beautiful views of the lake and the hot tub was always steaming hot. Took all of our cares away for a few days.

  • Submitted: 11-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Stay here and very year for deer hunting and will continue too! The Arvold’s are great.

  • Submitted: 15-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Plenty to choose from
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
8 courses including Tom Lehmans childhood course
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
casual to up scale, eat out with ease
Nearest Ski
4.5 Miles
Andes Tower Hill
Nearest Point of Interest
Strawberry Farm
Nearest Point of Interest
General Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Andes Tower Hills
Nearest Point of Interest
Alexandria

Beautiful State Park and County park nearby.

Kensington Runestone Museum; Lakes Boat Museum - the nicest in the Midwest! Carlos Creek Winery - tastings, tours, music; Free music concerts weekly during summer. Summer-stock theater. NASCAR race track

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation bungalow rental in Farwell

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2018
May 25 2018 - Sep 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$1,037
 
 
Off peak
Sep 16 2018 - May 24 2019
3 night minimum stay
C$129
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
C$901
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$386.34

May through September are our peak rental season months. We open the Bungalow to the public two weeks out of every month throughout the Summer season for $650.00 per week.
Our off season is October thru April. Weekly rentals are $350.00 per week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties