Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Authentic Log Cabin with indoor wood fireplace

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,064 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms,1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Be sure to place an inquiry with any questions before “clicking BOOK NOW” to reserve online.

Marshall Gulch Getaway is an authentic hand hewn log cabin located on a hillside overlooking a serene valley on 6 acres just 2 miles west of Hill City. Patterson Creek, a mountain brook flows within view below the cabin. Deer and turkey are frequent visitors in the yard! The cabin is tastefully decorated with decor fitting the mountain atmosphere. This cozy cabin has a king size bed in the loft, and a double bed on the main floor bedroom. If a third sleeping area is needed, an air mattress is stored in a closet for a maximum of 5 people. The kitchen is spacious for a family of 4-5. There is one bathroom with tub, shower and laundry. The loft bedroom has a window AC (rarely needed in our mountain altitudes). Board games and playing cards available for rainy or snowy days. There is a 47 inch flat screen satellite TV in the living room, along with a real wood burning fireplace! A privacy fence surrounds the outdoor hot tub. The back patio with a Gas Log fire-pit has plenty of outdoor seating to have your morning coffee, outdoor meals, or just sit and watch wildlife. (Wood burning outdoor fire pits are restricted in the Black Hills National Forest). This cabin sits on a hillside overlooking the valley below. This rental is a time honored favorite for repeat guests. NO PETS/NO SMOKING. No exceptions!

Centrally located in the Black Hills, about 15-20 minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Custer State Park and the majority of all attractions!

If the dates you desire are not available, please also see our listings #19975, #162608, #255481, #274119, #184229, #184212, #400047, #449350,or #418123

Centrally located in the Black Hills, about 15-20 minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Custer State Park and the majority of all attractions!

More Details

Property Manager
Kim or Marcia Benning
Member since: 2002
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2018

About Kim or Marcia Benning

Being from South Dakota, we have always appreciated all that the Black Hills offers tourists and now as home owners. Hill City has become our favorite part of the Black Hills and truly is the 'Heart of the Hills'. We enjoy hiking in the forest and Harney Peak, taking our jeep for a ride, fishing, visiting with friends, and of course the daily visits from deer and turkeys. We hope you consider Marshall Gulch Getaway for your vacation home. Thanks for looking!

Kim or Marcia Benning purchased this cabin in 2012

Guestbook comments from the manager

Clean cabin with a great view. We will definitely be back but for longer next time!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 21


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Hill City, South Dakota

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1064 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • New, front loading laundry pair is located in the spacious bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • snowmobiling
Outdoor seating area includes a gas log fire pit


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Authentic Log Cabin with indoor wood fireplace
average rating of 4.9148936 based on 68 reviews

Very nice getaway :-)

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed the location off the beaten path - however very close to all of the attractions that SD has to offer. The wildlife was a treat - deer - wild turkeys - marmots.

The fireplace came in handy along with the Hot Tub after sightseeing all day. Would do it again - that says it all :-)

  • Submitted: 30-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great setting, lovely views and a nice lodge as well.

  • 4 of 5

Good position of cabin close to town but felt secluded.

  • Submitted: 10-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

This little cabin was perfect in every way. We checked in on a Sunday and the process was super easy. The cabin is centrally located to all the sights we wanted to see. The cabin was very well appointed with everything we needed. It was very relaxing to sit on the front deck and watch the wild life saunter thru the property each morning and evening. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: 25-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is great that you will share your comments with us and future guests and we look forward to your return visit! We are soon going to be posting some drone video shots of this cabin. They will include scenes from this past winter and also our spring shots. Our guests tell us our web site does not do justice to this cabin so we want people to have a good look at the property. The deer and turkey are frequent visitors as are the occasional marmots (similar to the ground hog). I am glad you had everything you needed during your stay. The owners do a good job of providing many nice amenities. Marcia, Residential Rental Agent
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oakland, NE

Everything We Expected

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was clean, had everything we needed and the location was perfect. This is one of the best off season places we have stayed. The hot tub was clean. Very close to HIll City and Sylvan lake. Plenty of places to eat, shop and do some serious hiking!

There were a few down falls, but nothing major.

The cabin would get very warm even with the heat off. There were many windows that didn't work and others you would open and it would be very difficult to close them back up. We had to go outside to assist in closing them. The Keurig coffee machine was a nice touch, but it was very dirty and we had to run it about 10 times in order to make it usable and have a cup of coffee that didn't have "floaties."

The hot tub area could use a shade, it is impossible to stay in it in the sun. You really get toasty and chance quite the sunburn. A nice privacy gate would be good too. We had a few people drive down the driveway right in front of us and we felt exposed.

But, all in all, we would stay again and but not use Homeaway - we would book through the vacation home company that they make you go to to pick up your keys because then there are no service fees.

  • Submitted: 7-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing that the cabin was clean, the hot tub was clean, that it had everything you needed and that this is one of the best off season places you have stayed! We noted the A+ rating you left in our guest book as well. We appreciate those comments. Your note about the Keuring needing to be cleaned was a good reminder for us to do that process with all our rentals. We are sorry you did not contact us during your stay to let us know you were having issues with the windows. While some are still being replaced, tightening a screw on one of the handles of one of the windows is all it took to make a quick repair. We always like the opportunity to fix things during a guest stay if at all possible. For new potential guests we want you to know: The hot tub is set well towards the back of the cabin and has a door to enter the cabin from that side. The road to which others have legal access sits far enough below the cabin making it impossible to see anyone in the hot tub, especially when the guest's car is parked towards the front of the rental. Our guest book and reviews are full of remarks from others that they loved sitting in the hot tub at night to watch the stars, and that they loved the peace and quiet solitude of this rental's setting. This is truly one of a kind here in the Black Hills! Marcia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful cabin!

  • 5 of 5

The property was great! The cabin was clean and perfect for my husband and I. Loved seeing all the deer and turkeys come close to the cabin!

  • Submitted: 3-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoy hearing from our guests and their appreciation for this well kept log cabin in the Hills! Spring and Fall are the best times of the year to see wildlife "close up". We hope you will return for another visit soon. Marcia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice, cozy getaway spot

  • 5 of 5

Very nice cabin. We all were missing something when we left.

My Mom missed her morning turkey calls to wake her up.

My Dad missed his fire.

My son missed the hot tub.

I missed the solitude.

It's not as in the middle of nowhere as I thought it might be, but it is just enough outside that it made it the perfect, cozy space to spend some family time.

  • Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Rapid City
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Hill city
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Hill city
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Sheridan Lake
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Hill City, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2018
May 25 2018 - Aug 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
2018 Sturgis Rally
Aug 3 2018 - Aug 12 2018
6 night minimum stay
Late Summer 2018
Aug 14 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
September Special 2018
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
Fall/Winter/Spring 2018-2019
Oct 1 2018 - May 14 2019
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$86.25

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager

Other Vacation Properties