Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Young Mansion- 8,000 square feet- historic luxury right by the beach!

Sleeps28
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Space 743 m²
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Featured on HGTV-9 bedroom-5 bath-2 half bath- perfect beach location

Check us out at youngmansion dot com.

Welcome to the Young Mansion, world famous historic vacation estate. Florida State License #DWE 1621113

For questions or to book this property please call or send text to 310-940-4070 or by email to info@youngmansion.com You may also find us at youngmansion dot com or by searching the term "young mansion".

This is one of the most famous mansions in South Florida. Personal residence of JW Young founder of Hollywood and Port Everglades. This masterpiece was designed by the renowned architectural house of Rubish & Hunter, with significant influences from famous Palm Beach architect Addison Mizner. Listed on National Register of Historic Places by US Department of Interior. Former presidents of the United States have played pool here. Property has been beautifully restored and featured on HGTV, the mansion boasts 23 rooms with 9 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms, with a 8,000 square feet layout this property has a gym, a billiard room, and a huge heated pool (30’ X 50’) with a cabana surrounded by beautiful gardens. Sitting on half an acre and only 5 city blocks from Hollywood Beach with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida! It is also just a short walk to numerous fantastic restaurants. From the moment you enter the mansion you will realize that every detail was carefully thought out. Fantastic hardwood and Cuban tile floors throughout. Adorned with a old world imported Spanish tile roof and hand crafted interior wrought iron Spanish gates. As a guest you will experience beauty, comfort, and attention to detail that will have you coming back year after year.

The mansion is a destination unto itself with almost too many amenities to list: You will feel like you have been instantly transported to Andalusia. Slate billiards table with a Tiffany billiards room light, a exercise room, English pub style bar, outdoor gas grill, most bedrooms have new flat screen televisions which stream video, 50MPS wifi throughout the house (soon to be 125MPS when available), beautiful formal dinning room and living room with imported limestone fireplaces for entertaining- formal library, separate attached apartment with it's own kitchen, convertible bedroom at ground level off the family room, Jacuzzi tub in marble master bath, commercial grade stainless steel appliances in kitchen, also waffle maker, juice maker, coffee maker, toaster- ect..., 30 ft X 50 ft heated pool with lounge chairs and cabana with full bathroom and a serving kitchen with a refrigerator. Gorgeous formal courtyard with fountain and two additional Moorish fountains. All of this is framed with stunning formal gardens, imported marble statues (five total), with great Moorish limestone fixtures that sets this property apart from all others!

The mansion is ideally located between Fort Lauderdale and Miami. World renowned South Beach is just 25 minutes away. The home is close to both Miami and Ft. Lauderdale airports. Gulfstream Park (horse racing, gaming, dining, and entertainment) is just 7 minutes away. Hard Rock Hotel and Casino is just 15 minutes away. Only 17 minutes to Dolphins Stadium. Famous Ft. Lauderdale Beach is only 20 minutes away and charming Hollywood Beach (with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida), is a short walk. Also walking distance is charming downtown Hollywood, with great shops, outdoor cafes, wine bars, jazz bars, nightclubs, etc.

Rent jet skis just up the beach, or charter a fishing boat, etc. Most South Florida attractions are within 30 minutes driving time.

***New*** beverages for guest arrivals (bottled water, sodas, imported and domestic beer) memory foam topped mattresses and new 600 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets on every bed)

Keywords: Mansion, villa, vacation home, beach house, castle

More Details

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation estate rental in North Lake, Florida

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 743 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 28
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Master- all marble
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Great tiled bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , shower , located in cabana beside pool
  • Cabana beside the pool has a half bath with an outdoor shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 28
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master with full bath, TV, High Speed Wifi, and fireplace
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen , Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Television, High Speed Wifi, and Decorative Fireplace
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Television, & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk beds- Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double , Convertible Bedroom- Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 8 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Library- convertible bedroom
    Bedroom 9 - 1 double , Gym full size bed
  • Six bedrooms + 3 additional convertible bedrooms: 15 beds total including sleeper sofas. Additionally there are five inflatable air mattresses and an additional rollaway bed.
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
One of a kind rental- great experience.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Young Mansion- 8,000 square feet- historic luxury right by the beach!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 18 reviews
5

Beautiful spacious property with lots of character and charm

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at the Young Mansion and I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in the area. I had booked the property to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday with a suprise family reunion - the house was spacious and comfortable for the 20 of us with a beautiful pool and garden area to relax by during the day. Although the kitchen was very well equipped we purchased a couple of other items during our stay to cater for the specific requirements of our group - Richard was so accommodating and purchased these items from us at the end of our stay (something that he did not need to do but was much appreciated as could not be taken with us). Thank you Richard for sharing your beautiful house!

  • Submitted: 4-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Houston Tx
5

Awesome location for large groups!

  • 5 of 5

We held our annual ladies' weekend at the Young Mansion. Our stay was so enjoyable because we had so many different spaces to enjoy separate conversations with each other. The property was nicely maintained and pleasant. We had great response times from the owner and the caretaker. I highly recommend the Young Mansion for your next event! We hope to go back again soon!

  • Submitted: 6-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay away. Disappointment awaits you!

  • 1 of 5

Pictures posted and property discription as listed are set to lure you into renting this space. It did so with our group. It says sleeps up to 28 (we couldn't find space for half of that). It says 9 bedrooms and 7 bathrooms. What you get is a vintage structure with misrepresented interior amenities. What we got was 1 real bedroom and a bunch of small moldy smelling dungeons with pullout beds and a bunch of air beds. To make it worse bed sheets and pillow covers were worn and full of stains. Roaches roaming freely and showers without pressure wth couple constantly running toilets. Soft seating outdoor areas were more of the same. I can write all day about what we were sold but this pretty much summarizes the disgust we found upon arrival. This was meant to be our annual golf trip where we had planned to stay together instead most of our party left and rented hotel rooms. Upon arrival i called the cleaning person, called the manager and the owner. Nothing got better, nothing got improved. Our trip was ruined for our group. Stay away to avoid the same! Vacations are meant to be fun and enjoyable not stressful!

  • Submitted: 22-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest who stayed the week before Sonny D. loved the place- and the guest who stayed right after him want to come back next year.... This is a difficult review to respond to- it is fiction created to extort money. The week before this guest arrived he wanted me to refund him $1,000. Why? It's because he felt that since his group was arriving later (8pm) they should get the night for free. They still planned on staying and sleeping there they just wanted to do so for free. For over 10 years we have hosted guests and never had such a request. I politely messaged the guest and explained that we couldn't just give him an extra night free. This made him angry, when he arrived he exaggerated so many things, and he demanded a refund again. He told me by text and on the phone that he would post a negative review if I refused to send him money back. This guest is even now trying to charge back the entire balance to the credit card company to stay there for free...which is illegal as you can't abuse a contract for thousands of dollars in this country... As I said it is a difficult review to respond to given the motives of the guest. Despite this unfortunate situation we feel lucky and are grateful to the hundreds of other kind, warm, and wonderful guest we have had the pleasure to host over the past ten years now. It's those guests, which is basically everyone, who make hosting so fun and enjoyable. That being said we will be more vigilant in requesting reviews; everyone who stays there loves the place, more of their voices need to be heard. Here is to a great 2018! Last year we booked out about 75% of the year, this year we will shoot for 80%-85%+
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

An amazing and beautiful property dated 1929 and many original architectural details.

  • 4 of 5

Our annual family reunion during the week of 8/6 was one of the best out of 13 so far, all due to this amazing home. There were 17 of us all sleeping comfortably with the aid of a few air mattresses on fold out couches. The kitchen was so roomy as to allow three to work on making meals without collision. Huge refrigerator and a gas stove/oven. Plenty of dishes and containers to support the clan. A massive wood table with 8 chairs but we managed to add several other chairs to seat 17. We spent time playing cards and celebrating my father's 90th birthday. Kudos to the house management who responded quickly to our requests. We needed the stair hand rail secured among a few other minor needs. Our only concerns were the traffic noise in the bedroom street side. This is only because the windows are original frames, and hardware. All the other bedrooms were reasonably quiet. This is a fine home for reunions but also perfect for murder mystery dinner games. Dark wood, metal work, thick drapery and stonework. We'd return should my father want to try for #14.

  • Submitted: 22-Aug-2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
3

A little old and outdated but very spacious and great pool

  • 3 of 5

The house is a little old and outdated but it's a historic marker of the owners who founded Hollywood Florida. The air conditioner didn't work that well in the bedrooms on the left side of the house. The backdoor going from the house to the courtyard to get to the pool locks so when you go out it locks you out. There is only cable in the living room but have Ruko (it's like Apple TV) in the other rooms. All the rooms had a TV. The pool and pool area is really really nice and clean. Very spacious to entertain. We had an issue with one of the toilets but the house manager responded immediately. Overall it would be like a 3 star resort.

  • Submitted: 15-Jun-2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate all guest for is supports a cause which is historic preservation. The Young Mansion houses museum quality antiques and gives guests a unique perspective of another time and place. I am sorry you had some issues with the back AC unit and the back door. We have been operating as a vacation rental since 2008 and have rented to hundreds of groups. We strive to make every guest stay as perfect as possible and will address both of those issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Great family stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a 20 person family stay, Plenty of room for everyone, everyone was impressed with the whole estate, all took many photos and promptly posted everything on Facebook. Easy to talk to owner or caretaker. no issues, owner returned deposit right away. Courtyard and pool used everyday. This is an older mansion but that is part of the charm. Most important review was my family all say this pick was a HOME-RUN!!!

  • Submitted: 19-Apr-2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Property Manager

Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2018

About The Owner

I was originally from southern California and fell in love with south Florida which I made my home for years. I purchased the Young Mansion and did an extensive five year renovation to return the house to its former glory. Living in the Young Mansion was a one of a kind experience, you felt like you were living in a Andalusian or Tuscan villa.

The Owner purchased this estate in 2002

Why The Owner chose North Lake

This house has it all. It is close to the beach and it is a Spanish/Moorish architectural masterpiece. We fell in love with it the first time we saw it. The place is so sophisticated it really gives you the experience of living in another era.

What makes this estate unique

Huge pool, formal gardens, hardwood floors and cuban tile throughout the house. House was built with a unique craftsmanship that would be incredibly difficult to duplicate today. Insurance companies valued the replacement cost to reproduce a house of this magnitude to be valued at 5 million dollars because of the home's intricate details. The place is a destination unto itself and staying here is a total experience.

Location

The mansion is ideally located between Fort Lauderdale and Miami. World renowned South Beach is just 25 minutes away. The home is close to both Miami and Ft. Lauderdale airports. Gulfstream Park (horse racing, gaming, dining, and entertainment) is just 7 minutes away. Hard Rock Hotel and Casino is just 15 minutes away. Only 17 minutes to Dolphins Stadium. Famous Ft. Lauderdale Beach is only 20 minutes away and charming Hollywood Beach (with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida), is a short walk. Also walking distance is charming downtown Hollywood, with great shops, outdoor cafes, wine bars, jazz bars, nightclubs, etc.

Rent jet skis just up the beach, or charter a fishing boat, etc. Most South Florida attractions are within 30 minutes driving time.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation estate rental in North Lake, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Jan 7 2018 - Apr 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$1,871
C$7,522
C$25,229
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$1,620
C$6,769
C$22,592
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$1,255.8
Cleaning C$627.9 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Holiday Rates: 4th of July week $5,980, Thanksgiving week $6,980, Christmas week $7,980, and New Years week $8,980

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties