Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

This is it! Ski Chalet Tip Toe to Tyro Hot Tub

Bedrooms 3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Mountain living at its best. This recently renovated, luxurious chalet with Hot Tub, is nestled on the side of the mountain with relaxing views and only steps to Appalachain Trial. Located on a quiet street, you will feel secluded in the tree tops but close to the center of Wintergreeen with all the adventures. In ski season, no need to hassle with shuttles or lugging your gear, upon arriving you can immediately hit the slopes for the best skiing in Virginia . When ready to take a break, head back to our chalet and warm yourself by the stone fireplace, fix a beverage at the bar, and slip into the hot tub.

Our home is eloquently decorated yet comfortably modest with furniture, antiques, and artwork from local shops and artisans. The home has vaulted ceilings throughout including the family room with new leather sofa, swivel chairs, TV with libraries of DVDs, books, and games. The kitchen has granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and is well furnished to prepare a gourmet meal for your family. There is a dry bar next to the kitchen and dining room with sliding doors leading to the deck and hot tub.

The master bedroom has a king size bed, new mattress, attached bathroom with river rock flooring, slate counter with vessel sink. The second king bedroom with new bedding has shared bathroom with natural stone flooring, hand made maple counter and stone vessel sink.

A spiral staircase leads to the third bedroom or bunk room with custom built in double bunk beds with trundle which sleeps up to six. There is a large TV/DVD and area which provides an escape for kids or adults.

It is a short walk or drive to the Black Rock Market, Mountain Inn, Spa, and all the incredible ammendities that Wintergreen resort has to offer. The town of Nellysford is only a few miles down the mountain with local groceries and many great restaurants. Appalachian trail is within steps of our house and the BlueRidge Parkway, George Washington National Forest, and Shirando State Park are within a three mile drive.

On your drive in or while you are here, please stop by some of Virginia's best wineries and breweries that are located off route 151.

Don't forget to take a hike to crabtree falls, said to be the highest waterfall in the Mid Atlantic.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions about Wintergreen, activities, and surrounding areas.

Ski season: If you have already started looking for ski season, this home is one of the few houses that have direct access to the slopes. Although not a tru ski in/ski out, the house sets above tyro ski slope. You can watch the skiers go by from the house and when ready, walk across from house for direct access. Please see pictures of house and captions which show direct relation from house to slopes

Keywords: newly renovated, Nestled on side of Mountain, Hot Tub

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

We are having a blast. Lots of snow and great skiing. Girls want to stay another day.

Love the house. Comfortable and in a great spot!

Thanks so much.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation chalet rental in Pedlars Edge

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Bunk Beds (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Mountain View, on appalachian trail


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(74 traveler reviews)

51% Complete
33% Complete
9% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
This is it! Ski Chalet Tip Toe to Tyro Hot Tub
average rating of 4.283784 based on 78 reviews

Cozy, Beautiful, Perfect Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriends and I booked this house for a girls getaway trip. The house was quite cozy and everything was easy to use. The location was perfect close to all the mountain activities and short drive to the local breweries. My only suggestion is lighting the stairs/walkway as they are steep and at night can be a bit tricky. Overall a great place to stay and the owner is very responsive and accommodating!

  • Submitted: 22-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice cabin with easy access to slopes.

  • 4 of 5

Beds were comfortable...It was nice having two king size beds in the downstairs bedrooms. The boys loved the bunks in the loft. At ages 15 and 20, they made a fort. Kitchen nicely stocked. Only bad thing was not being able to use the hot tub, it was being thawed out from a previous user who turned it off (?) and it froze. It was freezing when we were there for sure! It would have been nice to have internet access, but cell signal was pretty good for us.

  • Submitted: 17-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great size and location

  • 5 of 5

Perfect size house for our group, enjoyed being so close to the Wintergreen resort. We would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: 3-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

Need another bathroom

  • Submitted: 29-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy chalet loved the house & location. Hot tub, easy to use gas logs & nicely stocked kitchen..

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 are frequent travels, we had a great stay. Owner gave lots of extra travel tips for other area attractions. Replied quickly about all my accommodation questions. Everything was in working order, met all our expectations.

Chalet by name is a smaller cozy space. Expect all the things you'll need & then some. Nice bar area, we used for wine, fruits and snacks. Loved the hot tub each night and super easy to use gas logs with a timer. Washer, dryer and dish washer are always a must, owner supplied all soaps.

Crock pot made easy hot lunches ready after slopes. I enjoy to cook/ bake and was able to prepare full meals. Kitchen was a little tight but worked well enough for us. 6 at table was comfortable, any more you would have to improvise seating into living-room space.

We always explore all cabinets to see where things are located. I'm sure each renter rearranges to their use needs. Storage cabinet on backside is where most of the larger pots were placed, I moved them for easier access while we stayed. Would recommend to friends plan to stay again.

  • Submitted: 22-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

Our stay was just ok. Place was clean and tidy. Some areas were nicely updated, some less so. It is fairly close to the slopes, but still required a drive with all your stuff. The first night it was so cold in the house it was unbearable, even with every room heater on. By the second day it warmed up outside and the house was more comfortable. The most disappointing thing was the hot tub was not working, and frankly we booked it because of the hot tub. It is not ski in and ski out, it is not the largest house around, but it had a hot tub so we booked it. I would have cancelled my reservation had I known before finding the tub empty upon arrival. We did get a small percentage of a refund, but it was a focal point for us.

Also, there is no WiFi in the house and that made keeping up with regular life more challenging as well. Overall it was nice, but not the best house I have ever stayed in.

  • Submitted: 19-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just a quick note. The hot tub was repaired as soon as we were aware but unfortunately couldn't be done over weekend. It is serviced and maintained weekly. We are off Tyro ski slope as that was the first weekend of the ski season, that section had not opened yet, thus the need to drive a little further up. I do not like when people are not satisfied and gladly refunded a large portion of rental.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


minutes to Blue Ridge Parkway, George Washington National Forest, Shirando State Park


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation chalet rental in Pedlars Edge

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Presidents Day Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Late Winter
Feb 22 2018 - Mar 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$32 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add C$32 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager