Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Haus Hanika B&B The Black Bear Suite on the River

Bedrooms 1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Haus Hanika is a Bavarian designed Bed and Breakfast right on the Wenatchee River with a total of 3 suites. The Black Bear Suite is our queen suite with a lodge decor and river rock gas fireplace. Breakfast in your suite! So no schedule! Only 1 mile from town but completely relaxing on the river. The perfect getaway from it all, yet close to all the festivities of Downtown Leavenworth! Adults only with maximum of 2 guests per suite.

Relax on the private patio with your glass of wine or beer and watch the river and all the wildlife. Binoculars are provided for your enjoyment.

So many activities to choose from! Either just relax the whole time you stay, or ask Ted and Sandy about all of the many activities to choose from; Hiking, skiing, biking, dining out, festivals, wine tasting, fishing, golfing, rafting, tubing, Leavenworth has it all.

Keywords: The Black Bear Suite at Haus Hanika Bed and Breakfast is right on the Wenatchee River, only 1 miles from Downtown Leavenworth, with river rock gas fireplace. Romantic getaway! Kitchenette with breakfast in your suite, wireless internet throughout, private patio on the river.

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2018

About Sandy

Ted and Sandy have vacationed in Leavenworth since we first met 30 years ago. It's was always our favorite getaway for the wonderful sun we have here. Living in Western Washington for our whole lives we began coming to Leavenworth more and more every year for the sunny weather, and all the fun activities and festivals year round. Finally, in 2000, we bought our property here on the Wenatchee River and used it as our getaway until 2005 when we began building Haus Hanika. Finished in 2007, we moved here full time and decided to share our wonderful spot on the River as a Bed and Breakfast so that others could enjoy this beautiful area as well. We know you'll love it here as we do!

Sandy purchased this chalet in 2007

Why Sandy chose Leavenworth

We chose Haus Hanika location because it is so close to town, but gives you the feeling of being in nature. The River and all the wildlife is so relaxing but you are so close to Downtown Leavenworth (just one mile).

What makes this chalet unique

Our goal is for you to have complete privacy and to feel like you've really had a break from it all. We are available for anything you want or need, but leave you alone for your 'down time'. That's why we provide your breakfast in your suite already when you arrive so that you can wake up and just relax in the morning!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed in Leavenworth several times, and your place tops any other we've been at. Loved the room and the view!
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 5


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation chalet rental in Leavenworth, Washington

Property Type:
  • chalet
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Traveler cancellations should be requested through their booking on VRBO. Thanks
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Brand new spa style rain shower tiled shower with large granite top vanity with Bavarian Lodge decor
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Black Bear Suite - 1 queen
  • Queen size luxury 13" memory foam bed with river rock gas fireplace and fully stocked kitchenette. Private patio
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
River front with private patio right on the river. a with river rock gas fireplace. Kitchenette with sink, dishes, wine glasses, silverware, wine opener, microwave and fridge. Breakfast in your suite includes coffee, teas, hot cocoa, three kinds of muffins, fresh fruits, three kinds of cereal, orange juice, waffles and sausage. Binoculars for wild life viewing.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Haus Hanika B&B The Black Bear Suite on the River
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews

January Weekend Visit

  • 5 of 5

We had a great weekend visit and Haus Hanika made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Clean and cozy amenities. Thank you!

  • Submitted: 7-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the terrific review! We truly appreciate it! So glad you had a great trip and that you felt so comfortable here! Warm regards from Leavenworth, Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Black bear suite

  • 5 of 5

Loved the Black Bear Suite for our getaway in Leavenworth. Quiet. Homey. Breakfast awesome. Great view & location. Quiet, clean, and well laid out. Can’t wait to visit again in the summer.

  • Submitted: 24-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it! December is a magical month in Leavenworth with all the lights and Holiday spirit. Each season has it's own charm. For the summer travelers, Leavenworth offers rafting and tubing and trail hiking and clean air! So we are happy to hear that you'll be coming this summer. Thanks again, Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming Place!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Black Bear room, it was very sweet! Everything was clean and modern. Also had a nice view of the river. Breakfast was great and we loved that we could do it ourselves. Would definitely come back!

  • Submitted: 14-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the river view and the leisurely breakfast! We look forward to you coming back soon! We work hard to maintain a quality bed and breakfast and your review makes it all worth it! Warm regards from Leavenworth, Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful, comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It was comfortable, beautifully decorated, and perfectly clean. The riverside view was a treat. We enjoyed the delicious included brunch out on the patio. Thank you Sandy and Ted!

  • Submitted: 5-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved your beautiful review of your stay with us! The river is so beautiful in September! We'll keep your snow paths cleared, lawns mowed and your trees trimmed until your return lol! So wonderful to meet you both! Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

River Magic!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved our 2-night stay at this wonderful little place. It was homey and oh so comfortable. The Belgian waffles were a special treat! And now back home in the miserable heat and humidity in Houston, we are relying on our memories of sitting in those great chairs at the rivers edge! I highly recommend Haus Hanika for your Leavenworth stay.

Thanks for the memories Sandy!

  • Submitted: 3-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cathy! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. So glad you got away from the humidity and had a break here on the beautiful Wenatchee River! We love that you were comfy and felt at home! Hope we see you again soon. Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Mary Poppins Visit

  • 5 of 5

The magical nanny described herself as practically perfect in every way. That description fits Haus Hanika to a "T." Cozy, quiet rooms. Absolutely lovely décor. Delicious breakfast food in the room. The most comfortable mattress ever. Killer location overlooking the Wenatchee river. Heck, they even provided wildlife: deer, herons, and eagles! The only thing Ted and Sandy failed to deliver was sunshine and blue skies. Oh, wait. It only rained two out of three days. :-) All in all, BEST B&B STAY EVER! We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: 13-Nov-2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review. So original and wonderful, you must be a writer! We appreciate you taking the time to do the review and so glad you enjoyed your time with us! You're the reason we love doing this and we always love our return guests so hope we see you soon! Happy Holidays from Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wenatchee (Pangborn) airport
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Icicle Junction
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Leavenworth Golf Course
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 2
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Wild Huckleberry at the Leavenworth Golf Course
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Cross Country Skiing
Nearest Beach
walking distance
Car: not necessary

Leavenworth has festivals year round and was voted Christmas Town USA. Christmas Lighting is first 3 weekends in December. Oktoberfest is first 3 weekends in October. Check out the Leavenworth Chamber website at and see all of the activities and festivals we offer. Leavenworth Shuttle is available for back and forth to town if you prefer not walking. Wine tasting has become very popular here in Leavenworth and all of the shops in town are wonderful! Ted and Sandy are available for ideas on dining and other activities in our beautiful town.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation chalet rental in Leavenworth, Washington

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Minimum 2 nights stay on Fri. and Sat. nights. We charge the one nights stay to hold your suite and balance due upon arrival If you stay more than 3 nights, we require 50% down to hold the suite.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner