Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Majestic Sierra Cabin Retreat - Near Rivers, Lakes, Etc

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Cabin is newly remodeled with granite counter tops, tile flooring, new carpet, stainless steel appliances, and gorgeous redwood decking with romantic evening low-lights, all which backs up to scenic National Forest. Sleeps 8 comfortably with all house hold furnishings. Our friends laugh when we say it's a cabin because they describe our cabin as a luxurious home in the woods with all the amenities one could want. All we ask is that you treat our place like your own!

Keywords: Kyburz is located approx. 35mins from S. Lake Tahoe. Our cabin is centrally located for the perfect outdoors adventurer who enjoys exploring by day and relaxing in the evening. Our cabin backs up to Desolation Wilderness/National Forest and is a short walk to the American River. Conveniently located to amazing pristine lakes; Union Valley, Wright's, Echo, and of course breath taking Lake Tahoe. Our cabin is perfect for a family retreat or weekend getaway.

Relax and hear the river roar or walk to natural waterfalls during the snow melt season (Feb-July). Enjoy hiking right from the backyard on the Pony Express Trail. Go hiking 1 mile to Sugar Loaf Mountain which provides an easy day of hiking/climbing, or head across the street to Silver Fork Road where you'll discover areas great for cycling, day swimming, camping, fishing, kayaking, tubing and more.

During winter season Sierra at Tahoe Ski Resort is only approx (weather/traffic depending) 17mins, enjoy skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, snowshoeing

More Details

Sam Goldman
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 17, 2018

About Sam Goldman

Professionals that work hard to play hard in nature. We enjoy skiing, hiking, rafting, fishing, and swimming. We have been all around the world and still feel there is no place like Kyburz and the natural pardise provided!

Sam Goldman purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Sam Goldman chose Twin Bridges

We grew up enjoying oudoor activities and Kyburz is the perfect get away to conitinue to do the activities we love. We want to provide the same opportunities for our children.

What makes this cabin unique

Location, location, location! This place has it all: rivers, starry nights, beautiful landscape, lakes, great resturants, and peace and quiet.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We arrived early Thursday Jan 26th for a ski escape weekend at Sierra @ Tahoe. Cabin was fully loaded will above and beyond amenities. Closely located to some awesome ski and sledding. Owners were accommodating to all our last minute travel needs as we were chasing the storm. Our kids had a blast playing in the snow and sledding on the property. Will definitely plan another trip to this property.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Twin Bridges, California

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , upstairs TV Room
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Majestic Sierra Cabin Retreat - Near Rivers, Lakes, Etc
average rating of 4.6875 based on 17 reviews
El dorado hills

Best vacation rental we've had!!

  • 5 of 5

The perfect cozy warm getaway! Spacious for the whole family to enjoy themselves together on the main level or have fun in the loft upstairs. Sleeps like as Dream! Updated but maintains the perfect cabin feel.

Tons of outdoor property to explore and just a short hike away from great trails and river banks to venture too.

Our favorite stay getaway!!

  • Submitted: 8-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we appreciate this review very much
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Awesome Ski Escape

  • 5 of 5

We arrived early Thursday Jan 26th for a ski escape at Seirra @ Tahoe. Cabin was fully loaded with above and beyond amenities. Closely located to awesome sledding hills and awesome ski. Owners were accommodating to all our last minute travel needs as we were chasing the storm. Our kids had a blast playing in the snow and sledding on the property. We definitely will plan another trip to this property.

  • Submitted: 5-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

RENTERS BEWARE. Poor lodging conditions.

  • 1 of 5

We had multiple issues with the rental property:

1. The cabin was advertised at the following location:

Twin Bridges, CA. 95721

Twin Bridges is five min. from Sierra Tahoe Resort and the only reason we choose this cabin.

After booking the rental property the PDF provided the actual address of the property:

Kyburz, CA. 95720

Kyburz is 20 min. away from Sierra Tahoe Resort (confirmed with google map).

2. The three floor cabin had stairs from the ground floor that lead to the second floor. The stairs were covered with damp dirty towels. The rails at the top of the stairs were spaced widely, allowing our two year-old to easily slip through and potentially fall to the ground below.

3. The cabin was old and with the leaky windows/seals the room temperature was 34 F (outdoor temp 28 F). There was no central heating. The cabin had a damp basement-like smell throughout. The two small heaters provided were insufficient in warming up a single room, let alone the entire cabin. We attempted to start a fire but with an empty lighter that was provided, no starter material (i.e. tinder) and only 5-6 logs this became a challenge. We opened our emergency car kit and started a fire in the fireplace (which had not been cleaned). Within minutes the fumes/smoke of the fire engulfed the room. The fireplace damper vents were manipulated with no improvement. We have rented other VRBO’s and own a wood-burning fireplace and have never experienced such issues. No instructions were found in the cabin or on the owner’s website. A total of three calls were made to the owner for him to address:

a. Why there was no starting material (lighter/matches/tinder) or sufficient logs

b. How to operate the chimney/vents.

The owner had no response as to why he had advertised “..logs provided…” and there were only 5-6 logs, with no starting material. More frustrating was his inability to trouble shoot the fireplace smoke. He said he was not familiar with the two vents, nor how to operate them. The unbearable smoke and frigid room made it impossible to stay. I informed him that this was unacceptable, and intolerable for my wife and 2 yr old. The owner was apologetic and understood we were leaving immediately. He told us he would refund our money.

To date they have not refunded our money (except our deposit) nor have they contact us.

  • Submitted: 2-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These renters did not even stay the night. We advised them to arrive before dark as it is cold during snowy winter to warm the cabin up. The cabin has central heating that they did not turn on. They did know how to start a fire although we tried to walk them through the process. They arrived very late and thought a fire would be going for them... We had plenty of wood, over 300 pieces downstairs. All their money was returned as well. In 9 years this was the only bad review and I believe it was due to inexperienced renters and people unfamiliar with snow weather cabin conditions in the mountains.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 1


  • 5 of 5

Lovely home! The owners were amazing to work with, the house was fully furnished with pots/pans, blankets etc. Only complaint was that it got really cold at night and there was no central heat so the fire place and the little heater up stairs were what we had to rely on. Overall I would totally recommend to family and friends!

  • Submitted: 2-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review and please come stay again. You left our place immaculate and we appreciate guest such as yourself very much.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location,beautiful mountain scenery and close to everything you need.

  • 4 of 5

Nice mountain cabin close to everything we needed. Huge deck which made it even more enjoyable. We had a few door issues but the owner was very nice about it and did not seem to be aware of them.The river is right across the highway and the cabin is a very short distance off the opposite side of highway 50. I would definitely go back and rent this cabin again.

  • Submitted: 18-Aug-2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect spot to stay for skiing

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in this 2 bedroom (1 upstairs w/ .5 bath, 1 downstairs) and 1.5 bathroom cabin during our first skiing trip this past winter with our kids. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. The cabin had everything we needed during our stay and I felt right at home. It's close to Sierra at Tahoe so it was great to come back here after a long day skiing. The fireplace is great and the owners had wood for us so we didn't have to bring any with us. The kids were able to sled down the hill in their front yard and had a blast. The neighbor across the street is friendly and welcoming. Even our four legged child had a great time here.

I would recommend this cabin to friends and family.

  • Submitted: 7-Aug-2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Twin Bridges, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$26 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$161.06
Refundable Damage Deposit C$322.13

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties