Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Beautiful 3BR Craftsman With Gorgeous Ocean Views!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

* Craftsman home, 1600 sq ft, built in 2007, perches on a hillside bordering Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA

* 3 bedrooms, 2 baths home sleeps 6 - 8 people MAX

* Every room has gorgeous southern views over the ocean

* Granite and marble countertops, beautiful cherry hardwood floors

* Huge balcony off of main floor

* Centrally located in the heart of Orcas Island: close to Moran State Park, kayak & bicycle rentals, art galleries, restaurants, beaches, theatre, trails, boutique shops, coffee houses, bookstores, library, ice cream and gelato parlors, groceries, pubs, and organic Farmer's Market

* Dogs are welcome! (1 well behaved dog per stay, except with prior approval)

* PLEASE NOTE: The pellet stove is no longer functional. The house is fully heated in every room so there is no lack in warmth or comfort. Please let us know if you have any questions about this. Thanks for your understanding.

More Details

Property Manager
Nicki Guyton
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Nicki Guyton

Orcas Island is a “one in a million” experience. I felt it immediately upon my first visit, and within no time at all I’d gone and purchased this gorgeous home overlooking the ocean with the intention of writing my next book there.

Alas, I missed my family and friends in Portland too much, and that’s when the idea for The Ohana vacation rental was

born.

I sincerely hope that your stay in this home brings you and your ohana members an abundance of laughter, joy, and memories that you will talk about and remember for many years to come.

Many blessings,

Jason Miller

Owner of The Orcas Ohana

Nicki Guyton purchased this house in 2007

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Eastsound, Washington

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Master queen mattress is on firm side
  • Queen and Futon in Master located on the upstairs main level, Queen located in 2nd bedroom - downstairs, Queen and Twin Located in the 3rd bedroom - downstairs. Baby Cribs (1) There is a pack-n-play crib in the 2nd bedroom closet, downstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful 3BR Craftsman With Gorgeous Ocean Views!
average rating of 4.7580647 based on 62 reviews
3

Very basic option for pet friendly rental that is close to Eastsound, but don't expect too much

  • 3 of 5

We stayed over the Christmas holiday. The key code didn't come through form the manager correctly and my husband got there without proper information to get inside the home.

We found the home to be only minimally supplied in terms of kitchen housewares. It was lacking in baking ware and the tableware was quite unpleasant- cheap plastic cups, weird shot glasses, mismatched dishes and a lack of cooking utensils.The bedding was mostly synthetic stuff you would buy at Target.

We had wanted to use the pellet stove for ambience considering Santa and Christmas, and it was out of commission, which we were not told in advance. This was a big downer for us, although the manager claimed to have told us in advance.

We had thought we would be traveling with my mother in law's small dog, so chose this for that reason. There was a lot of pet fur on the rugs but we understand it is difficult to fully clean fur from a dog friendly space. If you have a dog you wouldn't mind this though, if you have allergies don't stay here.

I could see how this home would suit the needs of folks during the summer season when restaurants are open and you can eat out, but in the off season it felt like an overpriced lack luster experience.

There is quite a bit of noise form the local airport and the hot water tank is not large enough to heat the jacuzzi, so I wouldn't include that as a feature.

We travel a lot and have our own home listed on VRBO, so I understand the impact of leaving a not wonderful review and still felt this was necessary.

I did purchase the VRBO insurance and that was lucky as the owners filed a claim for both a comforter (which I believe ink was spilled on by one of our kids- our fault) as well as an already damaged blind that had nothing to do with our stay. I would be upset if I had to pay the $100 for this but considering I bought the insurance I didn't feel it was appropriate to argue.

The home is suburbia/ Target/ polyester with tacky decor, but for accessing the town of Eastsound in the summertime I think that this is a good option for folks with pets who don't need fancy.

Lastly I will note that the manager was friendly when we requested a "late" checkout (normal is 10am) for Noon on Dec 27th, but the housecleaner did not seem pleased about this and considering they had no bookings for weeks it felt like an additional lack of customer service to be rushed off .

  • Submitted: 10-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, Jeramie. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We tried to accommodate you in all of your requests. Please remember there are two sides to every situation. We felt you were very disrespectful of our home, our property and our house cleaner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Deerfield, IL
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

We spent Thanksgiving week at this house. Everything was really nice. It had all the amenities including beautiful scenery.

Very comfortable for four people.

  • Submitted: 25-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Shari! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5

The house, the view we're all wonderful.

Deer and rabbits spotted, birds and

blackberries. Everything In place and

totally outfitted.

  • Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Isn't the wildlife great?! I'm so glad that you saw the deer and rabbits, it's so fun. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous home with a killer kitchen and room for the whole gang

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Ohana with my sister and her husband, 3 kids, and dog. The house is quite lovely - nicely decorated with plenty of seating space in the great room for all. It has a spacious, well-equipped kitchen (including a nice variety of spices in the cupboard), coffee maker with filters, and a toaster. (Note: Bring some sox or flip flops to wear inside as the owners ask that you leave your outdoor shoes at the front door). We enjoyed walking into town for ice cream or to visit the many shops along the way, and the grocery store there is well stocked with reasonable prices. We took several hikes, including up to Mount Constitution from Mountain Lake (taking the inland loop from the lake gets the steepest most challenging 1 1/2 mile part of the hike done first and finishes with a lovely walk along the lake - 7.3 m). The 360 view at the top is breathtaking so bring your camera. All in all a great trip - we're definitely planning to come again! The only negative was a bit of traffic noise from the main road just down the street, mostly noticeable when sitting out on the balcony.

  • Submitted: 7-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable house with a gorgeous view

  • 5 of 5

My family, parents, and sister all spent a week together in this house just outside of Eastsound. We found it just as described--very comfortable and clean--and had a lovely time. The owners provided everything we needed, as well as plenty of instructions and information about the town and island. Nothing is very far away, and if you're willing to hike back up the driveway, you can walk to anything in Eastsound. The upstairs deck was particularly nice, with its view of the sound, and we ate all of our dinners out there. (Being able to use the grill was also a bonus for us.) I think my only suggestion would be to provide slightly better window coverings (in the upstairs bedroom at least) since those of us who live at lower latitudes aren't used to so many hours of light in mid-summer (particularly in the early morning). Otherwise, we had no complaints and would highly recommend this house and its location to anyone wanting to get away to Orcas Island.

  • Submitted: 1-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great comments and feedback Sarah! We love that you enjoyed your stay on Orcas and at the house. Please do come back and stay with us again and thanks for the note on the Master bedroom windows (we do get a lot of light into the windows).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

It was nice up on the hill. A view of the bay, small but nice. Deer walking around.

  • 3 of 5

The house was nice. Cool in the shade. Kitchen well equipped. It was odd when a realtor stopped by wondering why we had not checked out. They wanted to show the place. We had just checked in for a 3 day stay. Odd but they went away

  • Submitted: 31-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry for any inconvenience, Jim. That was definitely not planned and no one should have stopped by during your stay. We hope you give us a try again, we would gladly offer a discount on your next stay. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
1.2 Miles
Orcas Island Airport
Nearest Ferry
8.4 Miles
Orcas Island Ferry Dock

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Eastsound, Washington

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Special
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$254
C$1,659
 
 
Spring 2018
May 1 2018 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$382
C$2,297
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$509
C$3,189
 
 
Fall 2018
Oct 1 2018 - Oct 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$382
C$2,297
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$484
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Trash Fee C$306.26 + Tax
Pet Fee C$44.66 + Tax
Property Damage Protection C$75.29
Tax Rate 10.01%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Note about the cleaning and trash fee. Orcas Island has a very limited trash and recycling program and thus is an expensive process to home owners. We hope you understand that there are no landfills here on Orcas - the islands would be unlivable in a very short time. We include the trash and recycling removal fee in our reservations to cover the cost that we incur to haul and dump after each reservation. The house may be for sale at any given time and the owner has the right to cancel reservations or notify guests that the house will be transferring ownership. Of course, our guests are top priority and the owner would make any and all effort to not inconvenience guests if the house sells. Thank you!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable