Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Creek Frontage Unique Property Very Close to Mt Rushmore

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

Beautiful 5 Bedroom 5 Bathroom Home on Private Acrerage Next to Year Round Creek

The Lazy D is a true sanctuary of the splendid Black Hills landscape. Guests of this unique property will enjoy exploring the private acreage which includes 3 running creeks, walking bridges, beautiful lush lawns, forest service trails out the back door, Mickelson Trail access from the property and much more. The spacious 3 level home features 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. There is a full gourmet kitchen with lots of room, inside and outside dining, TV, laundry facilities, an electric fireplace in the living room, wrap around decks and more.

Upstairs bedroom #1 has a queen bed and attached 3/4 bathroom

Upstairs bedroom #2 has a king bed and attached 3/4 bathroom

Upstairs bedroom #3 has a queen bed and attached full bathroom

Main level bedroom has a queen bed and an attached full bathroom

The main level by the laundry room and kitchen has a full bathroom

Downstairs has a separate open area with two twin beds and a tv/living area with a full sleeper futon

Additional Information:

Check in is at 4PM

Check out is at 10AM

Half of the total is taken at the time of reservation

The second half is due 14 days prior to reservation

Rushmore Vacation Rentals provides guests with the following:

Toilet paper

Paper towels

Trash can liners

Linens and 1 towel for each person the home sleeps

Kitchen stocked with plates, silverware, cups, baking dishes, etc. (enough for the amount the home sleeps)

Basic seasonings (salt & pepper)

Propane for BBQ grill

Dish soap

Hand soap

Dishwasher soap

Laundry detergent

(Washers and dryers are free for guests use)

Keywords: Cabin, Vacation Home, Vacation Rental, Vacation Lodging, Cottage

More Details

Property Manager
Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2018

What makes this house unique

Sleeps: 12

Number of bedrooms: 5 w/ basement

Hot tub: No

A/C: 1 unit upstairs, 1 main level

WiFi: Yes, satellite

TV service: Satellite

Cell phone service: Spotty

BBQ: Propane

Fire pit: No

Fireplace: Electric

Coffee maker: Coffee pot

City: Hill City

Laundry: On site washer/dryer

Garage: Yes double garage on request

Additional amenities: Electric fireplace in the living room which is easily controlled with a remote, 3 streams on the property

Parking: 5 cars or 3 & 1 trailer

Gravel: 3/10mi

RV Parking available: No, unless special approval

Beds: 1K, 3Q, 2T, 1 D futon

Miles to Mt. Rushmore: 11.6 miles

Miles to Crazy Horse: 4.1 miles

Miles to Custer State Park: 8 miles

ATVing/Snowmobiling nearby: Medicine Mt. Road 5.1 miles

Hiking nearby: Mickelson Trail goes through yard

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really had a great family time together and it was nice to find such a wonderful place to stay. You have a great home in just the right spot for so many things to do.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Custer, South Dakota

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Bedroom 2
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On Main Level Off of Kitchen
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Main Level Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , In Bedroom 3
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Bedroom 4
  • Bathrooms: 5 Bathrooms Bathroom 1: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 1) Bathroom 2: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 2) Bathroom 3: Walk-In Shower (Bedroom 3) Bathroom 4: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 4) Bathroom 5: Tub/Shower Combination (Main Level)
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Upper Level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower Level
  • Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10-12 Bedroom 1: 1 Queen (Main Level) Bedroom 2: 1 King (Upper Level) Bedroom 3: 1 Queen (Upper Level) Bedroom 4: 1 Queen (Upper Level) Bedroom 5: 2 Twin (Lower Level) Additional Sleeping:1 Double Futon in Bedroom 5
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Creek Frontage Unique Property Very Close to Mt Rushmore
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 13 reviews
Carlinville IL


  • 5 of 5

This house has plenty of room for family to spend some quality time together and enough space to spred out and not get on each other nerves. The kitchen was well stocked. 5 full bathroom made getting 12 people ready so easy.

  • Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mpls - Washington connection ...

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful reunion in the Black Hills the last week and in no small part was not having any issues with the Lazy D. God bless you for allowing these groups that come to Rushmore and being able to enjoy your beautiful setting there. Thanks again, Best wishes always.

  • Submitted: 15-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Although out sat nav took us off course once we found the home, it was extremely well located. We had an excellent time connecting with family. There was plenty of room to be together or find your own corner. The downstairs bedroom was perfect for our parents who don't do stairs well, the basement for our older kids and the upstairs for the adults. The kitchen had adequate room for multiple cooks although some of the fry pans could stand to be replaced.

  • Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful, comfortable home and in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 12 really enjoyed this lovely home. Spacious enough that we weren't cramped and loved the scenery. Very quiet and secluded, yet close to all the sights we wanted to see. We all enjoyed our time here, it just ended way, way too soon.

  • Submitted: 13-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great family vacation location

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful, comfortable home. Great, central location. Grandsons enjoyed exploring and playing on the property. Would highly recommend for a large group

  • Submitted: 4-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very unsatisfied

  • 1 of 5

I have rented many VRBO properties and, simply put, this property should not be rented out in the condition that it is in. First of all, it was not clean. When we arrived, there were dead flies (and other bugs) all over the house. Not only on the floors and in the bay windows, but on the counters, the beds, and IN the cupboards. One upstairs bedroom had obviously not been vacuumed in quite some time and had dead bugs all over the floor. Secondly, the house was advertised as having a gas fireplace but when we arrived there was a sign on it saying that it was out of order and couldn't be used. Considering it was mid-October, we had looked forward to sitting around the fire. Also, while we were there, the ice machine quit working (to say nothing of the fact that the filter was "in the red" and the water had a bad taste). I contacted the property manager at Rushmore Vacation Rentals and left a message (my only options as no one answers the phone). I expressed my dissatisfaction over the condition of the rental and have never received a return phone call. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience and I would not recommend this property or Rushmore Vacation Rentals to anyone.

  • Submitted: 19-Oct-2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: On behalf of Rushmore Vacation Rentals, we are so sorry to hear this was your experience. We work tirelessly to ensure our cleaning staff are well trained and the homes are well cared for. Unfortunately, we never received a voicemail message from you or a missed call. Did you try to call more than once? Did you call our number, and press 2 for current guests? We didn’t receive an email message from anyone in your group either. We really wish we would have had the chance to correct any issues your party had so you could have enjoyed your time at the Lazy D. With that being said, the Black Hills have major issues with flies during the fall and the spring. It isn’t uncommon for homes to have hundreds of flies show up each day. There is also more information about this in the binder at the home. We do our best to combat this by having exterminators spray the inside and outside of the homes. The Lazy D was scheduled for it’s fall spraying this past Monday and was completed, but it was the day your party checked out. Going forward, we will make sure to check the homes for flies the day a guests arrives, though we do think the fly spraying that took place Monday will make all the difference. There is regular heating in the home. Do you happen to remember where you saw a fireplace noted in the listings? We can’t seem to find anywhere this is listed to correct this issue. Any help you can offer with this would be appreciated. -UPDATE: Electric fireplace insert was installed in the living room on 11/16/16 which can easily be controlled with a remote. Thank you, Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Custer, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring Rate
Apr 1 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
Holiday Rate
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
Spring Rate
May 29 2018 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
Summer Rate
Jun 1 2018 - Jul 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Rate
Jul 3 2018 - Jul 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
Summer Rate
Jul 6 2018 - Aug 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
Rally Rate
Aug 3 2018 - Aug 12 2018
5 night minimum stay
Summer Rate
Aug 13 2018 - Aug 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Rate
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
Fall Rate
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$234.4
Property Damage Protection C$75.62

To reserve this home, please visit From the home page there is a search box in the upper left hand corner. Go to the drop box on the bottom that says, view rental, and click on the Lazy D.

Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 5% cancellation fee or $50, whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival date, forfeit any payments made, unless the home can be re-rented; the cancellation fee still applies. If property is not re-rented:

• We will keep the total deposit (50% made at the time of reservation)
• Cancellation on or after 14 days prior to arrival will result in the forfeiture of the entire rental amount.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager

Other Vacation Properties