Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Ocean View Coffee Farm Guest Residence

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq ft
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Farmhouse, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Exquisitely appointed guest residence in the heart of the famous Kona Coffee region on the Big Island of Hawaii. For the discerning traveler looking for a true Hawaii experience with all the amenities of a high end resort residence, without the price and hassle. Experience life in the Kona Coffee region, with clear mountain air, panoramic ocean views, country quiet, yet close to everything including airport, beaches, shopping and sightseeing.

This residence was just completed in January 2011 and includes all the comfort of home with a Hawaiian flair. Ocean views from every room and Lanai. 764 square foot residence with 300 square foot lanai which includes dining and full kitchen. Full wet bar with ice maker. Sit back and enjoy after a day of Big Island adventure.

Keywords: Coffee,Kona,Farm,Ocean View,Wetbar

More Details

Owner
Albert Holt
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 17, 2018

About Albert Holt

Albert and Linda Holt moved to the Big Island after deciding they needed something to do after working in Silicon Valley for the past 30 years. A Kona Coffee farm seemed to be just the ticket. Having had vacation rentals in Lake Tahoe and Las Vegas they were excited about being able to share the Kona Coffee farming experience, and the Big Island Hawaii experience with others, so they built a guest residence just for that purpose. Pictured here with the very first roasted and bagged coffee from our first year (2007) crop.

Albert Holt purchased this farmhouse in 2006

Why Albert Holt chose Hōlualoa

Being away from the resorts and tourist hustle and bustle, yet close enough to everything in order to be able to experience the true Hawaii and Aloha.

What makes this farmhouse unique

Panoramic ocean views, 1400 feet above sea level where the air is clean and cool, wild turkeys and chickens, and the occasional pig wandering the property, night time nature sounds, calm no traffic lifestyle and plenty of property to stretch out in.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks Albert. BTW staying at your place "made" our vacation. If I ever get back to Kona I would love to stay at your place again. It was amazing. I have recommended your place to friends of ours for future reference.
Feb 2018
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation farmhouse rental in Hōlualoa, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 14
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
In-wall 50' LCD with 7.1 Surround sound, Full wet bar with refrigerated beer tap available, Warm interior with wood accents in Mango, Mahogany, Bamboo, Poplar and Maple, Dual head walk-in shower and Roman tub in exquisite travertine walled room, Granite counter tops, 10 foot beamed ceilings, ocean view from every room, teak, cherry and wicker furniture.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
Ocean View Coffee Farm Guest Residence
average rating of 4.4857144 based on 36 reviews
4

A new and beautiful view of Hawaii

  • 4 of 5

When we turned down the road that lead to this property I was thinking 'what have I done' and then we saw the home and the unit we were staying in and we were amazed at how wonderful it was. The unit was newly remodeled, spacious and clean. The fully stocked and functional outdoor kitchen was an awesome place to enjoy breakfast while overlooking the city of Kona and the Pacific. The unit is literally on the mountain surrounded by a coffee plantation. The property is different than any place I have ever stayed in all the best ways. If you want a quiet, beautiful place to relax this property is for you. It did help that the people who rented the unit above were pleasant and very respectful people. The property also had snorkel equipment, beach chairs, and even boogie boards that we could use - which we did and had a great time. The only downfall for this property was that you need to drive everywhere. Although you can see Kona, you can only get there via car. But... the unit was beautiful and the view was perfect. We welcomed the calm of this property and did not mind the 15 minute drive to the city. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: 17-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and scenic

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful view-quiet...we came to relax and escape the busyness and found it here. Not a 5 star....but clean and restful.

  • Submitted: 16-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So much better than hotel

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic place. We loved everything about coffee farm house. It is definitely on a higher end side of places I have stayed in from Airbnb. There is a big mango tree in front with a flock of parrots, it was fun to watch them. House is in excellent shape, there's everything you need. Big thanks to the host.

  • Submitted: 10-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here and if we ever return to Kona, we would definitely stay here again. It was amazing.

  • Submitted: 28-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Overpriced and rundown

  • 1 of 5

I have been positive about every experience with VRBO until this one. Our day stay was less than ideal. The place hadn’t been cleaned when we arrived—no sheets on the bed or clean towels, because the cleaning crew forgot we were coming. They did show up the next day and did a nice job on the place. We only got the tv to work one night after a long call to the owner who walked us through the very complicated process, but it wouldn’t work the other 7days of our stay.The outdoor Jen-Air grill didn’t work—couldn’t get hot enough to cook anything on. The dishwasher was old and had broken parts. The light in the overhead fan was out for most of our stay. The place needs lots of work to bring it up to par, but the bed was comfortable and the view was great, so we did not complain. But the house is located on a very steep hillside and you have to walk(slide)down over tall grass to get to it from a very steep driveway. If you have any walking or balance problems it would be impossible to get around.On our last day another family moved into the apartment upstairs and since there is no glass in the windows, we were almost overcome by the smell of their marijuana both in the evening and the next morning!

But the worst part was that when I emailed the owner about getting our “refundable “damage deposit back after our stay he emailed back that since we had done so much damage and left the place in such bad shape there was no refund coming. It was only after I filed a complaint with VRBO that he stated he checked again and realized that it was the people who came after us who did the damage! That may be a way to pay for the needed improvements but it is NOT a good way to treat his guests!

  • Submitted: 2-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pat, it's unfortunate you had a less than stellar stay. It's not what we strive for. Mistakes do happen with the cleaning crew as they are not machines, just humans living in paradise. A service technician was sent to evaluate the appliances and found none of them lacking, however the cook top is showing signs of living in Hawaii (some rust) and will be replaced with a stainless model. Also, the silverware basket in the dishwasher has seen some abuse and will be replaced as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
2

Needing some TLC

  • 2 of 5

This is a convenient location in the coffee district with good ocean views. The design of the building is nice although in disappointing condition. Overall cleanliness and condition of appliances need improvement to make this rental an acceptable choice. The lower unit we stayed in requires access down a fairly steep slope through the grass. We were aware of this from previous reviews and didn't have a problem although this is not for those who have any physical limitations.

  • Submitted: 8-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guest did not contact me with any issues. Contrast this review with the previous reviews praising the amenities. The appliances certainly aren't Viking, but they are GE Profile and JennAire! I feel bad when you can't please everyone, but we will continue to try to provide a unique and genuine experience to all our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Location

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Kona
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
kailua-kona
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Holualoa
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Car: necessary

Coffee Farming

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation farmhouse rental in Hōlualoa, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
C$157
C$941
C$3,494
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$145.02
Damage Deposit C$329.6

On line booking system has rigid rates and requirements. If you have any questions or special requirements, please contact us! Bookings within 2 weeks of stay can receive a large discount, contact us for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable