Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Spectacular Short Term Vacation Rental in Kent

Bedrooms 3
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Barn, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Easily sleeps 6!)

Exceptional Post and Beam Authentic Timber Frame Barn in Kent, Ct. Fully restored and converted with all modern amenities for vacation rental weekend getaway, parties or other events. Tastefully furnished with high end accessories, gourmet kitchen appliances, open floor plan with private sleeping quarters and loft areas. Huge fireplace and wood burning stove add warmth and drama!

Private residential residence. Excellent group lodging facility. Relax and enjoy the full sized high quality pool table, built in swimming pool, bar, professional gym facilities and scenic grounds with horses, free-range chickens and more. The barn also offers a professional grade garage band style music experience, complete with amplification, guitars, keyboard, drums, mic stands and setups, bass, and more. A great place for family gathering.

Keywords: Kent, Ct. Weekend Rental, Seasonal Rental, Summer Rental, Ski House, Vacation Rental, Family Reunions, Parties, Rental. Furnished Rental, Swimming Pool

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2018

About Guy

I am a local craftsmen, fine home builder and musician married with four children. We encourage travelers from all backgrounds to come visit Kent and explore the Litchfield Hills.

Guy purchased this barn in 2002

Why Guy chose South Kent

We love Kent for its unique blend of rural simplicity and cultural flair. The air is crisp, the water is clean and the rural underpinnings of this progressive town instill a calm tranquility and measured appreciation of the natural surroundings accessible to all from The Spirit Horse Farm.

Our farm dates back to the founding of Kent, and remains an iconic property which once housed the local nursery school and kindergarten.

What makes this barn unique

The Litchfield Hills offers visitors an exciting mix of easy country living with up to date cultural experiences in arts, music, entertainment, shopping and fine dining. Kent offers travelers access to all of these benefits plus offers great outdoor activities including hiking the Appalachian Trail, fishing, rafting and kayaking the Housatonic, or exploring miles of preserved land. Motorcyclists, and automobile enthusiasts also find Kent to be the perfect destination or way point while driving the Route 7 corridor through the Bershire foothills. The Spirit Horse Farm is located just at the north end of town and offers both convenience and a private retreat for rest and contemplation at the end of the day. Night time activities include barbequing, fireside gatherings indoors or out, and an opportunity to visit with the horses, work out in the gym, shoot a game of pool, or swim in the moonlight.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation barn rental in South Kent, Connecticut

Property Type:
  • barn
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term renters welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Full Professional Gym, Horses! Vegetable and herb gardens, Music Room with professional band equipment, bar, outdoor shower, outdoor patios, outdoor fireplaces, free-range chickens providing fresh eggs daily.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular Short Term Vacation Rental in Kent
average rating of 4.894737 based on 38 reviews

Unprepared for guests

  • 2 of 5

We were not at all happy with our stay. We had 4 ladies and only one working shower. We all

had to shower in the downstairs bathroom and there was not water pressure in that shower.

There were no wash cloths or hand towels available. In fact, there were no linens were out for us at all. It was freezing!! It was 62 degrees downstairs where I slept and the thermostat didn't change anything. I slept downstairs and the pullout mattress was so thin that you could feel every spring. We had to drag a futon mattress, which was very heavy, and put it on top of the bed. The lights were very confusing and there wasn't a book or directions for the house anywhere. The outlets in the downstairs bathroom didn't work. The kitchen sink dripped creating a chinese torture situation trying to not here it while going to sleep. The hosts didn't even know what day we were arriving and acted like we had arrived early. The people we dealt with (owner was out of town) were not at all helpful or friendly. We would never stay there again and we definitely would not recommend it to anybody else to stay there.

  • Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is our first negative review in 9 years. It is a disappointment, but in some ways accurate. We were out of town, so only available by phone and email. We never heard from the guests regarding any issues, so we were not able to assist. There was a miscommunication regarding arrival time, and in retrospect I can see that that was probably my fault. For that reason, the barn was not fully ready. We do provide linens, as well as firewood, charcoal for the back deck barbecue, fresh eggs, fruit, coffee, tea, cream, butter, jams, artisanal breads, and wonderful locally made cookies. These items are usually stocked before arrival, but unfortunately, they were not delivered to these guests until shortly after they checked in. We were also not able to give them a proper introduction to the property, as we normally do when arrival time is clear. The thermostat and heat do work properly, as do both showers, so it is hard to respond to those complaints, but I can agree that of all the 16 possible available beds, the fold out couch may be the least desirable, since the mattress is so thin! The outlets in the downstairs bathroom do work, but are set up on GFCI's as required by code. GFCIs disable the outlet to prevent electrical shock, and are activated when excessive moisture is detected. There is a little reset button on each outlet, as is the case in most homes, but I know not everyone is familiar with that feature. I cannot comment on why the GFCI was activated in this case, but it is a rare occurrence, and easily remedied, so will add instructions on how to reset the GFCI for future rentals. While I do not fault our guests in their criticisms, I do wish we had more open communication so we could have helped them to enjoy their stay. We take pride in our farm property rental, and do everything we can to ensure our guests do enjoy their stay. I am very sorry this rental fell short of our guest's expectations. We welcome constructive criticism, so we are grateful for all reviews, and are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experiences here at The Spirit Horse Farm.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Best Place in Kent!

  • 5 of 5

If you are staying in or around Kent, and want a really great experience, stay at The Spirit Horse Farm!

  • Submitted: 3-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Magical Farm Experience

  • 5 of 5

A unique experience unlike any other rental house. Outside peacocks, chickens, doves and horses provided hours of entertainment. Inside the music equipment and pool table kept us going. The house is conveniently located close to town, Macedonia Brook State Park, and Kent Falls. Wish we could have stayed forever!

  • Submitted: 28-Apr-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The absolute best place to celebrate my bachelorette and have a blessingway ceremony with doves

  • 5 of 5

When I set off to plan my bachelorette weekend, I envisioned a farm with a variety of animals, a tipi with fire pit, beautiful home with tons to do, perfect location and nearby attractions. I quickly jumped online and found The Spirit Horse Farm. I was 150% satisfied and was able to bring my vision to life over and over while we were there. The owner Guy was attentive and helped to create with us. The horses were kind and ready to connect. The roosters started the day for us as we enjoyed farm fresh eggs and more each morning. The house was awesome with unique features and lots of space for all of us. An added bonus was the resident photographer who accompanied us to Kent Falls and other locations for photo shots...exceptional quality! Highly recommend requesting his services for your stay. To top it off we were close to a great brewery, vineyard, shopping and restaurants. The house and property offered so much that we could've just stayed there. We already planned another getaway for this summer. One last was clean! We weren't sure what to expect given it's a farm but the linens, towels, couches and all were clean. There were some resident bugs but they fit right in.

  • Submitted: 12-Apr-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything we could have dreamed of

  • 5 of 5

Guy and Steph, words cannot express how grateful Kyle and I are that we found you and The Spirit Horse Farm. From the moment that we stepped foot on the property, we knew that this was the place that we wanted to be married at. Both of you were wonderful during the planning process and made it so easy to plan. Guy, I can't thank you enough for being so welcoming upon our arrival. I felt like we were meeting old friends again when we pulled up. Everyone that attended the wedding said that The Spirit Horse Farm was the most amazing place they had ever been. I wish we could redo our wedding over and over again just because we loved this place so very much. Thank you both again for everything!!!!!!

  • Submitted: 7-Sep-2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Anniversary celebration with family and friends

  • 5 of 5

We had the best anniversary celebration with our family and friends. The barn was an amazing place, comfortable and cozy. Same as the pictures on the website showed. The owner was very helpful in helping me organize my gathering. Would recommend anyone for any upcoming events or just a quick getaway.

  • Submitted: 13-Nov-2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

20 minutes to Lime Rock Race Park


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation barn rental in South Kent, Connecticut

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$96 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$32.1
day guest fee C$44.93

We offer a 100% refund for cancelled dates as long as we can rebook your dates for equal value.
Otherwise, we offer rain dates. Rain dates must be scheduled within 60 days of cancellation.
Please note or standard check in time is after 4pm, and check out is by 11am. In some cases, we can extend check out or allow earlier check in times, but because we often have back to back bookings, it is not always possible to do so.
Guests may 'purchase' early check in, or late check out, provided no others have already booked immediately preceding or following your visits for an additional $150.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties