Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Oceanfront 3 Bedroom Cottage 5 Minutes from Peggy's Cove.

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,100 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Oceanfront Cottage with great views and beautiful sunsets. Just bring your clothes, food, and enjoy. The cottage is on a quiet secluded street. The backyard opens up to a large wooded area. Very private location. It is a perfect spot for families or those who want to get in touch with nature.

Beachstone Cottage is a spacious 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation home, that has been lovingly restored and decorated with modern day conveniences in mind. The main level features a sun porch entrance, well equipped kitchen, living room with fireplace looking out to sea, seperate dining room area, bedroom, bath and laundry area. The large master suite on the second floor features ocean views, a large L-shape couch, queen bed, Jacuzzi bath and very large flat screen TV.

Conveniently located on St. Margaret's Bay, just 5 minutes from Peggy's Cove lighthouse. Close to many restaurants, galleries, sightseeing opportunities and a myriad of outdoor activities. Groceries and most 'city' amenities are a 15 minute drive away.

Beachstone Cottage is a great place to base your explorations from. We are within an hour's drive from such scenic areas as Halifax, Mahone Bay, Chester, Lunenburg and the Annapolis Valley.

Keywords: Oceanfront Cottage. Private. Waterfront. Waterviews. Gorgeous Sunsets. 3 Bedroom 2 Bath. Fireplace. Sun porch. Yard. Prime Nova Scotia location.

More Details

Ken Nogami
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 15, 2018

Why Ken Nogami chose Halifax

We chose this location purely for the peace and quiet. We wanted to surround ourselves with nature. We were also attracted to the great number of outdoor activities available in the area.

Guestbook comments from the owner

A lovely time being together and reuniting with family and friends. Le Have, islands, The Valley, Halifax, Lunenburg, many lovely meals including our lobster fest. Thanks for all the great cookware. Came from near and far. We loved staying in this beautiful house, kayaking around the cove, and eating at the Finer Diner. Thanks for the memories!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Halifax

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Away From It All
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
21% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront 3 Bedroom Cottage 5 Minutes from Peggy's Cove.
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 22 reviews

Comfortable, spacious and in a beautiful setting.

  • 5 of 5

Some family and friends stayed in this spacious and comfortable home during my wedding this summer.

The location is a perfect proximity to Halifax, Peggy's Cove, Lunenburg and other wonderful Nova Scotia destinations.

The living space is comfortable for sharing with a family or group of friends. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: 8-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Centrally located to all the major tourist destinations of Nova Scotia.

  • 5 of 5

The oceanfront home was lovely and the views of Hacket's Cove were breathtaking! The furnishings were comfortable and the kitchen was very well appointed. It felt very much like home! Just a short drive to everything that Halifax has to offer. Within minutes to Peggy's Cove, fresh seafood, and sightseeing boat tours of puffins and seals. I wish our entire 10 days would have been from this property. PEI and NB were beautiful, but this location was the epitome of the maritime experience. I hope to return again. Thank you from Michigan, USA.

  • Submitted: 31-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Big house on the water with long driveway, big rooms, and a ton of comfortable living space.

  • 4 of 5

Really happy with our experience - house was clean and comfortable. Great location to beautiful beaches, Peggy's Cove, and downtown. Beautiful sunsets and quiet street made for a relaxing vacation. Would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: 31-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Back East

Functional but very average home to stay in

  • 3 of 5

We decided to take a trip to the Halifax area and thus looked for places to stay. Not realizing that the 150 year anniversary of Canada was ongoing, the selections were limited. We prefer two bathrooms thus it made it a little more difficult. We booked the location and found the owner to be responsive in returning messages. Please do not misread this review- the place was functional and worked out but these will hopefully help the owner and those who stay as to what to bring or do.

The home itself is located near Hackett’s Cove which is about 40 minutes from Halifax (with 20 minutes being the drive up to the highway). It is a nice drive and not difficult. It appears as if the home has undergone the attempt to modernize it although there is much to do specifically the kitchen. The kitchen is functional but very outdated and boxy with the fridge on the other side of the oven.

Due to character limitations, my review must be shortened to points below (sorry)

Issues/annoyances- no dishwasher, no Teflon pots & limited size pans, no spices only huge abundance of salt and pepper shakers, no glass bowls for salads/sauces, cereal bowls are poor & flat, old appliances (microwave, toaster, oven), poor audio/video setup (no instructions or channel guide, very old equipment circa 80's), recycling is not explained well as to when garbage day is, no dock sadly, furniture was old and dated but functional.

The bathrooms were fine. Upstairs had a Jacuzzi tub which was out of place in the home. Since you are on well water, you are unsure if you can fill it up and still have water for others. We managed to make it work. The light switches were strangely configured. Some outside the door, some inside. The lights were recessed which is modern but gave poor lighting. Again, functional but that is all.

Weber BBQ was a cheap one & was not used much so it was hard to clean. We used it only once. The yard had two abandoned cars full of rotting wood way in the back. Was unclear as to why these are on the property.

There are two stores 20 minutes away. Only one is mentioned in the initial instructions. Both were fine. Gas stations are around as well as a TD Bank for an ATM.

There are two restaurants we ate at- Rhubarb’s and the Finer Diner. Rhubarb’s was very nice where the Finer Diner was a diner- nice enough (good and funny server) but average food.

The suggestions inside this review are personal and not meant to be negative but constructive. Enjoy.

  • Submitted: 16-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you found our place inadequate. It is listed as a cottage though. It sounds like you were hoping for the amenities of a hotel.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Quiet scenic location; house needs more explanations and updating

  • 3 of 5

We loved the peaceful surroundings, looking out to the sea across the road. Location is ideal for exploring the South Shore, Peggy's Cove, and Lunenburg.However the house itself needs updating: some of the of the lights and plugs did not work, and most importantly, there was no information on how to use any appliances, the TV, gas fireplace, barbeque etc. the shelves for the pots and pans are about 7 feet tall and require a step stool to reach. The key to the sliding door - the main entry - is difficult. We do not mind inconveniences usually, but for the price, we expect a better organized and equipped place.

  • Submitted: 8-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will certainly address your suggestions for next season! Thanks for the input.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely cottage

  • 4 of 5

Beach stone cottage is just lovely! We had a perfect view of St Margaret's Bay from the living room. Hackett's Cove is just minutes away from Peggy's Cove, an amazing village. We used Beachstone as a starting point for daily excursions and it is in a perfect location for that kind of travel. The only downside was that we could not listen to any of the host's extensive CD collection because there were five remote control devices for the television, DVD player and the music system. We did not find any guidance on which remote did what. So, we sat and read which was also very nice.

  • Submitted: 20-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Halifax

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Season
Jun 3 2018 - Jun 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
High Season
Jul 1 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner