Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

2br/1ba Mountaintop Cottage with Superlative Views: Woods, Waterfalls, Trails

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 BD, 1 BA, Sleeps 5, Mountain views, 480 sf living/40 feet of front porch

There is no better place to count your blessings. Lay in the hammock or swing on the porch while you experience this magnificent mountain view. Play in the woods or hike down to the waterfalls! The many trails on the property are accessible from your private covered porch. Enjoy moonrise from the hot tub after spending your day shopping in Hendersonville, horsing around at FENCE, or visiting the Biltmore House in Asheville.

We are nestled into 70 acres of mixed hardwood forest amid creeks, waterfalls and trails. Easily accessed from North Carolina's I-26 or from historic US 176, this cabin by Cottages of Dark Corner is minutes from excellent biking, fishing, hiking, scenic drives, kayaking, live entertainment, and fine dining. The Pout House is stocked with basic household supplies for your comfort and convenience.

More Details

Owner
Amy Johnson
Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2018

About Amy Johnson

Amy & Carl live just down the road from the Pout House with their dogs, Cinderella and Bee, and a cat, Nyenne ("Kitty" for short). Cinderella is disabled and usually walks on three legs, but is a happy, elderly girl. Carl and I usually spend our days at the knit shop up the hill, Kniticality, and are there to answer your questions or help you find your way around the area.

Amy Johnson purchased this cottage in 1942

Why Amy Johnson chose Saluda

The acreage where the Pout House resides has been in Carl's family since 1942. Carl began visiting here when he was 2 years old, coming up summers with his grandparents, parents and siblings. Carl and Amy purchased several family shares to combine into this property for everyone to love. Our wish is that it brings joy and healing to those who visit as it has to us for generations.

What makes this cottage unique

There is a peace here that goes right in to your heart. Carl loves the magnificent views and the breezes. Amy likes that the property is so easy to access from major roads, but still retains the quiet unspoiled feel of deep woods. Both of us just enjoy watching the trees, wading the streams, seeing the wildlife, and wandering the trails with Cinderella and Bee as companions and as guides.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Couldn't ask for a better mountain retreat. Stayed 2 days, brought our own groceries, never left the property. Can't wait to come back.
Mar 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Saluda, North Carolina

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No fires inside or out.
  • Bag the trash. No loose trash in outdoor cans.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • soaps basic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • restaurant dining guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • porch/lanai
  • unscreened porch/lanai
  • Walkway to Water
  • deck wood
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
23% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2br/1ba Mountaintop Cottage with Superlative Views: Woods, Waterfalls, Trails
average rating of 4.4761906 based on 43 reviews
5

Nice place. Private but not too remote. Good location.

  • 5 of 5

Located about 10 minutes from the highway but still very private, my GF and I really enjoyed staying at the cottage. Due to horrid weather, we were forced to spend most of our time indoors, but this just gave us more time to appreciate how well maintained this place is. TV/Cable were good. Internet provided. Living room area was comfortable on the L shaped couch.

Kitchen has adequate supplies and appliances, and there was a gas grill outside, so cooking and clean up was not an issue. Bathroom very nice with good water pressure. Bed was comfortable. Entire place was very clean and well kept.

Had the weather cooperated, I'm sure we would have spent more time on the deck of the cottage. There is a hot tub, and area to enjoy the view, as well as a front yard. The cottage is mostly surrounded by woods, but there is one section that looks out to a very nice view in the distance (so long as the weather is nice).

The owners are very available should they be needed. They left a handwritten note and provided some printouts which helped us figure out what was around as far as stores and restaurants. As far as the driveway/road goes getting here, I saw a previous review indicate it was a challenge, but I didn't find that to be the case at all. While steep in a couple places, it was not bad and my car had no trouble.

This is a good place to stay and will be at the top of my list if I return to that area.

  • Submitted: 11-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your detailed review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to a future visit! Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Mountain Memories!

  • 5 of 5

Never rented a cottage before, this was our first time. We had a wonderful time and was beyond our expectations. The view was spectacular, the second night a storm passed by and left a wonderous sight with a rainbow view over the mountain from the porch! We enjoyed our guided tour to the waterfall below the cottage with Bee (the owners dog) who also greeted us each day and was a pleasure! Plenty of options for entertainment near by, also shopping. The price was great for a weekend of family fun! Would rent it again! The Nusser Family

  • Submitted: 25-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not set up to accommodate us

  • 1 of 5

Our due date was the day after a big storm. The day before my wife had to go to a doctor because she was sick. We went anyway because there was no rebate, but when we arrived there was not enough heat to keep my wife from getting worse. The owner was in bed after a procedure and some one else tried to help us. There was no way we could stay there as it was. The gentleman assured that the owner would help with a refund so we came home with out checking in. The next dad I went to a Doctor because I needed to. The owner refused to do any thing except keep ALL our money an said that was it. Now if HOME AWAY could help that would make up feel like we have been RIPPED OFF!! Please respond, thank you Conrad Whitley

  • Submitted: 1-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate you arrived the same day as my surgery, but as you stated in several communications re: this issue, you were unwilling to operate the heat pump, and unwilling to wait the 15 or so minutes it would have taken to make the cottage more comfortable for your personal taste. You were also given a partial refund, which under the circumstances and according to your signed contract, we were not obligated to provide. We take our five-star status very seriously, but there is nothing more I could have done in this instance to remain fair and please you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Savannah, GA
4

Beautiful View and Very Quiet

  • 4 of 5

We arrived early and Amy was more than welcome to allow us to enter the property early. It was very easy to find and arriving early allowed us to get settled and head to downtown Saluda. Downtown Saluda has North Carolina's oldest grocery store and we loved shopping here. Food was fantastic and fresh, and the customer service was top notch.

The cabin had a little smell when we first walked in but we think it was just because there was no air circulating, once we turned the heat on it went away quickly.

We had everything we needed to be comfortable while we were here and the hot tub was fantastic on the cold days and nights.

I don't know why people said they had trouble with the drive, yes it was gravel but it was very easy to get up in our car. Just drive slow.

We also arranged for massages while there and Tamera at Appalachian Spa Ventures was so kind and arrived right on time. This was not part of the home but none the less was amazing.

If you are looking for a quiet little getaway then look no further. Easy to find and yet easy to get lost in relaxation.

  • Submitted: 4-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The view was beautiful

  • 3 of 5

Enjoyed my stay

  • Submitted: 30-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful views!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is a great place to get away from it all! The home was clean with a well stocked kitchen and bathroom. The best thing about this property is the magnificent views from the porch! We spent a great deal of time outside and exploring the property during our stay. The waterfall is a 20 minute walk and unique to the property. A bonus surprise were the owner's dogs who were super friendly!

Owner's responsive to questions/texts.

Downtown Saluda is less than 10 minute drive and has great places to eat (Saluda Grade Cafe, Purple Onion) and several local shops to peruse. We hoped to hike to Pearson Falls but it was a bit too cold for us this trip.

Would stay again.

  • Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Asheville, North Carolina
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Purple Onion, Saluda NC
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Kenmure Golf Club
Nearest Train
100 Miles
Charlotte, North Carolina
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Exit 59 Interstate 26 North Carolina
Nearest Restaurant
2.8 Miles
The Wildflour Bakery
Car: necessary

Local Artists and Art Galleries, Flatrock Theater, Brevard Music Festival, Hendersonville Apple Festival, Farm-City Day, Blue Ridge Parkway, DuPont Forest, 57 area summer camps for kids, on-site arts and crafts instruction and project classes, on-site babysitting, Live Local Bluegrass Music every week, Foothills Equestrian Nature Center (FENCE), McGough Arena (Asheville Agriculture Center) NC Arboretum, Biltmore House, Grove Park Inn, Carl Sandburg Home, Pack Place Museum, Miniature Railroad Museum of Hendersonville, Historic Johnson Farm, Pisgah Forest, French Broad River, Green River, Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, Bat Cave, Pearsons Falls, Sliding Rock, Moonshine Mountain, Piggy's and Harry's Restaurant, Green River BBQ, Purple Onion Fine Dining/Entertainment, Block House Steeplechase, Civil and Revolutionary war historic sites.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Saluda, North Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Weg
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$183
C$1,118
C$3,516
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$142
From
C$157
Fri,Sat,Sun
C$1,004
C$2,081
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$164.63
Pet Fee C$59.27 + Tax
Cleaning C$85.61 + Tax

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties