Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Charming West Shore Cabin at Lake Tahoe, California

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Our cabin was built around 1932, making it one of the first cabins in Tahoma. Inside, the walls and ceilings are a reflection of that period, all natural pine. The warm glow from the pine gives one a feeling of that era where time was much slower and vacations much longer.

Guests can enjoy year-round sports and activities at our charming West Shore cabin at beautiful Lake Tahoe, California. Perfect for a weekend getaway or a longer stay, the cabin is just a short 5 minute drive to Homewood Ski Resort; 20 minutes to Alpine Meadows Ski Resort; and, 25 minutes to world-famous Squaw Valley, site of the 1968 Winter Olympics. A 15-minute drive takes you to Tahoe City where you will find wonderful shopping and diverse dining as well as many recreational opportunities, including rafting down the Truckee River. Further up the road is Stateline where California meets Nevada. Casinos can be found, including the Cal-Neva, a hang-out for the Rat Pack in the 50s and 60s. If you head in the opposite direction from the cabin you will reach the South Shore where casino resort hotels abound with nightlife and fine dining as well as Heavenly Valley Ski Resort.

Just 3 blocks to the lake, our neighborhood is comprised of single family homes with approximately 40% occupied by year-round residents and 60% by vacation homes. Although our cabin is on a double corner lot, the neighborhood is quiet and the neighbors are friendly. One of our favorite activities is dining on the large deck, whether it's breakfast on a warm sunny morning or barbecuing in the evening with cocktails and appetizers.

PLEASE NOTE: Rates: Standard $170 per night (two night minimum); Holiday $185 per night (includes President's Weekend, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years - all three night minimum).

Keywords: Cabin, West Shore of Lake Tahoe, California, Homewood Ski Resort, Rafting, House

More Details

Owner
Terry Keenan
Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2018

About Terry Keenan

We are a married couple, Terry and Pat, who live in Mill Valley, CA. We've both in our mid-60s, and have 2 cats. We have both recently retired.

We have done a number of exchanges and, in addition to rentals, would be interested in doing an exchange in Hawaii, Spain, France, the Caribbean, or The Netherlands, Belgium, and Denmark, but are open to all suggestions.

Terry Keenan purchased this house in 1982

Why Terry Keenan chose Tahoma

There's only one Lake Tahoe, which provides year-round recreational fun and activities for the entire family. It's just a 4-hour drive from the San Francisco Bay Area, but also within a 45-minute drive from the Truckee Airport. The historic town of Truckee offers unique shopping and browsing as well as unique dining experiences. The cabin has proven to be a perfect getaway, especially from the pressure of living in the San Francisco Bay Area, even if only for a three-night weekend.

What makes this house unique

The cabin has been lovingly decorated to reflect a mountain experience with comfortable living and dining areas as well as bedrooms and bath. Charming personal touches abound throughout, making this a perfect getaway with an 'at home' feel.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Highly recommend Charl as a guest. Took such good care of our home.
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Tahoma, California

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Tile shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size beds (2). Each bedroom has a queen-sized bed. PLEASE NOTE: Guests provide their own linens and towels, or, if they prefer, both can be provided for an additional fee of $50.00.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Large sunny deck on double lot with badminton court. Large brick barbecue.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
20% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming West Shore Cabin at Lake Tahoe, California
average rating of 4.733333 based on 31 reviews
4

Great location for x-co skiing.

  • 4 of 5

I hope to return when there is real snow.

Location is brilliant for x-co skiing w/ Sugar Pine Pt St Pk (1960 Olympic biathalon trail) on one side and McKinney-Rubicon Rd on other. Homewood resort w/i 5 miles. Basic groceries, PO, and pizza w/i easy walk.

House is plenty comfy and neighbors spoke/greeted. You're on your own to recycle (but how hard is that?). Cleaning service could do better (vac under sofa/chair cushions). Fewer knick-knacks would make it easier to adapt to guests' uses.

I was here for 2 wks and would like to have stayed longer (snow was just arriving as I left).

  • Submitted: 2-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vacaville, CA
5

Such a fun getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time at Harvest Moon. Terry is quick to respond if you need anything.

The cabin is easy find, peaceful, well kept. It is darker than some places inside, which was mentioned in some other reviews, but we liked it. It’s quaint and does give a feel of being back in time. We came to relax and unwind and that is exactly what we did. Locals are friendly and the neighborhood is great for strolls if you have kids or want a quick walk.

Terry was awesome and allowed us to checkout a little later which helped since we have a toddler. Can’t wait to come back soon!

  • Submitted: 6-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bakersfield, CA
5

Just Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about Harvest Moon or its owners. The cabin was everything we could have asked for and more. The owners were beyond kind, communicative, and accommodating. I HIGHLY recommend! It helped make our New Years one for the books!

  • Submitted: 18-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A grest getaway cabin at a very reasonable price!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience over Xmas weekend at the cabin. Everything was as advertised so we brought our own sheets and towels, and stopped at Safeway in Tahoe City to pick up what we needed and cooked most of our meals in the well equipped kitchen. We did go out to the local pizza parlor which was fine and just a short walk. Hiking trails wete also a short walk as was a little market that was quite quaint and very reasonably priced. I certainly would go again, maybe this time in the summer, as the value could not be beat!!!

  • Submitted: 25-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Hot & Buggy for Summer

  • 3 of 5

Rented this cabin for a weekend in July. Since it's Tahoe we didn't expect AC, but there were only 2 windows we could open with screens on them.. and no fans for guests in the house! Since we have an infant we couldn't risk him being eaten alive by mosquitos so we all suffered in the heat. There were plenty of bugs - dead and alive - in the house, so I'm guessing other guests just opened all the windows without screens. Otherwise good location and great size for small family. I wouldn't come back because it was too dark for my taste and way too hot in the Summer.

  • Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Courtney We waited for a few weeks to respond to your review because we were going to stay at our cabin, which we did the past several days, in order to check out your points. 1. No bugs, no mosquitoes, no flies. 2. The fan was in the kitchen, but we’ve moved it to the closet in the back bedroom. 3. Please remember, this is a cabin built in the 1930s, with lots of knotty pine on the walls and ceiling. It’s part of being in the sierras. In addition, we have installed new window treatments with shades that increase the natural light. 4. The temperatures during your stay were 84, 86, 85, a little warmer than normal. This past week the temps have been 80 to 83. 5. There is a screened window in the bathroom and a sliding glass door that is screened. The rest open to fresh air (remember, no bugs). Thanks for your feedback, Courtney. Feedback is the only way we can make improvements, and it is appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
4

Harvest Moon in July

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harvest Moon. The location worked out very well for us and the quaint little cottage had everything that we needed to enjoy our time at the lake. We would love to return again !"

  • Submitted: 11-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
At corner of Highway 89 & Pine Street
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 89
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
At corner of Highway 89 & Pine Street
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
At Homewood Ski Resort/Tahoe Ski Bowl
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
At end of Pine Street on West Lake Blvd.
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Tahoma, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$218
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$89.87

We accept payment through HomeAway and PayPal. PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR CANCELLATION POLICY.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties