Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Log Cabin by the Lake

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 0 - 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our Cabin is located on Lake Thurmond which is the largest man made lake East of the Mississippi. It is a great location for a weekend getaway or vacation. In addition to the lake we have 50 miles of hiking and biking trails, 3 lakeside golf courses, great fishing and hunting. This area is suitable year round. Summer has the advantage of warm water in the lake for water sports but the other seasons have the advantage of pleasant temperatures for all other activities. For details on hiking, biking, and kayaking go to

If you have a boat you can launch it just a few blocks away from the cabin and dock it at our covered dock. If you do not have a boat the nearby Savannah Lakes Marina rents new model 24' pontoon boats..

The cabin is a beautiful two story log cabin in a wilderness setting sitting on 300 ft of shorline. It is 1500 square ft, with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths equipped with full amenities. It also has a large wrap around deck,a 6 man hot tub built into the deck and a view that extends over several miles of lake.

Golfing privileges are availabe for several outstanding golf courses nearby, fishing within a half mile of the cabin is outstanding and there is a new 50 mile long hiking, biking, kayaking trail only a few miles away. Whether you are looking for water sports, golf, a great place for long walks or bike rides, or just a beautiful setting to relax and enjoy this is a great place to spend a week or a weekend. And for Masters fans the cabin is about a 40 minute drive from the Masters Golf Tournament in Augusta, GA.

Please keep in mind when making reservations for this cabin that it is located in a quiet residential neighborhood on the lake and is not suitable for groups of more than 8 to 10 people. For example a class reunion or family reunion would be inappropriate. There are numerous state parks nearby suitable for such gatherings.

Keywords: Lakeside Log Cain

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About The Owner

My wife and I built this cabin in 1988 as a weekend/vacation get away. It has served us well with many great memories. We retired recently and purchased a larger home a mile away which is now our primary residence.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1988

Why The Owner chose McCormick

We chose this area because it's location on Lake Thurmond is one of the best recreation areas in SC. Not only is it on the largest man-made lake east of the Mississippi but the fact that only 20% of the lake is open to residential development keeps the boat traffic down making fishing and boating activities much more enjoyable. The lake is not crowded even on major holidays. We are not golfers but this location is also located near some of the nicest golf courses in SC.

What makes this cabin unique

All kinds of wildlife are viewable from the deck of the cabin. Hiking and biking in the development where the cabin is located is great but if you are a real enthusiast a new 50 mile long hiking, biking, kayaking trail has recently been completed a few miles away ( Some of the best fishing on Lake Thurmond is less than half a mile from the cabin and if you are a golfer you will not find any nicer golf courses than those accessable from our cabin.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Jerry the cabin is great nice view used hot tub after long drive and 32 mi mountain bike ride felt great.
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 12


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in McCormick

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Hot tub used only with advance notice to owner.
  • Pets permitted only with advance permission
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
covered dock and pontoon boat, golf privileges, great fishing, 50 mile hiking/biking/kayaking trail nearby


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Log Cabin by the Lake
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 48 reviews
athens, ga

House was clean and well kept, as described.

  • 5 of 5

The area was quiet and perfect for a nice getaway. The cabin was roomy enough for our party of 9 guests with great views of the lake. Wrap around porch was perfect for grilling and hanging out. Would rent again.

  • Submitted: 25-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Met out basic needs.

  • 3 of 5

The location of the cabin and parking available was really nice. I had a 19 foot bass boat and was able to park there along with another vehicle with no problem and close enough to run an extension cord from the cabin to charge my batteries. As for the cabin itself, it met our basic needs. My only recommendation is they add curtains to the large windows/doors and update the beds, however for the most part it was adequate for our immediate needs.

  • Submitted: 12-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had a great get-a-way!

  • 5 of 5

We had great sunset views of the lake through the pines, and some much needed rest away from everything. The kitchen had everything we needed for our small family birthday celebration. Thanks!

  • Submitted: 1-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great lake cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect description, great area

  • Submitted: 4-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Surrency, GA

Great place to relax

  • 5 of 5

Rustic cabin on the lake. Owner answered immediately when called. Gave great recommendations on where to eat and go hiking. He was very pleasant to talk with. Kitchen had items needed and the hot tub was great. Really enjoyed sitting on the porch swing looking over the lake, especially in the morning.

  • Submitted: 18-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tried to give it one star and 5 pope up.The cabin was dirty,even hot tub on deck, boat was dir

  • 5 of 5

The shore line was very unmaintaned. Access to the beach was very unmaintaned

And difficult to manovver down the hill. The only beauty of my stay was the view of the lake through the trees. I would not stay again or be recommending to anyone

When your charge 250 dollars a day for cabin. One would expect more.

  • Submitted: 14-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: you cannot please everyone. our place is a millionaires retreat on lake thurmond. shore line maintenance is subject to lake conditions. at present the lake is down several feet which has no impact on boating but does mean dock had to be put out to stay afloat so path to boat is not ideal as it would be with a full lake. we have an older pontoon that is available at a rate of $75/day for those who just want to get out on the lake. the new pontoons at the nearby marina rent for $300 / 4hrs. so far as cleanliness, the comments are out of line. we have a maid service similar to any in the country who come by following each renters departure. this guest mentions hot tub dirty which is simply not true. the hot tub sits out on the deck with a beautiful view of the lake sitting outside in a heavily wooded area there are always a few leaves that get in the tub from time to time but the tub is constantly filtered and chemically treated to swimming pool standards. sorry this couple did not approve but if they will be honest it is exactly as described in VRBO. They were expecting the Taj Mahal and did not appreciate a log cabin in a wilderness setting beside the lake which is exactly the way we describe it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
mccormick for private planes
Car: necessary

golf privileges and pontoon boat rentals


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in McCormick

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
spring summer
Apr 8 2018 - Aug 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
summer fall
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
fall winter spring
Oct 1 2018 - Mar 31 2019
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee for < 3days C$51.3
Pet Fee C$32.06
Tax Rate 9.0%

Maximum occupancy during rental is 10 persons. Special events such as weddings, graduations, birthdays with guests exceeding 10 persons not acceptable

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner