Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Gorgeous Oceanfront Rancher with Stunning views, Sauna, Hot tub and Pool table!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 232 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Spacious oceanfront home on 1 acre with 3 Bedrooms and 3 full Bathrooms.

Clayoquot Calm is located on 1 acre of private, peaceful, oceanfront property that overlooks the stunning views of Browning Passage in Clayoquot Sound. This custom designed 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, one level, spacious home easily accommodates families and groups who enjoy vacationing together and is accessible to those with mobility issues. Ideally located within walking distance (1km) from the village of Tofino and within 5km of world-renowned surfing beaches like Chesterman Beach, Cox Bay and Long Beach, Clayoquot Calm is perfect for those seeking an idyllic west coast experience.

From the instant you walk in the door, our uniquely designed home welcomes you with breath taking waterfront views of Browning Passage from the living room, dining room as well as the master bedroom. Once inside, the open floor plan leads you through the living room with a wood-burning fireplace into the gourmet style kitchen. Off the kitchen, through beautiful, double patina fir doors, you find a games room that offers a fully equipped pool table and a large indoor sauna completely finished in cedar.

To enjoy the awe inspiring views outdoors, step out the glass French doors, between the dining and living rooms, onto the large concrete patio. Once there, have a seat in a handmade cedar chair to take in the amazing view while you deep breathe the fresh west coast air.

From the covered portion of this extensive patio, a 5 person hot tub, easily accessed from the living room, or master bedroom and ensuite, offers "apres-surf" or evening relaxation -- yet another soothing, relaxing venue from which to drink in the intoxicating phenomena that is the west coast.

Once you experience the rejuvenating magic of this idyllic retreat that is Clayoquot Calm, two things are certain: you will want to extend your stay and you will definitely need to return!!

Keywords: Oceanfront Vacation rental house in Tofino

More Details

Owner
Phil and Louise
Member since: 2009
Speaks english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

Why Phil and Louise chose Tofino

Clayoquot Calm offers one of the best views of Browning Passage, especially from the serene stone beach that is easily accessed from the lawn. One could spend all day from the beach, the patio or, if too rainy, from the cozy living room couch, watching the changing tides expose and blanket the vast expanse of mud flats -- an everchanging landscape! The Browning Passage side of the peninsula offers panoramic breathtaking views without the rigour of the west side. At Clayoquot Calm one can enjoy the serenity and grandeur of the west coast or, within minutes, experience the wild, intensity of the open ocean --- truly the best this area has to offer!

What makes this house unique

Clayoquot Calm was custom crafted by a skilled tradesman who created an idyllic retreat that offers as much inside, with all the amenities, as outside. We were smitten the minute we walked in the front door from where we could see the intoxicating view through the massive windows on the opposite side of the house. Very open and spacious with fourteen foot ceilings in the great and games rooms and nine foot in the rest of the house, this rancher style home is finished with fir cabinets, doors and heated concrete floors that give it very comfortable and cozy feel. The design of the ceilings offers amazing acoustics -- even the radio sounds incredible! Clayoquot Calm, a peaceful oasis, crafted out of and within the magical west coast, is thoroughly enjoyed any time of the year, no matter the weather.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Tofino, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 232 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Ensuite offers an extra large, open-concept tiled shower along side an inset jacuzzi tub and direct access to the outdoor hot tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa bed with memory foam queen size mattress
  • King Bed (1), Queen Beds (2), High quality queen size sofa bed (1), Foam mattresses (2), folding playpen/crib (1).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
In floor radiant heating, bar fridge, stereo speakers in games room, sauna, pool table, living room, kitchen, dining room and patio

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(105 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous Oceanfront Rancher with Stunning views, Sauna, Hot tub and Pool table!
average rating of 4.8190475 based on 105 reviews
Vancouver
5

Great Tofino rental

  • 5 of 5

Great rental property in Tofino. Fully functional kitchen with great views of the inlet and lots of space to relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Submitted: 13-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Concrete, WA
5

Very Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Clayoquot Calm! Spacious & private, this is the perfect place to relax & unwind. The kitchen is well equipped, we cooked in frequently even making Eggs Benedict for breakfast one morning. The heated floors made it so cozy. We sat in the hot tub every night, even when it was stormy. The town of Tofino shuts down a bit in January, but we had nice experiences at the Shelter Restaurant, Tofino Brewing, & Wildside Grill. If you are looking for a fun relaxing getaway this is the place for you!

  • Submitted: 19-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very favorable, detailed review! We always enjoy hearing how much people appreciate not only the amenities, but also the serenity of our home and property. Thanks again and we hope to have you back someday! Louise and Phil
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

I’d like to start by saying the pictures don’t do this place justice. It is much nicer in person.

We stayed here 3 nights for my wife’s 30th birthday. We had friends and family come to stay and visit. All of them were impressed at the amazing home, the view, and amenities. We will be booking again in the future and I imagine so will some of our group.

The first night we had some trouble finding the rental. It was dark and the address doesn’t show up correct on google maps. So if possible, travel in day light.

Thanks Phil and Louise

  • Submitted: 7-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the experience of our home and property!! Thank you also for the helpful feedback about the address visibility. We look forward to having you and your friends back soon! Phil and Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Escellent location and facility. Tranquil, secluded setting with spectacular water views.

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely first-rate experience. The tranquil setting has magnificent views. The house is very well maintained and furnished. Very well-suited for a group, but also excellent for a couple. The hot tub is wonderfully situated. The sauna and pool table make the facility feel like a five star resort. Owner is very accommodating to special requests. We visit Tofino only at Christmas time, and appreciated the Christmas decorations in the house. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: 30-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, BC, Canada
3

The property was beautiful. Couldn’t have asked for s more serene place to spend my birthday.

  • 3 of 5

Although the property was beautiful, it was slightly disappointing that the sauna was not working, I was informed late into booking but not offered any conpensation. Also the floors were incredibly slippery, which I had picked up on from other reviews. We were careful all weekend but one of us ended up taking a huge spill and severely injuring her leg. Luckily x-rays confirmed nothing was broken, should really look into a fix for this problem. Out of the eight of us there, four slipped. Other than that the place was clean and spacious.

  • Submitted: 21-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you found our home suitable, but very disappointed that you had some difficulties. We did notify you in advance that the sauna needed repairs. Fortunately we were able to locate new heating elements and have them delivered promptly to Tofino. Our caretaker made the repairs and the sauna was working correctly before your stay. The miscommunication is unfortunate. You could have called us or our on site caretaker. We were all available to help during your stay. The slippery floor is a serious concern and we are monitoring it carefully. We stayed at the home for 3 nights after your stay to look after routine maintenance and to set up the Christmas decorations. The floor was clean and well maintained but we did not find it slippery. We will monitor this closely to ensure it is safe. We have also asked our current guests to be careful and to let us know if they find the floor slippery. We hope your friends are all well and that the leg injury is healing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, BC
5

The home is a treasure & in a perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

Pictures do not do this property justice. We were a party of 7 adults & would stay here again in a heartbeat!! The home was very clean & VERY roomy. Loved the well equipped kitchen.

  • Submitted: 4-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Tofino Resort and Marina
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Long Beach Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Wolf in the Fog, The Shelter
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Chesterman
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Tofino, British Columbia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Storm
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$320
From
C$395
Fri,Sat
C$2,190
 
 
Spring
Mar 16 2018 - May 17 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$370
From
C$445
Fri,Sat
C$2,490
 
 
Easter Weekend
Mar 30 2018 - Apr 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$1,390
Flat fee
 
 
Victoria Day
May 18 2018 - May 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Early Summer
May 18 2018 - Jun 21 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$425
From
C$490
Fri,Sat
C$2,890
 
 
Summer
Jun 22 2018 - Sep 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
C$650
C$4,300
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 3 2018 - Sep 29 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$445
From
C$515
Fri,Sat
C$3,050
 
 
Fall
Sep 30 2018 - Oct 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$375
From
C$465
Fri,Sat
C$2,590
 
 
Thanksgiving
Oct 5 2018 - Oct 7 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$1,470
Flat fee
 
 
Winter Storm
Oct 29 2018 - Dec 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$345
From
C$415
Fri,Sat
C$2,350
 
 
Rememberance Day
Nov 9 2018 - Nov 11 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$1,365
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 21 2018 - Dec 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
C$545
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$310
From
C$350
Fri,Sat
C$2,090
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$125
Damage Deposit C$200

A $125 cleaning contribution fee is applied to all bookings to cover a portion of the cleaning costs.
Our minimum stay is 3 nights unless there is 2 night space to fill.
This is a pet free home.
We operate a very nice and well maintained waterfront home. As a result we will ask about the mix of your group.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties