Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Loft--Walk to the Lake, College, Downtown, Centennial Trail and Park!

Bedrooms 1
Space 850 sq ft
Property type apartment


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This loft, built in 2006, is a quiet retreat. It is a spacious 850 sq. feet, with a fully equipped kitchen and a sunset-view covered deck with a gas grill. Downtown, Lake Coeur d'Alene, North Idaho College and City Park are all within a 2-10 minute walk. The Centennial Trail is within a block, and skiing is only 45 minutes away. It is a great launching pad for an active visit.

I will do all I can to help make your stay enjoyable!

Payment mailing address:

David Groth

719 W. Woodland Dr.

Coeur d' Alene, ID


Keywords: loft, Ironman, downtown, lake, beach, City Park, North Idaho College, Centennial Trail, bikes, hikes, Silverwood, mountain biking, Farragut, walking, City Park, swimming, restaurants

More Details

David Groth
Member since: 2007
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2018

About David Groth

In June of 2016, I retired after 37 years as an elementary school teacher and principal in Coeur d'Alene. I love what is accessible from the loft and my house, (on the same property) by foot, on bikes or by car. I enjoy great hiking, fishing, bicycling, cross country and alpine skiing within 45 minutes. I love Coeur d'Alene!

David Groth purchased this apartment in 2006

Why David Groth chose Fort Grounds

I have lived in this neighborhood since 1983; the loft is on the back of the property where I live.

What makes this apartment unique

I enjoy walking three minutes to the lake, biking the Centennial Trail from my house, walking to events downtown and at North Idaho College. I have rented to Ironman athletes for each of the 12 years of the event, and in 2009 and 2011 I completed the race.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your place is lovely and very convenient to town. We enjoyed ourselves. It was perfect. Thank you!
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation apartment rental in Fort Grounds, Idaho

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Access to two kayaks and a canoe


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Loft--Walk to the Lake, College, Downtown, Centennial Trail and Park!
average rating of 4.76 based on 26 reviews
Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

A Loft above Others

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very helpful through our first VRBO experience! David provided us with his recommend restaurants, and detailed instructions on how to use the appliances, and other features. Unfortunately, we were short on time this trip, and never got to enjoy all of the other features that were included such as the Canoe, Kayak, and bicycles, perhaps next visit! Overall we had an enjoyable experience, the unit was private, clean, included all of the amenities, and more, we were within walking distance of the park, museum, and downtown. Thank you so much David, Drew and Mary Ann Pritchard

  • Submitted: 19-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not relaxing and unclean

  • 2 of 5

I have stayed at this property before and the place was well kept and clean. This time, it was not very clean, the floor was filthy and the washing machine had mold growing all inside of it. The dryer was filled with lint from all of the previous occupants who don't keep it clean and I was a bit scared to use it as that is how fires start. The worst part is that as a busy professional I only get 2 weeks of vacation per year and Dave decided to work on his unit in front for the entire two weeks. Most days I got woken up at 6:30 am by cement pourers, pressure washeres, , drills, sanders, etc. And this went on all day. I was not able to relax or even sleep in until 8 am. And he wsa just preparing it for another VRBO for his own pocketbook. Very inconsiderate. The only reason I gave it 2 stars fwas because of the awesome location but the entrance is through a junky alleyway.

  • Submitted: 11-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My goal is to enrich people's vacations, not to be a big negative. True: I was nearing the end of a three month remodel of my house and on some mornings I didn't stop the contractors from starting early. I should have. And yes, there was work during other parts of the day. Cleanliness? I had the same cleaning crew as the first two times J and A were guests. Apparently I didn't do a good job of quality control. I'm sorry this was a negative experience. A refund will go in the mail this week.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Great stay in lovely loft

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time that I stayed in the loft & enjoyed the whole experience. The location is fantastic & I enjoyed taking my grandchildren to the near by park.

The owner provides lots of equipment for outdoor activities & has helpful suggestions for restaurants & amenities.

It is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Submitted: 30-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Cindy. Enjoy your new home. David Groth
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place

  • 4 of 5

Great location. Minutes walk to downtown. Arrived late and had to leave early so unable to enjoy the kayaks and bicycles.

  • Submitted: 5-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love this place

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here 4 times now, will be back next summer. The location

Is fantastic. Having a garage is the best, you can bring all your toys.

  • Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wish I could give a 2 star rating and keep the secret to ourselves!

  • 5 of 5

But that would be bad karma For sure because this is an amazing place. Located a short walk to the beach an town it is I the perfect spot. Well done loft with quality finishes all around. Comfortable with everything you need to cook or BBQ. Quiet area, great deck for morning coffee or evening dinner.

David was a thoughtful host and we hope he looks us up when he is in Boulder.

  • Submitted: 8-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.05 Miles
Fort Ground Grill
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
CdA Public
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.05 Miles
Fort Ground Grill
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Silver Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
At the end of the street...
Nearest Point of Interest
Ironman Start
Nearest Point of Interest
Downtown Coeur d' Alene
Nearest Point of Interest
Fort Ground Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Centennial Trail
Nearest Point of Interest
Tubbs Hill
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Capone's Pub and Grill
Car: not necessary

Silverwood Theme Park is 25 minutes away.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation apartment rental in Fort Grounds, Idaho

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
May 25 2018 - Sep 30 2018
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$33.17
Cleaning Fee C$152.59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner