Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Casa Lily - 2 bedroom Beach Apt in custom built home, 3 min to Playa Zicatela

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights


About the property

2nd floor, 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment close to the beach

This 2 bedroom, 2 bath 2nd floor apartment with private terrace is a hidden oasis in the best part of town. WIth attention paid to every detail and lovely staff on hand to help, you will love your time at Casa Lily. Relax by the garden in a hammock under the shaded terrace or lie by the pool in the tropical garden. Our location is great - off the main street but just a few minutes to the beach, shops and restaurants of Playa Zicatela. Perfect for an early morning surf or a beach walk before breakfast. And right next to our favorite local breakfast and lunch cafe - Cafe Delux.

Price includes wi-fi and 2 cleaning services per week. Garden and pool are communal areas for the three apartments to share.

For standard low and high season rates a/c is not included in the price but is available in the bedrooms for an additional fee of US$7 per day per room.

A/c is included for holiday rates.

Please check with us if you have any questions.

More Details

Terri Kahui
Member since: 2008
Speaks english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About Terri Kahui

The property owners came to Puerto 20 years ago after surfing around the world, and built Casa Lily in front of Mexpipe because of their love of surfing this great wave and the lifestyle. Family and friends from Australia, New Zealand and the USA have come to surf here. Their daughter grew up in Puerto and they continue to still love and visit Puerto all year long. It is the kind of rental they themselves would like to come to - luxury and low key relaxation and they hope you enjoy it too.

Why Terri Kahui chose Santa María

Because of the fantastic location the owners bought this property when she was a little shack and added the 2 top floors. Here they could just run down the street and paddle out ...

Casa Lily has ended up being where their family has flown in from all over the world for great times, relaxing family dinners , pool time and being able to completely unwind from the craziness of everyday life.

What makes this apartment unique



Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation apartment rental in Santa María

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Completely surrounded by flowering plants coconut trees palms and high walls to ensure total privacy.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Casa Lily - 2 bedroom Beach Apt in custom built home, 3 min to Playa Zicatela
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews

A wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we walked in the door I knew I had picked the perfect spot. The apartment was immaculate. The grounds and the pool were beautiful and meticulously maintained by Marcela and Leo. Terri was easy to work with and everything went without a hitch. The location was great, close enough to walk to the beach and the restaurants of Zicatela but private and quiet. We rented a car for 2 days just to explore the beautiful area and further away beaches, but a car wasn't really necessary for the whole time because taxis will take you anywhere in Puerto Escondido for 35 pesos. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Casa Lily and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Talking our friends into joining us the next time.

  • Submitted: 30-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charleen Thank you for the lovely review. I will let Marcela and Leo know you mentioned them and the positive feedback .. it goes a long way! It was both lovely and fun meeting you and I hope we see you back. Best of luck with all your plans and all the best for 2018. Kindly Terri
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Looks can be deceiving...

  • 2 of 5

Casa Lily looks great in photos…and at first arrival also looks good. Spacious, well laid out with living room and kitchen on lower level with 2 bedroom / 2 bath upstairs. However, this was our experience: Somehow bugs are getting in…barley slept from getting eaten alive. We have been in Puerto for nearly two months now and have not been bitten like this while sleeping. Also ants everywhere…and red ants too! The living room / kitchen area is dreadfully hot during the day. The sun bakes the tile roof and there is no buffer between that and below so the heat just radiates down. Have not been in a place so hot in the 2 months we've been here. WIFI is weak. Some reviewer said it was good but I can't see how. We have stayed in three other places in the immediate area and all had good wifi. At first the place seems clean…then you notice orange/yellow spray over much of the walls, fridge etc. No clue what this is but it looks gross! Cats everywhere…my wife loves cats but just in case you don’t appreciate cats (like me) you might want to know there is at least three here and one is always wanting in. The bathroom shower water floods the bathroom floor…no idea how to avoid that. And the shower head is awful. $14USD per night to use two bedroom air conditioners is outrageous…especially considering what others charge / or don’t charge. And we wouldn’t even require the AC if the place had proper screens to keep out the bugs so the charge seemed unfair.

Pool is decent but you sort of feel like you are using someone else’s pool as the downstair’s apartment is very close to the pool.

(Further, she wouldn't allow for even a 12:00 check out despite there not being anyone checking in that day. That's helpful eh!)

  • Submitted: 24-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Dave, Dana. While we know it's impossible to satisfy everybody we appreciate your input and I will pass your comments to our lovely hard working staff that I know tried in every way to help you have a comfortable stay. Whenever you feel ready we are ready to send the perishable items, cans of beer, open bags of food and bottles of water etc that you left behind in error, and asked us to mail to you in Zipolite. Thanks for staying ... we gave you a nice review. Have a great year. Kindly Terri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place to stay, rest and enjoy Puerto Escondido

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year we stay at this nice house

It is perfectly located, near the Zicatela Beach

It has everything you need

  • Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property close to beach

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Lily. There were a couple issues, but they were resolved quickly which made the stay much more pleasant. This location is very close to Playa Zicatela (this is not a swimming beach, strictly surfing due to current). There are several restaurants to choose from. The local tour companies are on the main street that runs along the beach as well, which was helpful for us.

One downfall since we did not have a car to get around was to get to a larger grocery store to get supplies for the week. There are several convenience stores close by, but when you have food allergies/restrictions convenience food does not work. We walked at least a mile to the large grocery store and did it by way of beach. It was an adventure! In hind sight we could of got a taxi, but there were 5 of use to fit in a small taxi.

Another downside for us was phones. We have US Cellular as a carrier and could not get any service, even if I wanted to pay additional fees for it. So luckily for the excellent internet in the apartment and emails, I could communicate with Terri. She was very quick to respond.

Terri worked really hard to make sure we had an enjoyable stay and I am very thankful for everything.

  • Submitted: 1-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The property was everything we hoped for!

  • 5 of 5

This property was amazing! Beautiful gardens and pool area, safe and the most amazing, friendly and trustful staff! Marianne and Marcela became our family during our stay and we are very grateful for their kindness and hard work. Terri the property manager came to check in with us several times. She is an extremely lovely human and was so helpful with and questions we had about the area. We couldn't have asked for a better trip and had such a hard time leaving.

Much love to our Casa de Lily family!

  • Submitted: 9-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tracy Thanks for the kind words! Was both lovely and fun having you all stay with us. Marcela and the girls and I look forward to seeing you back in Puerto! Take care Terri
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place

  • 4 of 5

Very nice place, quiet, spacious, well located. The people on site were very helpful with all our requests, and kept the place clean and in tidy. Some of the equipment wasn't working so well (some lights wouldn't come on, TV remote needed batteries, fridge condensation overflowing onto floor)... but only minor things and not enough to spoil our enjoyment. Watch out for mosquitoes, though: they come in easily at night, and some device id needed to keep them at bay. All in all, we would be happy to go back to Casa Lily!

  • Submitted: 15-Jan-2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation apartment rental in Santa María

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Low season 2018
Apr 8 2018 - Oct 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
High season 2018/19
Nov 1 2018 - Dec 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
Christmas holiday rates
Dec 21 2018 - Jan 5 2019
4 night minimum stay
High season 2019
Jan 6 2019 - Mar 31 2019
2 night minimum stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner