Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

"Loved Our Stay"-5. Stars-Kelly; Good Times"-5 Star-Mo; Wonderful Time"-5 Sta

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Gulf View Home, Huge heated Pool: 5 Bdrms+Pull-out double+3 Baths, Sleeps 17

Aquaview an older safe, clean and simple basic rustic 5 bdrm 3 bath Gulf of Mexico view lodge built on 13-ft. stllts for young fun-loving families on Seagrove's ' 'south beach' at 2971 E. County Hwy 30A, Seagrove Beach, FL, has the largest private rental house pool, screened and heated in our little community of old Seagrove d Beach,"

a T-shaped, 40' x 31' (max. dimensions), screened & heated, tree shaded for summer comfort, its straight 40-ft. long lap lanes widening out to include a 16 x 16 ft. stepped toddlers area, w/1 ft. & 2 ft deep zones, before deepening to grade school kids and then standing adult levels.

There is no deep end. Safety is king and diving is not allowed.

Kids clamber up 2 ladders. Parents & grand parents can take it easy, entering and leaving on the gently sloping ramp, no steps, with a long sloping handrail on one side and the pool's edge on which to rest a steadying hand on the other.

Next to the pool enclosure is an open sunbathing deck with/charcoal grill, table & chairs.

A swimmer and water player's delight, Almarito also has a jetted Whirlpool tub in one bathroom, located between two bedrooms. But the front deck hot tub has not yet been set up for use.

Almarito is only 3 dooors from Old Seagroves only fine dining restaurant with a roof top bar and dining room as well as ones downstairs & only steps from the Cow Girl Kitchen breakfast & espresso bar.

Its large sheltered wood-decked ground floor recreation area features an all weather ping pong table, low basket ball net for sub-teens (no slam dunks permitted) and a screened-in & roofed over dining/cocktail patio on its lowest level.

Guests in the kitchen, dining area, living room and front porch on the main living area level upstairs enjoy a broad south view of the gulf whose deep blue color glimmers at solar noon with thousaands of tiny silver sparks of light. and early mornings and evenings watch as the rising and setting sun paints magnificent palettes of color on the clouds above and the sea below. This level also houses Aquaview's 3 baths, 2 newly upgraded, one with a jetted whirlpool bath tub. Parking is available on site for 4-6 bvehicles. This is a good joint vacation spot for several couples or families with kids to gather for holidays, wedding parties & other family celebrations & reunions, special artistic, cultural & athletic events at nearby Seaside or open markets, auto shows etc. in that famed resort's central amphitheater.

We do not change our pictures every time we replace worn out or damaged fabrics or items It'sa safe, simple clean and very basic modestly furnished vacation home designed for a young family seeking holiday fun at a budget price. You should not come here looking for the comforts of a city dweller's year-round home, or a chic resort villa, despite this house's location between new 'showplace' homes in luxury resort villages like Seaside & Water Color west of us & Water Sound, Alyce Beach, Rosemary Beach & others east of us. For these very good reasons Almarito is priced thousands of dollars lower per week than those fancy newer houses, many without gulf views, with the same number of bedrooms, to say nothing of its over-sized swimming pool, screened & heated to up to 90 degrees F. all year round at no extra charge to you. But you have to remember in booking it that Almarito is such a bargain because I had it built 35 years ago using budget materials and it is a very basic house with 1978-style sheets of wood paneling on the walls, only moderately priced kitchen appliances, basic low cost furniture, and no antiques, fancy paintings or luxury touches except the huge pool and the fun jetted whirl pool tub between the 2nd largest queen bdrm and the tiny bunk bedded (single over double) children's room between that bath and another bathrm with a conventional bath tub with no jets.

I went for more bdrms, therefore smaller, for use only as very small sleeping places for vacationers eager to get outside into the sun and surf, or heated pool or play ping pong.

PLEASE NOTE: We have brought many improvements to this property, including a massive air conditioning reducting operation which has increased cool air distribution to every room. And we continue to improve every facility, acting often on our guests' suggestions.

The treetop level gulf view dining room & bar upstairs accommodates only 10 of the home's 17-person capacity for sit-down meals & parties, but are supplemented by the sofas & love seat, chairs around the living area & outside on the front porch overlooking the Gulf.

But potential guests who can't handle stairs should look elsewhere because, to secure our gulf views, our principal floor is elevated 13 feet, with 2 flights of stairs to total 21 stairs, to provide ocean water views framed by overhanging magnolias & mature oaks overlooking the surrounding village. We are right on coastal highway 30-A with its 16-mile adjacent bike path carrying cyclists safely across our coastal lakes on their own bikes-only bridges.

Old pine floors & wood paneling throughout give a warm cozy feeling to the L-shaped living/dining room area surrounding the open kitchen facing a breakfast bar & adjacent dining table lighted by gulf view sliding glass doors.

Wi-fi for multiple computer users, a 32' flat screen HD-TV with TiVo/satellite & net channel selections as well as DVD and VCR, + stereo, furnish music & entertainment while 2 sofas (one convertible to a dble bed), side chairs & an arm chair + games + puzzles enhance fun times together.

Each of the 5 bdrms has either an adjoining bath or private sink/vanity where Dad can shave mornings without tying up a full bathroom or diapers can be changed at midnight without walking down the hall to wash up. All 3 Queen bedrooms now have modernized connecting baths w/showers, 2 w/tubs, one of those with whirlpool jets, in the upgraded east side bath.

Besides its updated connecting bath, the 3rd Queen bdrm also has HD TV, a vanity cabinet w/basin for make up, wash up and/or shaving.. One bdrm with a double deck bed (full double size bed at bottom & single on top) connects to 2 of the 3 baths.

The largest Queen bdrm, with an additional double bed, is excellent for parents with a young child or children the couple may want to have sleeping close by (or a place for an insomniac to doze at a distance from a loudly snoring partner) and has a TV and private bath with tub/shower. Some families bunk 4 or 5 or more small kids in this master bedroom. The children's bdrm next door has (2 double bunks, sleeping 4 total) & a vanity+sink in-room for convenience.

Aquaview's full size washer plus a large 7 cubic ft dryer rated by Maytag for a capacity of up to 18 towels, are down in the main laundry & ironing room on the ground level, between the pool & the covered play area with its ping pong table, sheltered on its wood floor deck from the rain by the house above it.

Aquaview overlooks the Timpoochee Trail, an 18 mile bike & jogging path that parallels 30A & facilitates a quick & easy bike ride to the beauties of nearby Grayton Beach State Park.

Crossing signs, zebra stripes, a traffic bump and flashing lights protect the pedestrian/bicycle crossing in front of our driveway to slow and stop passing vehicles to provide quicker pedestrian access directly from our front door to the convenient public beach entry path point kitty-cornered across our street and then just steps to the west from Aquaview.

A short drive takes you to Sandestin with its big outlet mall featuring New York's finest shops and, even closer to Seagrove, brand-new swank multi-screen cinema with dine-in 'Ovation' screening room, plus another Giant Screen projection room. And more eateries, water parks and entertainment, are nearby to east & est, including more multi-screen cinemas, including deep sea fishing boat departures most days from nearby Destin harbor and, in the other direction, the amusement parks & City Beach's Pier Park.

Contact Scott by phone or e-mail if you have any questions or need help with anything, and for pictures & details about my 5 bedroom 4 bath gulf front house, Chez Mireille, vrbo 253008, just a few blocks up the street, also in Seagrove Beach for family reunions as well as weddings, and only steps away in the other direction from the famed Seaside Gulf resort with its chic shops, art galleries and more people friendly night life.

The Almarito property manager no longer resides on the Aquaview lot. But SkyRun Vacation Rental, Scott and/or our full time handy man Todd welcome your calls (we answer everything that rings, screen no one out, only miss calls if we on another line), devote our time to only two houses and react promptly to your calls for information or assistance.)


Keywords: HUGE GULF VIEW! Mermaid's Delight, gulf view main floor kitchen, dining/living room & front porch. Old Seagrove's largest private pool, screened, heated free year-round, T-shaped 40 x 31 ft w/shallow stepped toddler play areas 1 & 2 ft deepq + inside whirlpool bath tub next to 2nd master bdm. Nearby gulf beach access; Weather-proof wood-floored kids' play area under house. Roofed ping pong area; Fly Southwest, No baggage charge, to ECP, Panama City, Fla., or fly Delta to ECP or to VPS, Fort Walton Beach, Fla.; Mom sleeps in & everybody eats out at breakfast bar/coffee shop 3 doors east, lunches & dines at the classy Whiskey Bravo bar & restaurant w/gulf view roof terrace for long lazy brunches a quarter block east. Leave your car parked, have a glass of wine at dinner at Whiskey Bravo's friendly bar, mix, mingle, then walk home to bed or for a romantic moonlight swim in Almarito's heated pool

More Details

Scott Bruns, owner.
Member since: 2009
Speaks english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2018

About Scott Bruns, owner.

My Aunts, uncles and cousins began enjoying these white sand beaches shortly after World War II and began buying in the 1950s when the pavement on 30-A stopped before you got to my aunt's house at the end of that road, where it died in a field of scraggly bushes until years later when bridges were built across Eastern Lake and Western Lake and Seaside was built even later.

My Mom bought her house, just south of and adjacent to Aquaview an older safe, clean and simple basic rustic 5 bdrm 3 bath Gulf of Mexico view lodge built on 13-ft. stllts for young fun-loving families on Seagrove's ' 'south beach' at 2971 E. County Hwy 30A, Seagrove Beach, FL, has the largest private rental house pool, screened and heated in our little community of old Seagrove d Beach,"

a T-shaped, 40' x 31' (max. dimensions), screened & heated, tree shaded for summer comfort, its straight 40-ft. long lap lanes widening out to include a 16 x 16 ft. stepped toddlers area, w/1 ft. & 2 ft deep zones, before deepening to grade school kids and then standing adult levels.

There is no deep end. Safety is king and diving is not allowed.

Kids clamber up 2 ladders. Parents & grand parents can take it easy, entering and leaving on the gently sloping ramp, no steps, with a long sloping handrail on one side and the pool's edge on which to rest a steadying hand on the other.

Next to the pool enclosure is an open sunbathing deck with/charcoal grill, table & chairs.

A swimmer and water player's delight, Almarito also has a jetted Whirlpool tub in one bathroom, located between two bedrooms. But the front deck hot tub has not yet been set up for use.

Almarito is only 3 dooors from Old Seagroves only fine dining restaurant with a roof top bar and dining room as well as ones downstairs & only steps from the Cow Girl Kitchen breakfast & espresso bar.

Its large sheltered wood-decked ground floor recreation area features an all weather ping pong table, low basket ball net for sub

Scott Bruns, owner. purchased this house in 1978

Why Scott Bruns, owner. chose Seagrove Beach

It's right in the middle of Seagrove Beach, the real Seagrove Beach within a half a mile or so of State Road 395, which sits up about 30-40 feet above the gulf, and nearly that much above the surrounding areas, where you can look out at the second sandbar and enjoy being enclosed and protected by the bigger and more fully grown trees which, small as they may appear to visitors from afar, are often more than fifty or sixty years old and protect our houses from the winds of some of the fiercest hurricanes, the visual pollution of some structures built with more concrete than taste, and also shelter us from the sound of passing vehicles unless we are foolish enough to cut them down.

What makes this house unique

My favorite spot at Almarito is the year-round heated pool with the screen to keep the bugs out at cocktail hour, before I go up to the roof top deck to watch the golden orange sunset, or after I come up from the beach on those sturdy gray splinterless composition steps (which never heat up to burn your feet in the sun) at the end of the path diagonally across the street from the end of Camellia Street, right next door.

Sure, I sometimes take a cup of tea or something stronger in a glass when I sit in the screened and roofed over raised ground level recreation deck watching the teen-agers play ping pong on their dry sheltered play deck when it rains.

Not many homes at Seagrove give the kids in all age groups a completely private, wood floored play area to enjoy safely in inclement weather.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is to notify guests that Almarito, which today has a different "look" than under a different manager, now gone several years, with reducted air conditioing & new compressor, continues to offer the largest private rental house pool, 40 x 31 ft, in "Old Seagrove Beach," Fla., screened against insects, its deck rebleached white & thoroughly scrubbed each week & always between guests, heated all year round to up to 90 degrees, if so desired, at no extra charge to its renters, still provides its earlier excellent view from its dining room, living room, kitchen & front porch, of the beautiful blue Gulf of Mexico,sparkling at noon out to the horizon with diamond like flecks of light, and, later, reflections in the clouds above & on the surface of its waters, of the myriad colors cast on them by the rising & setting of the sun, weather permitting, & call the attention of prospective guests to the two 5-star and one 4-star favorable reviews headlined on earlier client "review" pages as, "Fun at Almarito," ""Good Times," and "Tree House Beach House" praisinig Almarito as being perfect then for young fun-loving outdoorsy families, posted both before (2 of them) and after (the other) an outdated 2011 blog by a guest guest then refused thousands of dollars in refunds he demanded not to criticize the house with photos taken 4 years ago under different management, these 4- & 5- star reviews testifying how well Almarito then continued to meet the needs of those not handicapped by their inability to climb stairs and/or their desire for luxury accomodations not to be expected at Almarito's bargain basement cost thousands of dollars below prices charged for the new 5 bedroom 3 bath gulf view houses (but many without even a gulf view or private or heated swimming pool) in neighboring luxury resort villages to our east and west.

We prefer that those seeking a citified luxury home with "fine furniture and fixins" not tie up with their reservations our house, leaving it for cost concious consumers preferring not to divert extra thousands of dollars from paying tuitions and other vital costs, people who won't gluily sit inside & upstairs, rather than going outside into the gulf, enjoying with their children the comfort of a heated pool on the coolest nights, or shooting baskets and playing ping pong on the wood-floored playdeck downstairs, sheltered from the weather by the house above it, or badmiinton over a net strung up in the backyard.
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Seagrove Beach, Florida

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 17
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Also wash basin w/well lit 'star' type make-up mirror.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Also wash basin & mirror.Next to 'Queen' bdrm 2
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Shower is over whirlpool tub. Also corner wash basin.
  • Four out of the five bedrooms, all the 'couples' bedrooms, with either queen or double beds, adjoin bath rooms. The fifth bedroom, a children's bedroom with only single (2) beds, has an in-room wash basin with hot & cold faucets.Another basin is in a queen bedroom which also adjoings a bath with shower stall, basin and toilet, giving couple there 2 basins for simultaneous use.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , Adjoims both full baths, one w/jet whirlpool tub.
    Bedroom 2 - 4 bunk bed , A wash basin with hot & cold water is in this room.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , HD TV. Adjoins ba w/Whirlpool jet tub/shower, basin, toilet.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , HD TV. Adj ba(shower, toilet, basin) + 2nd basin in closet
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double , In living room Flat screen HD TV, TiVo, VCR, DVD, gulf view
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double , HD TV, DVD, VCR Adj. full bath w/shower n/tub+basin+toilet
  • 3 Queen size Bdrms, all w/new sat. HD TV svc. All 3 Queen bedrms + double bedrm adjacent to baths/showers, 2 of thm w/tubs. the upgraded e. side bath w/jetted whirl pool tub+shower & frmer hall bath upgraded w/roomy shower stall adj. queen bdrm. Dble Beds: 3 - 1st dble bed in NE cor. bdrm, betw. 2 full baths w/shwr & tub, one a whirlpool. 2nd, in largest of 3 Queen bdrms. U can turn this big master bedroom into a dorm. bunking 4 kids or 5 or more small children...or provide roomy refuge for the sleep deprived partner of a thundering snorer in the queen bed to get a few hours dream time at the other end of the room. Perfect for parents of a sick child or one whose sleep time must be watched over by a breathing monitor, or one who craves parental attention when sleeping away from his/her usual cozy bed at home. The 3rd double is fold-out sofa bed in living room with exclusive overnight access to 32 inch flat screen HD-TV, TiVo, etc, and adjacent to moonlight view of Gulf of Mexico from wrap around porches. Twin or Single Beds: Four single beds in 2 upper & 2 lower buns in nw corner children's bedroom with its convenient wash basin for cleaning up kids or for Mom to wash self and baby while or after changing diapers. Child Beds: 2 avail. Guests can order cribs (or child booster seats for dining room) by contacting Scott in advance. Baby Cribs: 2 available on timely advance request. Sleep Sofas: One, double size convertible bed in living room provides view through wide double paned french doors of rosy pink dawn skies and, to those early to bed in winter, eastern sky reflections of the panhandle's golden orange sunsets into the sea. Occupants have exclusive overnight use of new 32-inch flat screen satellit HD TV, TiVo, DVD player, etc., ready access to the beautiful full moon view of gulf from tree top level front porch.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
We might supply among the best TLC of any private rental house in Seagrove, a 5/6-day a week handy man on call for only 2 houses managed by owner of your 5 bdrm 3 bath lodgings with its sea, sunset & sky views, ready to fix most problems, familiarize you with the area & direct you to nearby attractions, and to call in help for you when needed, all the more attentive because not distracted like a big agency by having to look after guests in a dozen or dozens of other houses. When not actually on scene, manager or owner or handyman conscientious in answering yr phone calls or calling back when U telephone & find our line is busy (we pick up all calls;don't screen.) Phone us after we personally welcome you to attend to those familiarization difficulties such as where to find the corkscrew, which switch controls which outside light, how to deal w/the grill or what to do if a light bulb won't illuminate (It's probably an outside floodlight whose photo cell keeps it off during daytime.)


3.2/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

35% Complete
23% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
35% Complete
"Loved Our Stay"-5. Stars-Kelly; Good Times"-5 Star-Mo; Wonderful Time"-5 Sta
average rating of 3.235294 based on 19 reviews

Great stay & Great location!!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was exactly how described in the description, it isn't as fancy as some other houses in seaside but it's a great bargain and all the appliances work fine!!! Also the pool was huge and the environment around the house was beautiful when the weather was good, there's plenty of trees which allows for some privacy from the highway and the heated pool was great when the ocean was too cold to swim. Also, couldn't have asked for a better location, it's right on 30A so it's a two minute walk from the beach and you can overlook the oceanic view from the upper balcony. I brought my daughter as well and she loved the downstairs environment which is outdoor and contains a sitting area, basketball hoop, and a ping pong table that connects to the pool walk in too. Overall, this house is a great bang for your buck and offers plenty of things to do and is quite spacious for big groups plus it's great for rainy days and bad weather! We loved it and will definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: 28-Mar-2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You said it all and did it veery well. We welcome those who did as you did, read our description, read our caveats, studied our photos and decided you wanted this tree shaded low cost clean and safe vacation home with its huge heated year-round and screened swimming pool, living/dining room, kitchen and front porch view of the nearby gulf and easy nearby access to its white quartz crystal sand beaches, and its wood floored roofed over downstairs play area with ping pong table,, low subteen basketball net and screened cocktail patio and protected play area for toddlers provide the essentials for a young fun-loving and athletic family vacation area by the sea.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 5

Tree House Beach House

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in what we came to call our "Tree house beach home"! You are up IN giant Magnolia trees- hidden from busy 30-A. We stayed with 4 adults and 6 kids. There were beds aplenty- and two giant tubs for bathing all those sandy beach bodies. My favorite was the one straight up the back steps- we would shower them off by the driveway- and run them up the back steps straight into the bathroom. The pool area is HUGE and super fun! Heated and shaded- so no matter what time of day-- even in the rain- the kids could swim. There is a tent for the parents to sit under if it is raining ;) Pool is fenced and can be secured so the kids could not enter without an adult. I think a shady pool is so wonderful on 30- A for a UV break. But if you needed more sun- the roof top terrace over looking the ocean was spectacular. The steps are right off the kitchen and we took multiple meals up! The hot tub was also a huge hit. We turned the temp down and had late night dance parties (bring your ipod speakers) and gave the kids glow sticks to play with in the water. The stairs are also gated to keep young ones from going up without supervision. When we sipped morning coffee the kids would pop downstairs for ping pong and play in the fenced bottom floor. Is Almarito shiny and new? No! But it has above and beyond the amenities for a full and happy stay. It is unique and special! One of the nicest things was also the location. The beach (short walk) was almost private because it is surrounded by small homes- not a hotel, or condo in sight. But it is a fast walk or bike ride to amazing restaurants. We rented cruisers for our entire stay and just loved never driving. Almarito is also very close to the Publix for emergency Cheerios and milk runs. The home was cool throughout- very efficient AC. Upstairs and downstairs washer dryers made it easy to keep the sand out of the towels! We would absolutely rent it again. My husband and I both thought it would be a crazy fun Spring Break stay for ten or so college kids. We found the home owner to be very responsive to our questions- we never had concerns. Don't pass this one over just because it's not shiny and brightly colored :) The beach is for having fun- and this home has it!

  • Submitted: 4-Aug-2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We have had a whole series of young and enthusiastic families here this summer, which are the kind we are happiest to see come to Almarito, whose stairs present difficulties for some of our older guests, whom we advise to consider all factors and to remember that we advertise bargain price accommodations for young families looking for a relaxed and easy-going totally informal and worry free vacation time at the beach and most definitely not seeking extremely new luxury homes with expensive paintings on the wall and/or brand new fine furniture replaced every single year and/or expensive antiques, like some that one can find in our more expensive neighboring resort villages where the summer high season price of a five bedroom house with a gulf view, especially any with a heated screened private pool, especially one as large as ours, if any exist, can run up to two to five thousand dollars more per week than the cost of renting our safe and clean, but modest beach house, which I had built when my own kids, now grown, were young like the children of this young couple who so enjoyed Almarito. Every year we continue to add more special features for these young families who like to have a good time and allow their children to play in a wood-floored roofed area sheltered from our occasional rain storms. During the past three years, routine annual upgrades have included rerouting much of our fresh a/c cooled air and return air duct work and routine age-based replacement of our a/c-heat pump compressor, and improvement steps have included the installation of the gulf view hot tub & sky deck, upgrading all 3 bathrooms & replacing the conventional tub in the full bath adjacent to one of the queen bed master bedrooms with a jetted whirlpool tub. These steps further our efforts to make Almarito into a warm water soaker's delight with the combination, in one property, of one conventional bath tub and one jetted whirlpool type tub in 2 of the 3 inside baths, plus a gulf view jetted hot tub outside on its own 3rd floor level front deck, plus the largest swimming pool in old Seagrove, 40x31 ft. shaped like the letter "T," with a square tiered 1-ft. & 2-ft shallow area for toddlers in the stem & a 40-ft lap lane across the top, the pool screened and heated summer as well as winter, with THREE MORE WARM JETS (!) over a pool ledge, with an outside sunning deck and a charcoal fired barbecue grill for cook-out swimming parties.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 7

Would not recommend

  • 1 of 5

We knew this place was not fancy but too many things broken, AC did not work but 3 days out of the 7, pool stopped heating half through rental time, broken furniture, bathrooms broken facets & handles, shower curtain old would not keep water in, washer leaked on floor had to have towel down to soak up water, refrigerator shelves broken, burner on stove broken, could not see the beach from front deck due to over grown trees & bushes. Parking difficult with several cars. Saw roaches crawling on walls while in bed, not as clean as it should have been when arrived, had to clean showers & tubs before we used....had difficult time getting people out to fix AC & pool. Needs a lot of work! Think twice before renting.....

  • Submitted: 21-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: (1)-Another A/c was installed ASAP to replace one cooling fine on guests' arrival thru first 3 days, then failed suddenly, unpredictable for any piece of machinery. No surprise and not owner's fault that in blazing hot summer the a/c and pool repairmen were too busy to respond promptly. THE HOUSE HAS A REPLACEMENT COMPRESSOR NOW. (2) Can't understand how complainant didn't notice 8 or more parking spaces, 3 in street numbered parking places out front, 4 in 80 ft long driveway, and 1or 2 or more in 60 ft back yard. (3)-Waterproof shower curtains don't leak if visitors put bottoms inside tub or lip of shower base. (4)-House advertises Gulf view, not Beach, view, and wide expanses of gulf easily observed (see photo) from kitchen living/dining room and front porch. Beach view never claimed because beach lies at base of 35 ft cliff, impossible to see for someone as little as 15 or 20 yards behind that cliff. (5)-Bugs entering house from nearly subtropical Florida growth outside quickly killed by Orkin, best & most expensive, local pest control svc, paid annually in advance thru each February. Orkin can't poison everything outside, killing all south Fla. bugs until they enteer in huge numbers when doors are left open while occupants go out for a long swim, perhaps a careless visitor who doesn't know to keep shower curtains inside the tub. Orkin speedily responds with no-charge emergency treatments if live bugs are found in house. (6)- We replaced manager who failed to make some necessary repairs. Since there are so many misstatements about the placement and other facts about this house and no one named Cindy D. ever registered there, we belive this review a ringer written by a competing agent or owner who has never been in the house and but knows from a former mutual tenant we had to change our a/c compressor this year and that a now departed manager failed to make some repairs his final month working for us..
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Athens, Georgia

247383,Almaretto, Seagrove Beach

  • 1 of 5

This place was terrible.. Whole house made with clapboard & lattice.. Couches and Beds dirty and stained.None of TVs, DVDs, etc.worked. No cable or internet. The owner was rude. And lied about everything. Some people got cut on glass at pool.grills didn't work. Whenever you ask maintenance or owner they gave you this long excuses.Example; no cable because owner in dispute with cable company. My advice; go somewhere else.. Worst vacation ever spent.

  • Submitted: 9-Jul-2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
22 0
Nashville, TN

wonderful time at the

  • 4 of 5

We are having a wonderful time at the “Almarito”!. We have a group of 4 adults and 9 children (ages 6 – 17) who have vacationed together here on the coast for many years albeit in separate small units. This year we chose to all stay in one large home. “Almarito” was a great choice as we prefer casual / rustic environments where we don’t have to either pay a lot or worry about the kids wrecking something.

Contrary to previous negative comments, Almarito is accurately portrayed in the photos and descriptions. We would describe it as a “quirky, rambling old place”. It is rustic, but the important things that should be new and clean, certainly are. The bathroom fixtures and fridge are spotless. The linens are plentiful and clean. There are indeed LOTS of stairs –but those stairs serve a great purpose ----- to get you to the super high “sky deck” (awesome!!!) - No better place to sit and ocean/sunset watch in all of Old Seagrove. The views are even great from the main living area (2nd floor) as the homes on the Gulf side are one-story. What a location!

We have used the heck out of the large pool, as being situated under mature trees, has made for a comfortable place to swim in the heat of the day. Please note that even though the pool is good for “grandparents” as the owner’s description states – this place in general is not geared toward that demographic due to the stairs. Laid back families with lots of kids, though, should find this place well suited to their needs. There are lots of gates and attention paid to making this place small child-friendly.

Our week here has had quite a few stormy days, but there has been plenty to do and places to be on the property, thus avoiding cabin-fever.

The manager, Arlene, has been incredibly attentive. Please note that this is an OLDER home so….. sure, there are little things that either didn’t work right or we didn’t have, but she was immediately responsive, even providing convenience items like a plunger and some extra silverware. Of course it is nice to have a home where everything works perfectly, but you will pay double for it. We are a casual, laid back group that appreciates “vintage”, so this has been a perfect place for our vacation.

PS – the A/C works fine.

  • Submitted: 15-Jun-2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your note, Brad. Yours is the type of group Almarito was intended for, people with the same approach as I had when I had it built way back in 1978 for my then young family as a simple beach cottage with enough bedrooms for us to sleep in while we spent most of our time at the beach, before I added the biggest private rental home swimming pool in old Seagrove, the gulf view hot tub, the 360 degree star gazing sky deck, the 5th bedroom & the extra 2 tons of central air conditioning capacity plus 4 extremely silent emergency units (you only hear rushing air, with no engine noise at all), retired 2 years ago, not needed after we replaced aging distribution and return air ducts & on permanent. We prefer no inquiries at all from people who book the house and block out for months other potential customers from enjoying Almarito, who then arrive & demand a refund because they dislike all the stairs on this high stilt house & then decide to make up a list of complaints in to try to justify demandin a refund of their advance payment, particularly unappreciated since some showed up without making the mandatory 2nd half of their initial advance payment in the first place. We prefer you to others like that group trying to get their stair refund by saying the house is dirty after arriving 3 hours early & (the second half of their group, who made the stair complaint despite all the stair pictures on our web site), insisting on moving in against our advice that the house cleaning was not completed or inspected yet, or who testify that the a/c techs were wrong when I & the techs saw the temperature was dropping after their pre-rental tech service call, & the a/c techs said the a/c was running great, as you reaffirm, as well, was the case when you enjoyed your stay. Let the others go to newly built 1-story houses in more chic resorts -- of which there are plenty nearby with prices, in our size range, but only for up to $2,000 or $3,000 more per week --but few,if any, with pools of our size, probably none screened and shaded by trees as ours, with, in the same residence, both that gulf view from the interior & a higher deck with a hot tub gulf view, and a higher sky deck....up more stairs...with a 360 degree view of the entire night sky. It's an oldie, but a goodie, & I am glad there are so many reviewers, like you, who appreciate these homes with "character" which are not budget busters, but truly beach cottages where you can be laid back and relaxed.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 11
Petal, Mississippi

Consumer Beware (Mississippi and Tennessee)

  • 1 of 5

Viewing this house on the internet, it looked rustic, but met our needs. I called prior to rental and asked about the poor reviews dealing with the air conditioning units and was told the units had been replaced. When we arrived the owner informed us the A/C just went out and assured us the unit would be fixed immediately. We said that we could not stay in a house without A/C and he said "Of course not". We unloaded and left to visit family and eat while the A/C was being worked on. Upon returning 3 hours later, we were told it had been fixed and give it a few hours to cool off. After 2 hours of no significant change in the temperature, we immediately began looking for other accomodations, but were there during Memorial Day weekend, so everything within an hour drive was booked. We spent our first several hours at the house having face-to-face and phone conversations with Arlene, the manager, and Scott, the owner. Arlene was very helpful and trying to accomodate us as much as she could. Scott was a completely different story. We were offered the old window units and told we would have to install them. He showed me where they were and told me how to do it. They were in a storage unit, with a lot of stuff piled on them, looked very heavy, and we would have to bring them up at least one flight of stairs to get them into the house. After still no luck finding a hotel room, we resigned ourselves to the fact that we would have to stay the night and leave the following day. We called the family members driving from Tennessee and told them to get a hotel since they have 3 small children. As we prepared for bed, we discovered there was no hot water in the home. Once people decided to get into bed, we found the sheets and pillows were dirty, (stains and gritty at the foot of the sheets). My aunt had been in her bed reading and moved one of the pillows and found men's pajamas under the pillow. About 4 a.m. the temperature finally reached 72 degrees. About 7:45 a.m.,Arlene was able to find the problem with the hot water heater, and we did get hot water. We thought everything would be okay until mid-morning when the inside temp began climbing. Scott was not accepting of the fact that the home was uninhabitable, refusing to give us a refund. There is not enough space here to tell the rest of the story dealing with that. Unsanitary, uncomfortable, disappointing! Furnishing in the house is not what was in pics. DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE-updates needed!

  • Submitted: 3-Jun-2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: VRBO should reject as violation of posting guidelines this review because reviewer threatened to post "terrible" Almarito review if we didn't refund the full rent (which she had not even paid) for the house. She told the owner and the mgr she would "go away quietly" if she got the money. But this Feb. 28 reviewer made advance payment of only half the rent, cleaning fee & taxes to pay us to hold reservation, then forfeited that payment April 29 by abrogating agreement by withholding payment of the 2nd half due 30 days before occupancy to maintain her contract and be able to enter the house after we carried out our obligation to set our calendar to block her dates to any other candidates for 2 months. The reviewer arrived 3 hours before check-in time & owner, unaware she hadn't paid her full rent, said the house-wasn't completely cleaned or inspected & he was expecting techs shortly to service the a/c. She demanded access to leave bags inside before lunching. Arriving in a different car after reviewer left, an older aunt complained "nobody told" her the house had "so many steps." Reviewer had booked the multi-story stilt house on a web site with text & pictures of its tree top livng spaces, 4th floor sky deck 3rd story hot tub, one shot of staircase above staircase above staircase, hence full knowledge 3 months earlier of all stairs. After reviewer returned & techs serviced a/c and found it "running great" (we have their service report) reviewer complained aunts had found house she & aunts entered early without fully paying for & before cleaning & inspection were complete was dirty & said then she would move out then (says so in review) except could find no other lodgings because of Memorial Day. When the tenants said the house they entered early & uninspected had no hot water we turned it on and it worked fine. The a/c company supervisor later told me the techs told him they observed the a/c lowered temp. at normal rate & I checked thermostat & saw after a couple of hours it had already lowered temp. 8 degrees.(Despite techs' & boss's statesments review lies, says temp didn't drop significantly ) Next day tenants packed early, having decided the night before, according to the review, to leave. In my absence to see if a/c on, temp. rose, but then held steady when I stayed in house w/a-c on. It continued to operate fine. Current tenants fully satisfied w/house & a/c. So reviewer cheated us out of half rent because of stairs shown on 5 web site pix.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
24 1


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Emerald Coast Beaches(ECP) + Valparaiso (VPS)
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Whiskey Bravo, w/rooftop bar partal view of Gulf
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Rosemary Beach
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Crestview - New Orleans - Miami train.
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
U.S. 98 closest, then I-10, twrds New Orleans. Jax
Nearest Restaurant
60 Metres
Whiskey Bravo, with Gulf View tables on rooftop.
Nearest Beach
60 Metres
Beach stair access path diagonally across street
Car: not necessary

For horsemen and women, and their show riding children, a dressage trainer is based in the nearby resort and fishing port of Destin,Florida.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Seagrove Beach, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Early Summer 2018
May 26 2018 - Jun 29 2018
7 night minimum stay
July 4 week
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
Mid Summer 2018
Jul 7 2018 - Aug 10 2018
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer 2018
Aug 11 2018 - Sep 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall 2018
Sep 3 2018 - Nov 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2018
Nov 17 2018 - Nov 25 2018
4 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Nov 26 2018 - Dec 21 2018
3 night minimum stay
Holidays 2018
Dec 22 2018 - Jan 2 2019
4 night minimum stay
Winter 2019
Jan 3 2019 - Mar 6 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pool cleaning C$226.25 + Tax
Cleaning C$479.12 + Tax

Monthly = 28 days in winter months. No refunds for utility service failures so long as owner has paid due service bills, temporary equipment, fixture or appliance breakdowns when owner has promptly called for repairmen, spare parts if needed, ordered replacements when necessary, or prepared alternate arrangments (such as supplementary a/c if main unit temporarily out of service.)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties