Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Beautiful and by the Beach - as Affordable as it Gets!

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

My wife, two year old son and I live in this property and rent it out whenever we travel.

The villa has three stories, and a beautiful view of a tropical garden with palm trees swayed by a refreshing ocean breeze.

For families with children the garden is particularly convenient, as the community is gated and children can be left to wander safely.

The villa is only 3 minutes away, by foot, from the nearest beach and a 1 minute walk from the community´s shared pool. There are two more beaches: the public municipal beach (4 min. walk) and that of the Embassy Suites Hotel (6 min. walk). Each one is unique in its own way and deserving a visit.

The place is quiet and peaceful. Truly, an excellent location to relax. The area is very safe and has constant vigilance from private security guards who are always doing the rounds and helpful with questions and needs that might arise.

In the municipal beach, there are beachfront restaurants were visitors can usually enjoy tropical music concerts on the weekends.

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Hector Cruz
Member since: 2009
Speaks english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 12, 2018

About Hector Cruz

I am a study abroad programs manager. My wife, 1 year old son and I live in this property and rent it whenever we travel. My favorite things to do here are reading in the hammock hanging in the balcony, cooking barbecues, and -amidst guitar music- enjoying drinks with family and friends.

In the picture, my sister Ivette Marie and myself. She will be the one greeting you at the villa and helping out with whatever you might need in Dorado.

Hector Cruz purchased this villa in 2008

Why Hector Cruz chose Dorado

Several reasons led me to buy this property. The town of Dorado is considered by most Puerto Ricans as one of the prettiest, cleanest, and most well-kept in the island. For that same reason it is home to many of finest hotels and golf courses in the island. In a addition it is only a short 30 minute drive to San Juan, making it very accessible to amenities in the capital. Safety was another major concern, and in that regard, the community is hard to top. Lastly, the peace and quiet that characterizes the environment makes it ideal for getting away from everything.

What makes this villa unique

One of the best features of this location is how close it is to almost anything you might want or need. Forgot one ingredient for the recipe you were cooking? Feel like renting a movie and staying in tonight? Want to dine out? Want to go shopping? All of this and more is only 5 min away by car.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation villa rental in Dorado, Puerto Rico

Property Type:
  • villa
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • First floor - toilet
    Second floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Third floor (master) - toilet , shower , Recently remodeled
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 king , These are two twin beds that are joined to form a King bed.
  • There are two additional rooms (my home office and the baby's room) that remain closed during rentals. Use of these rooms is not included in the rental agreement.
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

47% Complete
47% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful and by the Beach - as Affordable as it Gets!
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 17 reviews

It is a very spacious comfortable place.

  • 4 of 5

The listing description is very accurate, it accommodated 3 families with plenty of room to spare. The property is a bit outdated and it was not as clean as I expected, but once I cleaned the bathrooms and the kitchen to my liking I was pleased. The owner is great at answering all your questions before booking. His sister is the POC once you arrive and she is an absolute jewel, she is incredibly helpful and very customer service oriented. I would definitely recommend this property to others and will be willing to book it in the future. I would have given them 5 stars except for the fact that the key issue is very annoying. There is only one set of keys and one control for the gates, we had 3 rental cars and one of us was always inconvenience having to let the other ones in. The good thing is that since the beach is so close, the walk to let others in was not so bad. The property is within 5 minutes to supermarkets and places to eat. Katrina's and D' Angelos restaurants have awesome seafood. Service at D Angelos is way better than Katrina's. Every thing is close by, we spent one day in El Yunque, another day we took the ferry from Catano and went to old San Juan to name a few. I want to thank the owners for allowing us to use their property we had a terrific time!!!

  • Submitted: 18-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Clara, Thanks for your kind words. I apologize for any inconvenience. Regarding the key issue, we used to hand two keys to the guests, but unfortunately one of them lost the second one and since we have been trying to get the administration to give us another one. Hopefully next time you stay it won't be a problem. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A place to relax

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I came here to relax. We had the beach only 3 minutes away walking.

This is the perfect location to have a romantic get away or bring the family. With enough space for everyone's to sleep and with quiet neighbors you will feel at peace.

The area is very secure and gated.

You are only 30 minutes from San Juan and all the wonderful things it has. Going to other areas of the island is easy to with a great highway system that is very close to the house.

I recommend this location to anyone going to Puerto Rico.

Price is excellent too.

  • Submitted: 11-Jun-2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

The Perfect Vacation Villa!

  • 4 of 5

Recommended for both friends and families looking for a great vacation. Everything you can ask for in a vacation home, spacious and comfty. The owner's were very friendly and very helpful which defintely makes your vacation less stressful. The pool and beach are both at walking distance and very clean. Once exiting the community the super market, fast food restaurants and walgreens are around the corner.If your looking for a luxury home than this is not a place for you but if your looking to relax be comfortable, and feel at home, look no further!

  • Submitted: 11-Apr-2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tatiana! Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Dorado Villa just right!

  • 4 of 5

We just arrived from our vacation in Puerto Rico and we had a wondeful time. We chose this villa for it's location, size and price. The owner, Hector, is very nice and easy to work with. The villa was comfortable for the three families that shared it and had all what is needed for a week long vacation or longer. It is in a gated community so you will need a fob to open the gate. This you will receive from the owner's sister once to arrive on the island. After the initial gate, the villa itself is in another gated area that needs the same fob to open. It only a 2-3 minute walk to the beach and the pool is close also. The decor is simple but inviting and all the rooms were clean and comfortable. It is located in Dorado and is convenient to many interesting locations. San Juan is only about 30 minutes away which made it easy for us to get to the beach in Carolina and Pinones which is right down the street. Route 22 is nearby so you can go East or West with ease in case you wanted to visit Cueva Ventana, Cueva del Indio and the Observatory which are all near Arecibo, The beautiful beaches of Manati are also easy to get to. On the main road that takes you the entrance to the villas and to the Embassy Suites you'll find things we are used to in the states: Burger King, McDonolads, Payless, Starbucks, CVS, Walgreens and other stores in case you needed to purchase something. The only one regret that I have is that I could not stay longer.

  • Submitted: 29-Mar-2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words, Rafael. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Dorado! Kind regards.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Calgary, Canada

The paradox of value lives in this Village

  • 3 of 5

Value certainly is the best way to describe the Villa. It is comfortable, everything works in spite of age and worn out looks, can accommodate a lot of people and has many amenities within the complex and near by.

If you are looking for a place to sleep with a large family and with everything included (A/C, microwave, stove, washer-dryer, TV and even a BBQ) look no further. If you are looking for luxury or a hint of it, this is not the place for you. Although equipped, the villa is showing its age and its utilitarian style is without any pretension of being something else.

The Good:

The villa has everything you may ask for except perhaps a large oven

Pool, beach, food, bar and other amenities at walking distance. Beach is clean and average for PR. Plenty of restaurants near by

Friendly neighbors will try their best to make your stay comfortable and show everything PR has to offer

The not so bad, not so good:

Every appliance is extremely dated except the fridge which sometimes makes you wonder if you will get electrocuted while operating

Luxury, or pretention of it is not a raison d'etre for this property. It shows "this is for rental purposes and nothing else" all over the place

Security Guards are sometimes annoying with many and often conflicting rules. i.e.: I have one guard that had the pretention that I will use the BBQ (coal) inside the house because it was not permitted to be used outside the property (fire code and smoking out of question)

Two very long stairs to reach the top floor. This property is NOT for people with motor disabilities

No A/C in all areas only in bedrooms. Auxiliary room in master bedroom also without A/C

Ceiling fan in living room not working or if working unable to change speed

Be ready to crank $30 for parking (not included)

What you want to forget or to forgive:

Some power plugs are loose and some corroded which makes a case for small kids and electricity chock fearsome adults

Large oven in the stove was condemned

Some cockroaches in the cabinets which were (by the way) nevertheless dirt

TV works but DirecTV is something that you need to pre-pay and somehow make work

Only one set of keys and one fob for the parking gate

Owner's sister was only contact in PR and she was not very interested in our status or even the property status

  • Submitted: 15-Feb-2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments, as they help us improve the quality of the property on a continuous basis. Since your stay, we have added new doors and an inverter a/c unit in the master bedroom. We are also working on replacing the plugs and upgrading the appliances. I am very surprised to hear you had to pay $30 for parking, as the parking fee is only $10 for up to 5 days and $15 for 6 days to a month (unless, however, you had 2 cars, which would make it $15 each.). I apologize for the inconveniences, and I am glad that overall you found the property to be a good value.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Sitio plasentero

  • 5 of 5

Recomiendo el lugar para el disfrute familiar sin importar la edad. Lugar seguro y tranquilo. Con piscina y playa, casino y lugares de jugar billar. Disfrutamos los cuatro dias de estadia. Los dueños son super.

  • Submitted: 29-Jul-2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation villa rental in Dorado, Puerto Rico

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$13 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee C$13.18 per person per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties