Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cozy Log Home in the Woods

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This hand-crafted, custom built log home sits on 17 heavily wooded acres, yet is conveniently located between Bloomington and Nashville. At Back to Nature Cabin you will experience year round spectacular views of the State Forest and an abundance of wildlife.

For the outdoor enthusiasts, there are neighboring horse trails and hiking trails through Yellowwood State Forest, and Lake Monroe and Lake Yellowwood are nearby for you to rent a boat or go fishing. Back to Nature Cabin is the ideal place for your honeymoon, family vacation, girls' weekend, or for a vacation with friends.

Come "Back to Nature!"

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details

Owner
Peter Sharp and Suzanne Sharp Tatro
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Peter Sharp and Suzanne Sharp Tatro

Designed and hand built by the owner

What makes this cabin unique

Nestled back into the woods...very secluded! Bordered by the Yellowwood State Forest. A 15 minute drive either way from the village of Nashville or the city of Bloomington, IN. Also, 15 minutes from Indiana University, Bloomington.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We had the best time, and I'm not

exaggerating when I tell you it was the best Thanksgiving I've had since I was a

kid. I feel nice and relaxed and wonderful. I was so pleased at how well kept and

supplied the cabin is. I brought half my kitchen with me, just in case, and didn't

need most of it. We had a lovely meal and my whole family is grateful for your

hospitality."
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Bloomington

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
36% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
Cozy Log Home in the Woods
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews
4

Log home in the woods

  • 4 of 5

We stayed over the weekend with our 3 children. The log home was spacious and cozy. There are two bedrooms below with bathrooms that were perfect and a bedroom on the main level with bathroom with separate shower and jetted tub. We had everything we needed.

The pilot light was not lit on the gas fireplace so we were unable to use it and there was an issue with wasp. We killed a total of 16 wasp with a spray that was left under the kitchen sink. When I called about the wasp, I was told by a gentleman that he was on his way out of town and really couldn't help us. There were also mouse dropping in the cabinet, namely the one with the coffee filters, as there were dropping in the filter package. I understand that this is a cabin out in the woods, but I think my only advice in making it better would be to hire an exterminator.

  • Submitted: 4-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Raquel, We are happy you enjoyed the layout and amenities of the cabin! We are glad you felt it met the needs of your family vacation. Thank you for alerting us to the "mouse in the house." We have already attended to that situation and have it under control. We are so sorry you had an experience with wasps. This is the time of year that they start to move again, so we always try to keep wasp spray under the kitchen sink for our guests to use if needed. Peter did try to phone you back several times, but was unable to reach you. This is unfortunate, as he could have also talked you through how to turn the pilot light back on. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced but we are pleased that, overall, you had a nice stay with your family! Sincerely, Peter and Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful secluded cabin!!

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed are stay. The accommodations were relaxing with fireplace and hot tub and surrounding deck area looking out into nature. We also enjoyed the location near the state forest and being able to walk down the road and onto the park trails. So quiet and refreshing!!!

  • Submitted: 18-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Girls trip

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed the location of the cabin. Beautiful layout. The bad thing was... There were wet towels left in the dryer and the kitchen cabinets inside were very dirty. Overall a 4

  • Submitted: 25-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your four star rating, Julie! We are pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your visit. Sorry about the towels in the dryer...we manage and maintain four log cabins and a Bed & Breakfast (Peter's,) so sometimes it gets hectic around here and human error occurs. :) As for the cabinets...we located the two cabinets with some sugar and spice spills. Some of our guests enjoy cooking while they are here and bring their own supplies, so we will try to be more mindful of what might be left behind. Thank you for the heads up! Sincerely, Peter and Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very clean and well maintained.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and sister and her daughters stayed here this weekend. The place was very clean and well maintained. We were not in the cabin too much as 14 other family members were camping at Paynetown Campground which is where we spent a lot of time. The place is very secluded but was close to several things to do. We will definitely consider this place again for other family get togethers.

  • Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would welcome you back, Lynne! Thanks for your comments. It's convenient that this cabin is only 20 minutes from the Paynetown State Recreation area, right? Glad you and your family had a good time together! Peter and Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent Getaway Spot

  • 5 of 5

I rented this cabin and it comfortably slept 8 guys for a weekend of grilling out and going out in Bloomington. The cabin has a pool table and a hot tub, and the kitchen has most of what you need to cook and grill just about anything. It's quiet and secluded and the owner is a top notch gentleman. I highly recommend this place and plan to go back.

  • Submitted: 10-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great meeting your crew, Brad! You were good guests and fun guys! Thanks, Pete
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great cabin!

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time in this cabin during a wedding weekend recently! Easy to navigate to, just remember to take it easy on the winding back roads that lead to the cabin and you'll be a-ok. Very spacious with multiple decks and common areas to hang out in with a well equipped kitchen. The hot tub was our only disappointment as the jets only half work.

Great price and friendly owners! We enjoyed it so much we're thinking about staying again in the late fall.

  • Submitted: 16-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments, Beth! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back in any of our cabins. We are looking into the problem you mentioned with the hot tub jets. Thanks for the heads up!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Bloomington

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2018
Mar 1 2018 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$289
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$39 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer, Fall & Dec. 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Dec 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$315
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$39 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2019
Jan 1 2019 - Feb 28 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$276
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$39 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2019
Mar 1 2019 - May 31 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$289
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$39 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer, Fall & Dec. 2019
Jun 1 2019 - Dec 31 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$315
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$39 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$315
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection C$75.78
Tax Rate 12.0%

SPECIALS:

Stay two week nights and get your third week night FREE! (Pertains to Sunday through Thursday; excludes weekends, holidays and the month of October.)
WINTER SPECIAL: Stay one night during the week in January or February, and get next night FREE! (Excludes Friday and Saturday nights.)
Stay 6 nights and get the 7th night free!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties