Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Lion's Gate Getaway- Lush Setting Overlooks St. John & Tortola

Bedrooms Studio
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Studio, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-2)

Lions Gate Getaway is a private studio apartment in a lush, tropical setting, humming birds share your 270 degree view of St. John, Tortola and Red Hook Harbor. In just a few minutes you can walk into Red Hook for shopping, dinner, drinks and night life or catch the ferries to St. John and the BVI.

The spacious porch is a perfect way to enjoy your first cup of coffee or to sit back in the evening and watch the colors change over the islands with a cool beverage in your hand as the breeze passes by.

My husband Chris and I have lived on St. Thomas for over 20 years. He came to dive, I came to sail. We met and discovered we both had a love of the water and the Caribbean life style. Chris built this house on the top of the hill, and now we have expanded it to accommodate guests in our apartment that captures the Caribbean life style. We look forward to helping you enjoy your vacation in any way we can. Just ask for local tips on restaurants and activities.

Keywords: Studio Apartment

More Details

Maxine Lavitt
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2018


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation studio rental in Red Hook, Virgin Islands

Property Type:
  • studio
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Lion's Gate Getaway- Lush Setting Overlooks St. John & Tortola
average rating of 4.857143 based on 63 reviews

A Great Replacement for the Ritz (April 2018)

  • 5 of 5

Originally booked a year in advance for 4 nights at The Ritz & 5 nights at the Marriott Frenchman's Cove. IRMARIA had other ideas, The Ritz was closed and they cancelled our reservation. We love the Redhook area & I did a lot of research on a replacement property for my wife & I. Lion's Gate Getaway fit the bill perfectly. The views from the huge wrap around porch are simply spectacular, we spent hours out on the porch looking out over The Ritz, watching the ferries come & go & enjoying the sunrise. Seven months post hurricanes & the vegetation was very lush & well maintained by Max & Chris. The shower is huge probably 6' by 6' with a nice bench that my wife says we now need at our house. One hint, we had a rental car, don't think that it will be easier to back down the driveway. We brought our friends over to see the views and thought we would just back down. Big mistake, if you get off the raised pavers it is tough to get traction. Luckily, Chris came to our rescue and directed us out before we almost took out his beautiful gate. We still want to try The Ritz one day but we would definitely stay at the Lion's Gate Getaway again.

  • Submitted: 23-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brian, Thank you so much for staying with us. We love our view and location and I'm so glad that you did as well. One thing that is going to happen is that we are widening our driveway this summer. So no more backing down but in a pinch Chris is always there to help. Thanks again and I hope to meet you again Maxine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely more beautiful than even the most beautiful pictures could offer!

  • 5 of 5

We drove our jeep up the steep road and were thankful we had a jeep but more thankful we chose lions gate for our week of solace! You will live up in the trees with the flowers, birds, clouds and sunshine! What an amazing retreat this was; we will never stay anyplace else on St. Thomas! Disappointed that we couldn't sail with Max due to the weather but it is a must during our next trip!

  • Submitted: 8-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi It was wonderful having you as my guests. I was disappointed that we couldn't go sailing but the weather just didn't cooperate. I'm so glad you loved the view and all birds as much as I do. It's just so nice to wake up to nature all around you. See you next time and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Max
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Max and Chris are awesome. I will be here next time!

  • Submitted: 3-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I want to thank you Shane for enjoying Lion's Gate the way I do. Gazing at the view with the breeze. Some days it is hard to get off the porch and enjoy other parts of the island. We can't wait for you to come back. And thank you for leaving the apartment in such good shape. It was move in ready when you left. Thanks again Max
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect island top retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We spent two fantastic weeks at Lions Gate. Maxine and Chris have created a beautiful island getaway right at the top of the hill in Red Hook offering perfect views of the ocean, neighbouring islands and city below.

For our entire stay we had no car and got around just fine. Red Hook has everything you need just below our retreat, all the popular bars and restaurants, as well as groceries, shops and the Ferry. It’s a fairly easy walk down the hill (approx 10 minutes), walking up is quite a bit tougher though, we were fine with it, just stopped when needed and carried on. Only took taxi up hill (approx $5 plus tip) from Red Hook below a couple of times as we had groceries or a lot to carry.

It was nice to be greeted daily by our Ambassadors Louie and Nelson, they reminded of our own dogs, and Maxine and Chris couldn’t have been better hosts. They checked in from time to time with us to make sure everything was good, plus offered us much valuable information on all aspects of the island. Maxine also graciously offered us rides down the hill etc. if she was heading that way. My wife and I would definitely stay here again should we return in the future.

Thanks Maxine and Chris for all the memories!

  • Submitted: 17-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The pleasure was all ours having Geoff and Nicole stay with us. The most considerate guests anyone could ask for. They set a high bar for the next visitors. I hope they come back to back in the sun and avoid the of the North. Thanks so much for staying with us Max and Chris.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing view

  • 4 of 5

You can’t beat the views ! This location in Red hook is great, close to everything you may want or need. Beaches, the ferry to St John, restaurants, grocery’s, and snorkeling.

Maxine and Chris, the owners are wonderful. They were very attentive to any question or concern, they are very friendly and very interesting people.

Their place is more than just a rental, it is a home. Cozy, comfortable and welcoming. We had a great time.

Thanks Max and Chris

  • Submitted: 3-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved having you. I hope you consider this your getaway in the tropics when winter gets to be just to much. It was great to be able to reward your patience waiting for us to get power with a stay in the cottage. Thank you for taking such good care of it. All the best Max
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not a very good experience.

  • 1 of 5

We were very unhappy with our stay because of the following:

There was an ongoing roach infestation, even after we were assured that it was taken care of.

The owners dogs ran free and came in our room and on our porch, helping themselves to our food. We love dogs, but felt they should have been controlled. It was also annoying to hear the constant barking and growling between the two.

Privacy was nonexistent. The husband was working constantly, right outside our door. My wife stepped in spilled varnish, with her bare feet, and we realized he was using our chairs for step stools. The wife was also right outside our door when he wasn't.... Walking dogs that are not leashed and trimming bushes. I feel that maintenance should have been completed at times while guests are not there.

The bathroom has a glass block wall in the shower. We came home one afternoon and wanted to take showers after swimming in the ocean. That was not going to happen for my wife, as there were guys working on the outside of the shower. We should have been notified of the planned construction project. And yes, you can see through the glass block.

The kitchen is lacking many things, if you want to cook. We ran out of propane the first night, but the owner did take care of it the next day.

The driveway is crazy steep and is dangerous at best, for guests to negotiate. Cabs would never bring you home and walking is not a good option either. We had a rental car, but a hair raising experience every time we came or left.

On our last day, we were allowed to check out by 11am, but left around 9am. My wife was greeted that morning by the husband who asked "When are you leaving"

The owners, did give us wine for the roach problem.

We felt like we were intruding and a pain to these owners.

  • Submitted: 30-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry to hear that they had such an experience. I would like to address a few of the issues they had. Gas bottles do run out, it's a shame there isn't gauge on them, we switched it over as soon as we knew. The exterminator comes once a month and came that very day and they die, sometimes not in an out of the way location The apartment does have doors to separate it form the rest of the property. This has never been a problem but I am grateful for any concerns and will take care of it. Since the hurricanes there is always work being done. Because of that I gave a discount for their stay. The island is steep and every road, driveway has it's own characteristics,. I only wish they had spoken to me about issues they had as I would have taken care of everything. If anyone every needs anything I am on property and can get it for them. Again I feel badly about their experience and wish they had talked to me. Please read other reviews as other guests did not have the problems these guests did.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation studio rental in Red Hook, Virgin Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$64.43

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties