Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

FRONT Corner Unit - One of four - Real Direct Ocean Views

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Condo with 1 Bedroom - 1 Bathroom - plus sofabed

Exquisite luxury condo in recently renovated Art Deco Historic Building, The Carlyle.

1250 Ocean Drive (corner of 13th Street) – one block from the Versace Mansion and The Tides – at the center of Ocean Drive restaurants and night life.

The Ocean Front apartment has a spacious living/ dining room area with a separate bedroom and bathroom. All rooms have ocean views.

This is one of only two Carlyle units with corner views over Ocean Drive and 13th Street.

Living Room has a plasma TV, DVD, free WiFi and exceptional ocean views.

The Carlyle is Perfectly Located: Located in the heart of South Beach's restaurants, nightclubs and shops. Steps to the Ocean. Shopping on Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue (one block away). Trendy Lincoln Blvd is a short walk north.

The Carlyle has Beautiful Amenities: Durazzo countertops.

Nickel-finished Art Deco style plumbing fixtures.

Subway-style tiled shower with Italian tile bathroom floor.

Miele kitchen appliances with Subzero freezer/refrigerator.

In-unit washer and dryer.

24-hour lobby security guard.

Parking available in public structure across 13th Street or valet.

More Details

David Strouse
Member since: 2008
Speaks english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2018

About David Strouse

Welcome to our vacation home! we love South Beach and come by in a monthly basis. That allow us to take meticulous care of our beloved property. Spotless clean is fundamental to us.

David Strouse purchased this condo in 2008

Why David Strouse chose Flamingo / Lummus

We met in South Beach, on the beach, and have always desired a second home here. The Carlyle has been our perfect vacation home, which we visit every six weeks at least.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation condo rental in Flamingo / Lummus, Florida

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • soaps basic
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • One bedroom one bathroom. Queen sized sofa bed in living room.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • alternative lifestyle
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Luxury condo well maintained. Please no extra guests or parties allowed. Concierge will call owner and charges may apply. Two people ONLY.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
1% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
FRONT Corner Unit - One of four - Real Direct Ocean Views
average rating of 4.75 based on 52 reviews

Perfect location in South Beach

  • 5 of 5

Overall had a nice stay at David’s condo. Check in was pleasant and straight forward with Lillian. The property was clean upon arrival. Location was ideal, right on Ocean Drive in the heart of South Beach! Surprisingly noise wasn’t really a factor despite the location. Would have liked to be able to open the windows but understood reasoning behind their policy. The condo came equipped with basic kitchenware such as coffee maker, some cookware, etc (though all we actually used was the coffeemaker). Also had a few beach towels available for use. Would recommend!

  • Submitted: 12-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. Please visit again. David and Marcelo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saugerties NY

Perfect condo!!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in this beautiful condo multiple time! Best location! Perfect condo! Love the views!

  • Submitted: 14-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. Please visit again. David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and simple design.

  • 5 of 5

Loved the location. The windows were surprisingly quiet and allowed us to sleep while the nightlife continued just outside.

  • Submitted: 4-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. Please visit again, soon. David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing stay!

  • 5 of 5

I never really write reviews but here I am. I stayed here for spring break and this wonderful spot really contributed to my overall Spring Break experience. It's seconds away from the beach, spacious, and has such a comfortable atmosphere. I recommend staying here for sure. 10/10

  • Submitted: 27-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Saint Paul, Minnesota

Good accommodations, perfect location, great price

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here the first week of March 2018. You really couldn't ask for a better location. The condo was lovely, and a really great value! Just two things: 1) It's not the most comfortable bed, and 2) the bathroom could use a bigger/wider mirror. But neither of those things will keep us from trying to book this again for a future visit. Oh, and Lillian is wonderful. Thanks, David and Marcelo, for sharing your place with us!

  • Submitted: 17-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. The best to you both!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Awesome location but very poor conditions inside

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I stayed the 3rd week of January 2018. Below is a brief summary. Please know that I have never written negatively about stay before.

1). We read in an earlier review of a guest that stayed in this unit in late 2017 that the toilet made a “blood curdling scream” when flushed. We didn’t pay attention to that comment but for your benefit you should if you want to sleep. Not only does the toilet make an alarm sound due to faulty and/or old plumbing but the tank leaks which causes the toilet “alarm - blood curdling scream” to go off periodically all day and night which is the most bothersome if you like to sleep.

2) The family/TV room furniture (sofa and two chairs) are very dated and as a result is heavily stained and reeks of odor. Even if you put towels on them the cushions are so spent it is like sitting on the wood frame.

3) When we arrived the “clerk” at the front desk told us they was a problem!!! Turned out the previous renter damaged the backsplash mirror behind the cooktop and it was in place but completely shattered. She said that a contractor was supposed to arrive and replace that day so we said no big deal. Turned out that was not accurate and when I checked on our third day I was told that there was an issue with the contractor. This prevented us from doing any cooking.

4). If you want to watch the little dated tv or use the dvd be prepared to manually operate them from the device as all of the remote controls don’t work.

5) The bed is also very dated and is tough to sleep on if your are used to comfortable mattress.

Bottom line is this beautiful building in a excellent location but it has a least one unit that has not been maintained and the owner is obviously not advertising these issues. He also does also not advertise the very high cleaning fee or the very high security deposit.

To make matters worse I contacted him via email to let him know how disappointed and dissatisfied based on the above and he asked me to call him to discuss. I called him and he immediately went on the attack accusing me of lying and trying to scam him for requesting a credit due to the above.

Do yourself a favor and even if you have to spend a little more find something else!

  • Submitted: 2-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry your visit was not perfect. As Lillian explained, we had only 24 hours earlier discovered the enormous damage caused by the prior guest. Lillian offered to find another apartment; you said the inconvenience was ok. Everything you mention has been corrected. It simply took time You told me over the phone AFTER your stay that 'you had not yet written your review' and that you expected a 100% refund.' When I refused -- since you had made no complaints during several conversations will Lillian -- you responded with an expletive. It is clear why you have never written an unfavorable review; other owners probably acquiesced to your subtle threat.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Miami International Airport
Car: not necessary

Heart of South Beach - Ocean Front Property

Other Activities: Beach, Nightlife, Restaurants


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation condo rental in Flamingo / Lummus, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jun 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeper's Fee C$131.36
Property Damage Protection C$78.29
Refundable Damage Deposit C$132.69

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner