Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Walk to Hiking Trails, Ski Slopes, Festivals, Restaurants, & Other Events

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhouse, 3BR (2+loft, Sleeps 6)

Clean, Comfortable and Convenient!

This nicely appointed White Oak townhouse, within the gated community of Wintergreen Resort, is a CLEAN, NON-SMOKING, NO PETS unit that accommodates up to six guests, equipped with new mattress sets throughout (plush and pillow top). They all have very nice protective covers too.

This is also our 2nd home, so we take great care to have a clean and comfortable place for our guests and ourselves. It is not packed with personal items though. We want you to feel at home!

Located on the mountaintop in Wintergreen Resort. This three-level unit offers lots of privacy for you and your fellow travelers.

WINTERGREEN RESORT is a 4-season resort. The home is adjacent to both hiking trails and ski slopes.

A short walk to trails, ski slopes, Mountain Inn, special events, restaurants, bar, and convenience store. Enjoy the proximity of the slopes without the noise of the snowmaking machines! There is secure outside ski storage.

In the Winter, after a day on the slopes, relax in front of the fireplace. In the Summer, enjoy Lake Monocan for swimming and boating (Sunday-Friday).

The FREE fireplace wood is located in front of the unit.

For your convenience there is a full size washer and dryer in the unit, as well as an ironing board and iron. All linens are included and the kitchen is fully stocked with equipment, dishes, cookware, and utensils.

Renters should bring consumable items with them.

There are a variety of activities: hiking, skiing, spa, ice skating, swimming, paddle-boating, canoeing in local waters, fly fishing lessons at the resort, tennis (Stoney Creek), snow tubing, paint ball, video gaming, mini-golf, skateboarding, and more!

Keywords: Hiking, Townhouse, Condo, Loft, Ski, Skiing, Apalachian Trail, Shenandoah Parkway, Snow

More Details

Owner
Jim Van Cleave, Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 18, 2018

About Jim Van Cleave, Owner

Wintergreen was chosen as our second home because it is an amazing 4 season resort with much to do for an active family that enjoys the outdoors. We live in southern VA and Wintergreen is a quick trip to the mountains to escape the summer heat!

Check out our other vacation property; listing #1123028.

Jim Van Cleave, Owner purchased this townhome in 2006

Why Jim Van Cleave, Owner chose Wintergreen

The slopes and other activities are a short walk from the home. This particular neighborhood has very few rentals, offering quiet and privacy. The White Oak condos at Wintergreen Resort are the ONLY condos/townhomes at the resort without shared floors/ceilings, allowing you to vacation without noise interruptions from neighbors. With sleeping quarters on 3 levels, it offers a lot of privacy for guests traveling together.

What makes this townhome unique

35 miles of hiking trails for all ability levels within the resort, plus resort adjacent to the Appalachian Trail and Blueridge Parkway. Area attractions include Crabtree Falls, Paul's Creek natural stone waterslide, and Sherando Lake.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation townhome rental in Wintergreen, Virginia

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master Suite
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Main floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , LOFT
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1) 3rd Bedroom is a LOFT over the living room area
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Internet access requires personal hot spot using the renter's own carrier service. This is not separately provided.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Walk to Hiking Trails, Ski Slopes, Festivals, Restaurants, & Other Events
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 18 reviews
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5

WOW! We could have not been more pleased with our stay in this beautify and cozy mountain retreat. The experience began with the warm welcome from the owner Christie, she ensured we were having a great time and informed us of activities in the area we could take advantage of. We literally said WOW when we walked in to this beautify appointed home. No detail was left out. The home was clean, the beds were so comfy it was hard to get everyone up and moving in the mornings. We will definitely be back. I would love to be here in the fall too.

  • Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

horrible

  • 1 of 5

My review, we stayed at this property on May 25, 2018 to May 28, 2018 (Memorial Day Weekend)

We planned this trip for a while and was excited to leave Rhode Island and travel to the beautiful mountains of Virginia. We did a lot of research and found the Wintergreen Resort. We called the resort to try to get reservations and it was booked up for Memorial Day. I decided to check VRBO website and found your townhouse that had three bedrooms and advertised your amenities and location. So, we booked it, we arrived early on Friday May 25, 2018.

We walked into the townhome located at Wintergreen Resort. We immediately were disgusted with how filthy it was. There was somebody shirt left in the couch along with rips and tears everywhere, under seat cushions there were cheese nips and crumbs, carpet stains, holes in carpet, holes in walls, broken doors, broken mirrors. We started trying to reach to the owner, as we were putting our grocery away. Refrigerator was warm, stove didn’t work, no remote control for television. Stove was so disgustingly dirty and mattress were gross. We finally reached the owner while searching for other lodging option with no available because of the holiday weekend. We also found out that we would have to pay 25.00 a person to enjoy the facilities there because you never mentioned that to us.

Owner told us we should leave so she could fix the issues, she could put us up in a 2 bedroom at the Resort but when we called Wintergreen Resort we would have had to come up with the additional cost because owner would not pay. We did not have the monies to do that seeing we have already paid a large amount.

We decided to clean the place ourselves and try to make the best out of a horrible situation. Never received a “I am sorry for terrible cleaning service”. I would never stay here again and may never use VRBO again, because that is where she was listed.

  • Submitted: 1-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: VRBO Owners – BEWARE OF THESE RENTERS These statements are false. This damage does not exist in our home. We did not demand that they leave and we did not decline paying for any difference in alternate accommodations, which we coordinated for them. These renters did not allow access to the place to confirm their accusations and also refused to use the alternative accommodations even though additional amenities were included and there would be NO ADDITIONAL COST TO THEM. Our written VRBO communications during their stay tell the true story. We accommodated an early check in and they arrived early in the day and went to the spa. They became angry about their spa costs and at that point become hostile and demanded money from us. They called screaming and making wild accusations regarding the condition of our home. We have confirmed with the local property manager that these were false accusations. Without any opportunity to respond to their screaming, they quickly started demanding money. Immediately I offered to have the property manager check on things (they declined) and then I offered to place them in alternate accommodations, so they could enjoy their vacation and we could address any issues with the home. They declined. Other equitable lodging was available to them and they declined it after I worked with the resort to provide a place in the same neighborhood with the same layout. Although we are not owned or managed by the resort, I worked with the resort to provide the same at the same rate (we offered to cover the difference). We committed to refunding all of their money if they were willing to move to the alternative lodging in the same set of units. This included amenities for which they had not paid. They declined, because I did not pay for their vacation. They declined an excellent alternative demanding they would remain in our home - even though they claimed it was a horrible place to be. Our home is clean and well maintained, everything works, the mattresses are new and high-end with quality mattress covers, our place is spacious, we are responsive, and we have a 10+ year history of satisfied renters. This couple was looking for us to finance their vacation. They threatened a bad review if we did not pay them. This renter could not be satisfied and left us feeling that we were being scammed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place! Very comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! Christie was so helpful and easy to work with. We would definitely recommend this VRBO. We loved it!

  • Submitted: 20-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning how comfortable the place is. We try very hard to make sure it's cozy and comfortable, without clutter and personal items so that it feels like home for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great time! Cool layout!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this condo. The kitchen is really easy to work in. The master downstairs was very private and we liked the sectional in the living room. The location was convenient to everything.

  • Submitted: 8-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice accommodations,clean and good location.

  • 4 of 5

It was comfortable for 6 adults, though only 1 person at a time could work in the kitchen. It still worked for everything we wanted to cook. The location was great and we could have even walked to the slopes if it were ski season. The owner was great for providing information and responding to questions. We would look into staying there again if we return to Wintergreen.

  • Submitted: 29-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was perfect

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay. Great fall weather, home was comfy and cozy.

  • Submitted: 15-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the "perfect" review! We are so glad you found it comfy and cozy. That is our goal!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Charlottesville, Virginia
Nearest Barpub
On Location (The Edge)
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Stoney Creek at Wintergreen
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Blue Ridge Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
On Location (The Coppermine)
Nearest Ski
On Location (Wintergreen Resort)
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Lake Monocan
Car: necessary

Wineries & Breweries; Paint ball; Skateboard Park; Appalachian Trail adjacent to resort; Hiking for all difficulty levels; see Wintergreen Resort and Nelson County websites for scheduled events.

The DOME is a feature for kids of all ages. Includes: zip line, pool tables, table hockey, mechanical bull, bungee bouncing, rock climbing, video gaming, sports area, air hockey.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation townhome rental in Wintergreen, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$211
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$98.88
Damage Insurance C$77.79

There is a $75 cleaning fee for each reservation. No tax is added to this fee.
HOLIDAYS: Require a 3 night stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable