Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Top floor Kaanapali Ocean View 1 Bedroom plus Twin Murphy Beds

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 65 m²
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom with King size bed + 2 wall beds, 1 Bath, (Sleeps up to 4)

The resort is located on North Ka'anapali Beach. The resort fronts directly onto the ocean. Our ocean view unit is located on the top floor, right in the center of the resort's “horseshoe” configuration.

Our unit sleeps up to a family of 4.

The pictures you see are the unit you would be renting. We only have one unit to rent. The booking calendar and the rental rates are kept up to date. If a date shows as available, then it is available.

Our cleaning fee is included in the weekly rate - there is no additional cleaning charge. There are no "resort fees". The only mandatory fees you may be required to pay are [1] parking at $9/day which is paid directly to the resort (only applies if you park a car), [2] a VRBO "service fee" of 5%+ (applies only if you use their payment system), and [3] a 2% "Non-US Card Fee" (applies only if you use the VRBO payment system and then use a non-US credit card to make the payment). Please note that the VRBO payment system does not show or charge for the 2% Non-US card charge. We will invoice you separately for that.

We can hold dates for short periods while you arrange air travel. Most flights leave Maui late in the evening. Late checkout arrangements at no additional cost are often available, depending on the next check-in.

We require a 50% deposit to book with the remaining 50% due 30 days prior to arrival. Our cancellation policy is to return 90% of any amount that we are able to generate from re-renting your cancelled dates. We do not re-rent the unit on a "reduced rent" basis.

From the balcony you have a sweeping view of the ocean, the nearby islands of Lanai and Molokai, and the tropical sunsets. Below our balcony, the resort's lush tropical garden is filled with tropical birds , a waterfall feature and koi ponds. Two pools provide ample swimming for both adults and children.

A NOTE ABOUT OUR BEACH: For many decades there was always a sand beach in front of our resort. That is no longer the case. Beach erosion has hit the whole west side of Maui and our area is no exception. Winter storms strip the sand away and summer storms bring it back. The beach in front of the resort changes significantly throughout the year.

The unit was completely remodeled and refurnished in 2011. Upgrades included a Murphy Bed unit with two twin size pillow top mattresses in the living room (no more sofa bed), a larger bathroom with a doorless glass and tile shower (no tub), granite counters throughout, new cabinets (lots of storage space), new living room and bedroom furniture (including a King-sized bed), travertine tile floor, two Sony flat screens with DVD players, HD TV cable boxes, computer station, and an X-Box 360. In 2015 we replaced the patio doors, windows, screens, and window coverings. The unit is maintained extensively and looks just as it did right after the renovation.

The kitchen is fully equipped, so eating out is an option rather than a necessity. Beach towels and bath supplies are included.

Ka’anapali Shores is a ten acre resort with a spacious open-air lobby, two swimming pools, two hot tubs, mini-market, beauty salon, activities/tours desk, ATM, DVD rental, beachside restaurant and bar, flower shop, gym, sports-wear shop, tiki torch ceremonies, and beautiful tropical plants and flowers throughout the grounds. There is a large coral reef right off the beach. Consider an introductory scuba lesson, offered daily at the main pool.

From the resort, you are five minutes by car to the shops of Whaler’s Village, the golf resort of Kapalua, and the restaurants and shopping of Lahaina Town. Right across the street you will find a shopping mall with a large grocery store open from 5 am to 2 am, coffee shop, pizza and pasta restaurant, clothing/gift stores, nail and hair salon, and eateries. The local farmers’ market is a 5 minute walk to the north.

We have on-island support for any issues that may arise during your stay. We can also arrange for daily or weekly cleaning at an additional cost.

Keywords: Condominium, Ka'anapali Shores

More Details

Property Manager
Patrick Mahoney
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018

About Patrick Mahoney

Our family lives near Calgary, Canada where Teresa and Pat have both practiced law for over 30 years now (time flies). We travelled as a family all over the world since our first child was 6 months old. They are now both adults. We keep travelling to new places, but always make one or two trips a year to Maui.

Patrick Mahoney purchased this condo in 2010

Why Patrick Mahoney chose Lahaina

We have been coming to Maui for decades now. We tried a few different places, but Ka'anapali Shores has always been our favorite resort.

What makes this condo unique

The view from the unit is one of the best at the resort. The Murphy bed units, instead of a sofa bed, is something we always wished we had for our two children when travelling. Nobody ever wanted the sofa bed. The remodelled bathroom is more spacious than the resort's original design.

Guestbook comments from the manager

A beautiful and serene place to spend the first part of our honeymoon.
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 36

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation condo rental in Lahaina, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 9
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 65 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Cancellation - We will refund to you 90% of the amount we are able to generate by re-renting your dates.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Upgrades include a larger bathroom with doorless glass and tile shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size bed (1) in bedroom, Murphy Bed Wall Unit with two twin beds in living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • porch/lanai
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Top floor Kaanapali Ocean View 1 Bedroom plus Twin Murphy Beds
average rating of 5.0 based on 66 reviews
5

Absolutely wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This condo is everything it is advertised to be. It was wonderful to enjoy morning coffee and listen to the ocean, the birds and see the whales breaching. The condo was very clean and had all the necessary things like towels etc. We appreciated the shopping centre across the street as we landed in Maui very late and did not have the opportunity to shop Costco for groceries when we first arrived. It was very convenient to just walk across the street and grab coffee and groceries before we left on our first foray of the island.

The owner was wonderful to deal with from the time I first inquired about renting the condo and he exhibited patience when I asked questions of him. He always answered my emails in a timely manner and was very helpful with tips etc. Thanks Patrick, your assistance made the trip much more enjoyable as we knew what to expect when we arrived.

I would definitely rent this condo again if it was available.

  • Submitted: 9-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Glad you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing room with a equally amazing view

  • 5 of 5

This property is all it’s advertised and more nestled in the great kanapalli area of Maui you pull up and meet some great people at the resort as soon as you arrive . Get in the elevator at feel like royalty when going up to the ph level . Short walk from elevator to room but not too close that you here people at the elevator walk in to a great room and open the patio and say wow . The first morning looked out and saw whales jumping right in front of resort. The resort is great phenomenal people right from the gate who make you feel like their happy you finally arrived to the amazing people throughout the resort. So many things to do so little time but that’s the great thing about Maui you can keep yourself busy all day long or just enjoy your down time. Rated 5 Star room was great owner provides a binder with all the details of the room as well as a lot of useful tips for the area Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Aloha !!

  • Submitted: 24-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best view in Maui

  • 5 of 5

Everything advertised was in the room. Wall beds are the best, better in my opinion than a sofa bed. Will defiantly recommend to our friends.

Thanks for sharing your condo with us.

John and Lorrie

  • Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear it. Hope to see you again sometime. It takes a lot of visits to see all Maui has to offer. Pat Mahoney Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

As advertised

  • 5 of 5

The location and Condo was everything it was advertised to be. Walking distance to shops and grocery stores. The beach was perfect for our kids and we even saw some turtles. The condo was perfect for our family of 4. Kids used the Murphy beds and actually enjoyed making their beds every day because they tucked away. Thank you Mahoney's for sharing your condo.

  • Submitted: 6-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Pat Mahoney Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very pleasant stay at the condom. Everything is perfect and exceed our expectations!

  • 5 of 5

It was such a nice place for our vacation in Maui. The location is perfect, and the facility is really good. We will certainly come back when we visit Maui next time.

  • Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we will see you again some time. Maui is a great place for a vacation. Pat Mahoney Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to stay in West Maui

  • 5 of 5

This is a great one bedroom condo in Ka'anapali Shores. The condo looks just like shown in the website pictures. It was very comfortable for 3 adults and roomier than other 1 bedroom condos we have used in the past. It was nice to be able to fold the Murphy bed up out of the way in the mornings. The murphy beds were at least as comfortable as a sofa bed would be. They would be perfect for kids. Everything in the condo is updated, very clean and in good working order. The kitchen is well supplied for preparing and serving meals. We viewed some beautiful sunsets from the lanai while eating dinner. Ka'anapali Shores is a nice, well kept resort with a beautiful garden and pool area. The staff at the resort that we dealt with were all very friendly. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on site and had good service and food while enjoying the ocean views. There is a large grocery store within walking distance that we used several times. It is well stocked with anything you would need. We had dinner at Dukes Restaurant, which is a couple of resorts down the beach and within walking distance also. There is a boardwalk along the shore that leads south towards Black Rock that we took our morning walks on with nice ocean breeze and views of the water. Unfortunately the boardwalk is interrupted at the resort next door. We walked through the resort and their parking lot to get back over to the boardwalk. We did not use the beach in front of Kaanapali Shores. The sandy beach is very narrow and slanted in this area and not ideal for sunbathing. We ate at a couple of inexpensive takeout restaurants nearby. Okazuya Deli (which is not really a deli) and Maui Fish Market are both within walking distance and were a nice option for a quick dinner on the way back to the condo after a long day of exploring. We also ate a couple of delicious lunches as Sea House Restaurant up the road a few miles. It is right on beautiful Napili Beach.

The one disappointment of our trip was that the Iao Needle area was closed. I am not sure if this is still a long closure because of storm damage last year or just for the rainy day that we were there, but it was a disappointment after the hour drive to get there. I had not seen any published information of it being closed long term.

  • Submitted: 3-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We try to keep the unit up to the standards we expect when we travel. Our on-island support is very good, which makes our job easier. Our local housekeeper, Cynthia Brown, is really a gem. She goes above and beyond to make sure the unit remains spotless. There was extensive flood damage to the Iao Valley in September 2016. It was supposed to re-open in April 2017. It is not unusual for things on Maui to take longer than promised. It should be open, if and when you have an opportunity to return in the future. I hope you get to see it. Pat Mahoney Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: recommended

Our resort – Ka'anapali Shores is right in the heart of Ka’anapali and all the activities that it’s known for around the world.

A nearby oceanside boardwalk takes you south to Whalers Village, a world class shopping village which has 70+ shops, cafes, and elegant restaurants – you can walk it in 45 minutes along the ocean.

Ka’anapali has the right mixture of sun, rain, and mist to support two golf courses. Kaanapali Golf Resort's Royal Kaanapali Course and the Kaanapali Kai Course. The Kapalua Resort courses are a 10 minute drive north.

Right across the street from the Resort's entrance is a full service grocery/liquor store along with other shops and restaurants.

Ka'anapali Shore is very child friendly.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation condo rental in Lahaina, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Jan 6 to April 15 2018
Jan 6 2018 - Apr 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$310
 
 
Apr 16 to June 9 2018
Apr 16 2018 - Jun 9 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$303
 
 
June 10 - Aug 19 2018
Jun 10 2018 - Aug 19 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$310
 
 
Aug 20 to Dec 20 , 2018
Aug 20 2018 - Dec 20 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$303
 
 
Dec 21 - Jan 5
Dec 21 2018 - Jan 5 2019
7 night minimum stay
C$328
 
 
Jan 6 - April 15
Jan 6 2019 - Apr 15 2019
7 night minimum stay
C$316
 
 
April 16 to June 9
Apr 16 2019 - Jun 9 2019
7 night minimum stay
C$297
 
 
June 10 to Aug 19
Jun 10 2019 - Aug 19 2019
7 night minimum stay
C$316
 
 
Aug 20 to Dec 20
Aug 20 2019 - Dec 20 2019
7 night minimum stay
C$303
 
 
Dec 21 to Jan 5
Dec 21 2019 - Jan 5 2020
7 night minimum stay
C$316
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
C$310
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.41%

You are welcome to use the VRBO payment system if you wish. Be aware of 2 things:

1. VRBO charges a "service fee" of which is a sliding percentage of the amount of the rental and usually amounts to $150.00 or so. They do not show you the fee - it is built in to the amount they quote to you. Paying us via PayPal means that you don't have to pay that service fee. It makes no difference to use which option you choose.
2. When you use the VRBO payment system they charge us a 2% fee if you pay using use a non-US credit card. They call this a "foreign credit card" fee. Again, they do not show it to you and do not include it in the amount quoted. We pass any such charges back to you. We will send you a PayPal invoice for the fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable