Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Seaside Cottage on L.I Sound - Branford,Ct for a Week or More

Bedrooms 1
Space 490 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Saturday is the changeover day for the minimum week long stay, ideal for a couple. Summertime: bask in the sun on the beach, or curl up with a book in the shade on the garden patio. Autumn: walk the shores, or sit by the fire. Spring: enjoy the bloom of flowers and the salt air. Every season has its own delights here on the Connecticut shore.

Halfway between New Your City and Boston, and situated at the back of a cluster of houses at 98 Limewood Avenue, the Ennis Cottage is away from street and traffic noise, but within 200 feet of a private beach. The cottage has been completely remodeled and is tastefully furnished and supervised by the owners.

In a minute one can sit with a panoramic view of Long Island Sound, between Haycock point and Indian Neck, looking out toward Green Island and the Thimble Islands. Fishing and boating are excellent.

A small park within one mile offers tennis, basketball, and a children's playground. A marketplace, liquor store, laundry, and three restaurants are within walking distance, and a larger mall and churches are with a few miles. The Branford Green hosts evening concerts, the Guilford Green that has a five acres of lawn, with Music on weekends, live Shakespeare on stage, surrounded by antique buildings with shops each unique and different from each other. Both towns offer Day Spas, Ice Cream and Chocolate Shop, Gift Stores, Clothing and Shoe Shops, Excellent Restaurants, Historical Homes, (third largest collection in CT) Museums, Orchards that offer fruit picking throughout the season. Local Farms offer Fresh organic produce, and August offers The Guilford Fair c.1859.

15 minutes away come aboard a narrated cruise of the Thimble Islands, 18 minutes north to Clinton Outlet stores, 20 minutes away is the Essex Steam Train & River Boat that can take you to Gillette Castle State Park, or to the Opera House on the river, and 45 minutes you can try you hand at Fox Woods Casino or enjoy Mohegan Sun.

The entire house has been renovated. living room has wall-to-wall carpeting, a new full size futon and a love seat, several chairs, bureau, television, VCR, telephone, cathedral ceiling, wireless internet connection, and stove with gas log.

The kitchen is new and well equipped with gas stove, microwave and grilling oven, refrigerator, pots and pans, dishes, glasses, and silverware. The bedroom has a double bed with drawers beneath, closet, built in air conditioner. Wall-to-wall carpeting.

This is a completely remodeled cottage which is quiet, clean and comfortable. You will love the patio with picnic table, gas grill in the back garden, with flowers all around.

Deposit can be sent to Ron Hekeler at 135 Green Hill Lane, Cheshire, CT 06410 or 98D Limewood Avenue, Branford, Ct 06405

Returning guests use last years rates

Keywords: Seaside Cottage

More Details

Ron Hekeler
Member since: 2001
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2018

About Ron Hekeler

Retired professor and wife enjoying his grandkids, travel and being at the beach.

Ron Hekeler purchased this cottage in 1971

Why Ron Hekeler chose Pine Orchard

We bought in Branford because it was one half hour from our home, had a lovely beach and nice neighbors. We can go into New Haven to the theater, art galleries. Not far from the casinos and all our kids.

What makes this cottage unique

Love clamming, sailing on the Terviseks, swimming. Branford has many excellent restaurants, from really classy to outside patio dining in a marina. The center has a town green which has many activities through the summer, plus interestng shops and stores. We are a half hour ride to the outlet shops. And it is quiet.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just got back from spending a lovely week at Ennis Cottage. This was our first beach vacation with our 9 month old daughter and it was the perfect situation. The cottage was very clean and tidy; the kitchen had everything we needed and we loved spending time in our little private backyard with the grill! The beach was very easily accessed and it was lovely to meet all their wonderful neighbors. We enjoyed several of the local restaurants, especially the Tuesday night 2 for 1 lobster dinner at Lenny's Lobster Shack...not to be missed! Overall we had a lovely time and Ron and Bernadette were extremely cordial! Thanks so much!

Jun 2011
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Pine Orchard, Connecticut

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 490 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • alternative lifestyle
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
new stove and refrigerator, off street parking, private beach within 100 feet.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Seaside Cottage on L.I Sound - Branford,Ct for a Week or More
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 46 reviews
Brooklyn, NY

Such a lovely weekend!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about our stay at the Ennis Cottage. We absolutely loved the location and convenience to the beach and restaurants. The beach is right across the street and there's a great park with a playground nearby. Ron and his family were lovely hosts who were always happy to give us recommendations on things to do. They even had beach toys for our little one! Overall it was an amazing weekend and we can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: 4-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Coastal cottage

  • 5 of 5

Well maintained. Pleasantly surprised to arrive and find it stocked with breakfast supplies and milk! Very close to beautiful coastline.

  • Submitted: 25-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for a positive review. Glad you liked the cereal, coffee and milk. It makes the first morning easier.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glen Burnie, MD


  • 3 of 5

First, I don't understand why I can't get this to switch from I LOVED IT to NOT REALLY above.

The cottage was nice. A few minor issues but nothing that really bothered us. TV is small. Bedroom is small. No tub. No washer/dryer. Doing laundry was expensive. Owner wanted us to open windows and use ceiling fan as much as possible. We would do this when leaving for the day and always came back to a stuffy cottage. But we continued to honor owners request. Parking is tight to begin with - then owner had company and parked cars on the front lawn of cottage- which we had to negotiate around in the dark when returning to cottage at night. Owner furnishes I set of towels, etc per week per person but did provide extra washcloths when we requested. Owner answered phone promptly when we called and came right over when we had a problem with leaky sink.

BUT BE AWARE - TAKE A PICTURE OF THE FURNITURE ARRANGEMENT WHEN YOU ARRIVE - owner kept part of our deposit because two wicker chairs and two small side tables were not put back in their exact location/position - they were in the same room still but not placed exactly right. How petty !!! GET THE OWNER TO LOOK OVER THE HOUSE BEFORE YOU LEAVE- owner also kept part of our deposit because he said "there were coffee stains on the carpet " - we DID NOT have any coffee while there. Owner also kept part of our deposit because "floors were not swept and mopped per agreement." We did sweep, vacuum and mop but obviously not good enough for him. When we arrived - the cabin looked nice and it was nice but after being there - we started to notice things - crumbs under the toaster oven, yucky goop in bottom of toothbrush holder, dust here and there, dirt between walls and furniture, disgusting looking conditioner in shower, tv picture always dark looking and noise from DVD player. We didn't complain about any of this because it was not that big of a deal and we are not petty. But now since owner decided to deduct money from our deposit for the furniture not being placed absolutely correct - for accusing us of spilling coffee and for stating that we didn't sweep or mop - I have emailed the owner with all the small complaints we could have voiced but didn't. I have not heard back from the owner.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: 29-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Generally we overlook it when we have to do a small cleanup after our tenants leave, but when it requires our cleaners extra time to do the cleanup, we will deduct $100. (We used to require a $100 cleaning fee but dropped it as most people leave the place immaculate and I hate add on fees. ) The kitchen floor was loaded with crumbs and sand. The floor had not been mopped: the mop was dry. Whether the stains on the rug were coffee or something else. it required three cleanings before the stains came out. There were chocolate stains on the new sofa slipcovers, and pieces of chocolate on the threshold to the bedroom. The tenants were well aware of the fact that we supply one set of towels to each person. There is a clothesline behind the house for drying towels and other items, but it was not used by these tenants. We have photos of all the problems we had to deal with after they left. And we only charged $75.00 for the cleanup. The tenants were aware that the cottage is small and had no washer dryer and tub. They complained in their review that they had to come back to a stuffy house because of leaving the windows open and the air conditioners off, but did not say that they ran the air conditioners with the windows open which made no sense to us. We work very hard to be accommodating to our tenants. The place is immaculate as one can see by reading all our other reviews. I am sorry that these folks were so upset by our cleaning fee. It s interesting that in the house guest book they left a extremely positive review: "Very pleasant. R says it reminds him of Hawaii. Our stay was calm and relaxing; just what we REALLY NEEDED. Thanks for your "good neighbor" way of treating us. :-) One wish- microwave is so high up - I had to stand on a chair to use it :( But other than that :):):) (we supply a small step stool for the up high cabinets. no needs to stand on chairs.).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Sweet Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Ennis Cottage is everything a couple or single individual are looking for: a soothing and pleasing decor, every convenience, close to the beach, restaurants, scenic walking, private and safe, plus friendly and helpful owners! (Did I mention an awesome ocean breeze when you open the windows?) The only thing I regret is not renting it for two weeks instead of one ! Oh, well, summer 2018 is coming. . . .

  • Submitted: 18-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a super review. Thank you so much. We enjoyed having you with us and are glad you enjoy the area as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

completely favorable

  • 4 of 5

very well supplied and outfitted perfectly.

comfortable bedding, singular drawback was small bedroom and bathroom

town of Branford was a unexpected jewel with many wonderful restaurants and great town center.

beach is steps away.

Hosts are beyond delightful and responsive in all ways

Highly recommended

caryl and gene

  • Submitted: 8-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our delight to have you here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pleasant and Clean Guest Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We found the cottage quiet, pleasant, bright, and clean. We enjoyed the small, private beach and the walking trails nearby. The owners were attentive to our needs, but respectful of our privacy. We loved spending time here and hope to return!

  • Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you here and hope you come back again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Tweed New HAven
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
E. McHenry's
Nearest Ferry
21 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Branford Station
Nearest Motorway
Rt 146
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Lennies, The Stand, Pizza, Mexican
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Limewood Grove
Car: recommended

Private neighborhood beach, Clamming, kayaking around the Thimble Islands, explore the Ct River, the casinos are an hour drive, Outlet shopping 1/2 hour drive.New Haven has theaters, museums, galleries.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Pine Orchard, Connecticut

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jun 16 2018 - Sep 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
Sep 8 2018 - Oct 19 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$265.38

Rates are subject to change. Extra person above two is $5.00 per night
Within 30 days before arrival the rental fee is nonrefundable unless we are able to
rebook the property. If we rebook the property we will refund a prorated share of the rental fee for each day we are able to fill less a $25 cancellation fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties