Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

APRIL OPEN! SUNNY GULFSIDE VILLA-FREE BEACH SERVICE-AMAZING VIEWS! March DEALS!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 460 sq ft
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Efficiency Studio condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Brand New Mattress (May 2017) Brand New Couch (Feb 2018)

Our Destin West studio condo has a first class view of both the beach and bay. Facing Destin, you can view 4 miles of undeveloped beach and see the beautiful skyline of Destin. What a view for the breathtaking sunrises. Okaloosa Island is a very family friendly vacation spot, which connects Destin to Fort Walton Beach.

Our soothing, colorful condo has a beachy and light cottage feel, with a touch of sophistication. You will smile with our cheerful colors that blend in with the aqua waters of the sea. Our efficiency studio condo is great for a getaway or a wonderful vacation for 4 here at Destin West, where you have access to amenities on both the beach side and the bayside.

The unit is located on the beach side, where you also have a private pool (heated during Winter) beneath the Villas. Be sure to watch the sun go down by the fishing pier and then walk to a beachside restaurant right out your door. Head to Howl at the Moon Comedy and Piano bar as you pass along different shops at the boardwalk. The Gulfarium is also within walking distance.

Our unit has a queen size bed and a queen sleeper sofa in an open floor plan (no door to the bedroom but wall separating the queen bed from the living room). There is a Flat Screen TV, DVD in the living area and in the master bedroom area. The bathroom has a big, relaxing deep set tub for a nice evening of soaking and relaxing. The bathroom also has a separate stand up shower. Except for the penthouse units, Villa 506 is one of only two condos with a 'small capacity all-in-one washer/dryer'. A big plus for stays over 3 nights!

There are MANY pools to choose from at Destin West. The bayside offers a 700 ft. lazy river, a heated pool with a waterfall flowing into it, and 2 large hot tubs in the center of the bayside complex. There is also a gradual decline pool that feeds into the Lazy River. Parents love the safety of their toddlers playing in the water.

The beachside complex offers a 5000 sq. ft. pool, a splash garden for the kids, a kiddy pool, and a large hot tub. You will also have access to the large Ramada Inn pool that features a grotto pool with swim up bar!

A SKYWALK or bridge connecting the beachside complex to the bayside complex makes using all of the amenities at Destin West a breeze! The beachside also has a state of the art FITNESS GYM right on the beach.

CHARCOAL GRILLS and PICNIC TABLES on both the bayside and beachside make grilling out inviting and fun. Or throw FRISBEE/FOOTBALL on the grassy areas by the grills on the bayside.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Grace Ellis & Bill Tumlin
Member since: 2005
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation studio rental in Ft Walton Beach, Florida

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 5
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 460 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Villa 506 is one of only 2 condos in the Villas with 'small capacity' washer/dryer available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(100 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
APRIL OPEN! SUNNY GULFSIDE VILLA-FREE BEACH SERVICE-AMAZING VIEWS! March DEALS!
average rating of 4.73 based on 100 reviews
3

Good.

  • 3 of 5

The unit we were in needed deep cleaning.

  • Submitted: 9-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gloria, Thank you for your review, but I was a bit surprised. We have our condos deep cleaned every winter and usually 5-star reviews. When I emailed you for a detailed description so that we could quickly remedy the situation, you responded: " It wasn’t a serious problem. There was what appeared to be black mold under the faucet in the bathroom and trash left under the toilet plunger. The only other problem was that the stopper in the bathroom sink was inoperable. We had a great vacation and didn’t want to complain. Thanks so much." I am glad that the issues were very minor and easily remedied. For the future, please notify your owner or manager so that they have an opportunity to make things right for you during your stay and not after. Also, please note that our bookings rely heavily on reviews. Accuracy is very important as the reviews are permanent. In need of a deep clean is very different than a bit of mold under a faucet and a maintenance issue. Thank you for booking with us and I am glad you had a good time. Sincerely, Shelley's Vacation Favorites
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

We loved the charming little condo. It had great access to the beach and having the beach chairs and umbrellas was great!

  • Submitted: 7-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kim, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you booking with us and are so happy you enjoyed our Villa :) Thanks, Shelley's Vacation Favorites
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location, Nice Building

  • 4 of 5

The location was perfect, walking distance to the beach, river, and many restaurants and bars. The owners are very thorough and answer all emails, and make sure you have everything you need. We did find the kitchen lacking a little, and a little strict as far as the check out policy, but imagine it helps with keeping the place clean and organized. We misread the "damage waiver" as a security deposit, and would have much rather paid a higher security deposit than a non-refundable waiver. Again, I assume this helps with keeping the rental protected and it was our fault for not fully understanding the concept.

I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Submitted: 21-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi David, Thank you for your review! I am so sorry about the confusion about the damage waiver fee. You are right, it does help with the protection of our rental. I wish you would have let me know about the lacking kitchen items during your stay as I would have had these items delivered to you at that time. We always ask that our guests let us know of anything they may need during their stay that would make their time here more convenient and enjoyable. I am glad you enjoyed the condo and location. :) we look forward to your return. Don't forget about your return guest discount next time. Thanks, Shelley's Vacation Favorites
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dora, Al
5

Liked condo, good location.

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, nice condo.

  • Submitted: 10-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sharon, Thank you for this awesome review! We are thrilled you enjoyed the condo and your vacation. We look forward to your return! Shelley's Vacation Favorites
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A very sweet and peaceful place to spend a weekend away.

  • 4 of 5

I had a very relaxing stay at this cheerful and cozy little condo. Nice proximity to the beach and a boardwalk area with fun seafood restaurants. Did not need to rent a car, as there was a well stocked Tom Thumb within walking distance for basic groceries. Sherry and Grace were very accommodating when I inquired about a late checkout due to bad weather cause of Hurricane Irma.

  • Submitted: 22-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Louis
5

Fantastic Florida Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in Villa 506 and had an absolutely amazing vacation. The condo has everything we needed! There is plenty of storage so we were able to fully unpack and feel like we were at home. We were able to make omelets for breakfast and sit out on the balcony while we watched the sun rise. We loved that there is not only a washer/dryer but also a dishwasher so no one was stuck doing a bunch of dishes on vacation. The soaker tub was a wonderful bonus to the lovely setting. Though certainly not a deal breaker and absolutely a personal opinion; our only drawback was that the mattress on the main bed is quite soft. I can definitely see some people loving that, but we did experience some back pain due to the lack of support. While it is absolutely possible that I missed that information in the room description or previous reviews, had I known about it at the time of booking, I may have chosen a different room.

  • Submitted: 12-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

700 foot lazy river, 5,000 square feet pool and kiddy water playground, Gulfarium within walking distance

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation studio rental in Ft Walton Beach, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring '18
Apr 14 2018 - Apr 27 2018
1 night minimum stay
C$160
 
 
Spring II
Apr 28 2018 - May 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$179
 
 
Summer '18
May 26 2018 - Jun 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$294
C$2,040
 
 
Peak Summer '18
Jun 16 2018 - Jun 29 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$313
C$2,168
 
 
July 4th 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$2,296
 
 
Peak Summer II
Jul 7 2018 - Aug 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$313
C$2,168
 
 
Summer II
Aug 4 2018 - Aug 10 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$294
C$2,040
 
 
Late Summer '18
Aug 11 2018 - Aug 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$172
C$1,180
 
 
Labor Day '18
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 7 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$191
C$1,321
 
 
Fall '18
Sep 8 2018 - Oct 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$166
C$1,147
 
 
Winter '18/'19
Oct 21 2018 - Mar 9 2019
1 night minimum stay
C$108
C$638
C$1,148
 

Additional information about rental rates

Accidental Damage Waiver C$62.53
Cleaning Fee C$108.47 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

We require a $300 down payment which is then applied to the rental balance. The balance is divided in half with the first 50% due 60 days prior to arrival and the second 50% due 14 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable