Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Wellers Bay Waterfront Country Cottage - Prince Edward County

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-9)

This all season, well furnsihed waterfront, country cottage faces westward over Weller's Bay to tree covered sand dunes. The house is nestled amongst majestic mature trees and is located just off the oldest road in Ontario. A large wooded area across the road from the house complete with marshy inlets and historic 19th century relics is excellent for walking, birdwatching, fishing, biking, paint-balling or birdwatching. There is a major 40km bike trail by the cottage which goes to Picton. Located in scenic Ameliasburg township, in northern Prince Edward County, Ontario. The fully furnished cottage is spacious and cozy. The lakefront on the property is ideal for lounging and ducks and swans and also has the right atmosphere for a girls weekend, small corporate retreat, a wedding event or a romantic getaway.

The 2,000 square foot bungalow has three generous bedrooms and two full bathrooms, including an ensuite. There is a large 20 by 24 foot living room with cathedral ceiling and large stone fireplace, a six person dining room, a fully equipped eat-in kitchen with dishwasher, stove with oven and microwave. The house has central air conditioning. There is a covered deck and a large open deck off the living room, complete with a four person hot tub. A heated out building near the deck is a games room, complete with a pool table, table tennis, foos-ball and a dart board. The house comes complete with use of a gas barbeque, two firepits, fishing rods, bad-mitton set, sports balls, lawn chairs and bicycles. Some firewood is provided. There is a canoe provided.

Relax and listen to the rustling leaves as the warm wind gently blows over your body. Sip a cocktail at the water's edge as the sun slowly sets over the water and dunes. Later, have a campfire in the firepit, bask in the hot tub, listen to the stereo, watch a movie, sing karaoke or play pool.

Play family games and sports on the lush grassed area on the property and later cool down with a swim in the shallow sand bottom lake waters.

This home is completely self sufficient with linens, bedding and supplies provided. All you have to do is just bring your bathing suits and camera.

In the morning, the first thing you will notice is the singing of the birds. In August, sit in the hot tub and watch stars fall from the milky way. In fall and winter, build a warm fire in the stone fireplace and curl up with a good book and a glass of local wine. Great in winter too - cozy, skiing and snowboarding nearby.

The local area is unique and captivating. Enjoy the world class sand beaches of Prince Edward County. North Beach is within 10 minutes and Sandbanks Beach is 25 minutes away. Go birdwatching at nearby world famous Presquille Provincial Park. Numerous local wineries provide samplings, tours, wine sales and fine dining. Go golfing at one of the many of the local golf courses, including Timber Ridge one of Canada's top 100 courses. Shop, dine or enjoy a cultural event such as an art gallery, museum, or cafe in one of the quaint historic towns such as Bloomfield, Wellington or Picton.

Visit an agricultural Fair such as the Milford Fair or buy local produce, meat, vegetables or baked goods from a local farm. In winter enjoy walks on the nearby beaches or adjacent woods, cross country skiing, downhill skiing/snowboarding,snowmobiling and the many local winter cultural events, health spas, and fine dining.

Keywords: All Season Cottage

More Details

Lance Alexander
Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2018

About Lance Alexander

I have been a part-time county resident fro over 30 years. My children now 22, 20, and 17 grew up in the County during summers. Now my 14 year old step son is learning about the county. Once you have visited the County you will be hooked.

Lance Alexander purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Lance Alexander chose Prince Edward

Prince Edward County is unique. It has everything. It has beaches, golf courses, wineries, birdwatching, hiking, lots and lots of history and heritage (the cottage is located just off the oldest road in Ontario and there was a fort from the war of 1812 just around the corner from my cottage), lots of cool stores and funky restaurants and the cottage itself is very homey and relaxing. A couple of interesting facts about the County:

- it has 800 kilometres of scenic coastline

- Sandbanks Provincial Parks is home to the world's largest freshwater sand dunes

- Prince edward County is an an emerging epi-centre for new world wines with over 20 wineries and more coming

- it has lots of heritage and was home to United Empire Loyalists and Sir John A Macdonald

- Presquile Provincial Park near the cottage is one of North America premier birdwatching sites, especially waterfowl.

- Battawa ski hill which is neaby was founded by the Batta family who created a global empire making shoes. Battawa has a reputation as a small but very good place to ski and snowboard.

What makes this cottage unique

You are close to many things and it is easy to get to from the 401. You will not be bored at my cottage as there is lots of things to do.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for the great cottage experience! We loved our stay here! What a beautiful area! Thanks
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 8


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Prince Edward, Ontario

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • They are full bathrooms. One bathroom is an en suite to the Master bedroom. The second bathroom is located between bedrooms 2 and 3.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (1) Fold away inflatable bed
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Games out building complete with table tennis, foos-ball, pool table and darts. 16' canoe, bicycles, fishing rods included. For an additional fee, other available services include: - 13' fishing boat rental - housecleaning upon departure


3.4/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

32% Complete
32% Complete
2% Complete
8% Complete
24% Complete
Wellers Bay Waterfront Country Cottage - Prince Edward County
average rating of 3.4054055 based on 45 reviews

Great Family Cottage!!!!

  • 5 of 5

I read several of the recent reviews prior to booking and got the impression that some people were expecting a summer home, not a cottage. When I think cottage, I think of the ones I used to go to as a kid - painted plywood floor, boiling water to wash dishes, outdoor showers. Cottaging is more about the people you are with than the amenities of the locale.

Having said that, Alexander Cottage is an excellent place to reconnect with the family. They have a shed that is decked out with a ping pong table, pool table and foozball. There are also lots of outdoor games - so many that we were able to create the cottage Olympiad, a grueling ten event competition that was played over several days. I am saddened to say that I didn't make the podium.

Wellers Bay is shallow with a sandy bottom and the boys spent hours splashing around and going for canoe rides. The long, flat stretch between the cottage and the lake was perfect for frisbee.

The cottage itself is large, spacious and well appointed. The kitchen has everything you could want (including dishwasher) and it was a nice surprise that it included a water cooler. The BBQ is new and the dining room doubles as a great place to play cards, which is one of the few places I did get a victory.

Lance, the owner, was a pleasure to deal and was very accommodating. My oldest wanted to sleep outside and Lance let us put up a tent out back. He left us wood for the firepit and let the boys borrow the bikes. All-in-all it was an excellent vacation at an incredible cottage property.


  • Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having Chuck and his family of 8 as guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 9


  • 1 of 5

There is not enough room here to adequately describe the disgusting conditions at this property! I sent Mr. Alexander a large quantity of the 69 time stamped pictures I had taken along with a lengthy deficiencies list the last day of our stay after completing list May 18 21st

Mr Alexander in turn “feigned” surprise? Thanked me for my input and told me these matters would be dealt with next week by his caretaker No apology was ever offered or received from Mr. Alexander and I wish it noted a “required” damage deposit and cleaning fee is required on booking

The current condition of this property is so bad it never should have been made available for rent!! And “yes” With over 35 years experience in the construction field residential/commercial (inclusive of project and property management) I am qualified to speak

It is unfortunate I cannot post pictures here as they show a tale of neglect, indifference, Serious Health/Safety issues and how disgusting this property is at present

I’ll start with the dilapidated boat with a flat tire sitting in the driveway. Next we walk up to the front door where the entrance door is filthy and paint peeling of it. You enter and open the closet door (which falls off its hinges) and is full of others belongings and clutter You walk into the kitchen to grease all over the microwave and oven. You open the microwave and see filth inside with the bonus of mouse droppings? You fight to open the broken pantry doors and are greeted with an absolute disgusting mess. You squint to look out the windows and doors they are so disgustingly filthy with weatherstripping hanging everywhere on all windows of home You turn on the kitchen tap and fear it will fall off as the counter is warped and rotten you open the cabinet under the sink and are greeted with a rotted mouldy mess. you notice the coffee pot on the counter with mould growing inside and swear off coffee for life. Mouse droppings on counter and drawers where your linens, cutlery etc is kept. You find a cooking pan to cook your food amidst a disgusting mess of pots and pans with a defined (raised) charred outline of someone’s last meal and almost vomit. Games room. Disgusting mess with added bonus of pot all over ping pong table. Mould in 2nd bath peeling walls 80 year old friend thinks his master bath has frosted glass doors. It didn’t.. Disgusting! Smashed glass litters hot tub area with black filter and what looks like diarrhea swirling around filter housing. Etc..

  • Submitted: 22-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Cozy, winter cottage

  • 4 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time staying here. The owner (Lance) was very accommodating and kind. The cottage has everything you can possible need including a nice hot tub and huge fire place to keep warm. Games room kept us busy and entertained throughout our stay. Overall a great experience.

  • Submitted: 5-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 7

Website gives a wrong impression of the cottage

  • 1 of 5

Overall the previous review was accurate. As advised by a neighbour the dock was destroyed by high water and ice in the winter. Although the grass had been mowed since June. Maybe the hot tub had received attention but we didn't want to use it. The games room smelled terrible so again we didn't want to use it. We did use the canoe and eventually found usable fishing rods and life jackets. The beds were comfortable and made up for our arrival. We are awaiting promised compensation from the owner. Susan

  • Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The reason the dock is not in the water is due to historically high water levels (highest in the last 60 years). The water was over the first 20 feet of the lawn at the peak. Just now the water is starting to recede but is still very high. If the dock had been in place with the water this high during a storm which does happen in summer it would have floated away. There was nothing wrong with the lawn as it was cut and trimmed the day before the guest's visit. The hot tub was checked the day before as well as was in good working condition and was perfectly useable. The guest admits in their review it was fine. The games room was fine and perfectly useable both before they arrived. It did not smell. There is several fishing rods and related equipment in the games building and it is highly visible and useable so I don't understand their comment about the fishing rods. What the guest didn't relay in their review was the terrible condition they left the cottage in. Instead of doing the laundry as required they left all the bedding, towels and dish towels in both the bath tubs in a dirty state. The games building was left a mess including the fishing equipment they used. They had a fire in the wood stove in the games building despite it being warm summer weather which is very odd. Dishes were left in the dishwasher and the house was not vaccummed when I arrived to check the state of the cottage. Overall not a good clean up effort.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1


  • 1 of 5

Upon arriving to the Cottage, we discovered that the grounds were VERY overgrown and appeared to be lacking any general maintenance - the shrubs and over grown grass obstructed our use of some of the amenities on site and obstructed entry in to the cottage from the rear. We were very fortunate to have a neighbor mow the lawn around the fire pit for us to use that space. The A/C was pushing hot air - I immediately contacted the owner to rectify this problem; after providing countless excuses as to why the A/C was not working, he finally assured us that he was looking into a technician that could come out to fix the unit - ultimately, no technician came. Part of the allure of the Alexander cottage was a hot tub. The hot tub is the same as the one pictured on the website however it is COMPLETLY unusable. There was a large black ring around the tub, no chemicals had been added to the tub in a very long time as evidenced by the build up on the tub walls and the general smell. The cover was broken and very difficult to lift. Ultimately we did not and could not use the hot tub. The cottage itself looked as though no one had been there in MONTHS. The general cleanliness of the cottage was terrible... we had to sweep and pass the vacuum in the first hour of arriving, as well as clean the tubs and toilets for personal use. There was a stack of dishes on the counter and full garbage and recycling bins in the garage. All of the windows and doors are covered with dead bugs, some of the screens are broken and most of the corners of the cottage have large cobwebs. The dock pictured on the website is not there. The water is at an all time high and so unfortunately, the dock would not have been able to be in the water however, we were never contacted to be advised of this and ultimately the dock is destroyed and is in pieces on the shore. The waterfront in its current condition is totally unusable. We feel we were greatly deceived in renting this cottage. Given all this information up front, we ABSOLUTELY would not have rented this cottage and would have taken our business elsewhere.

  • Submitted: 6-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
17 0

Great winter weekend!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was cozy and perfect for our family winter weekend. It was spacious and had everything we needed. It snowed lots on our weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed having the hot tub and fireplace. We also enjoyed going for a hike in the nearby provincial park Presqu'ile (~15min drive). Lance was incredibly accommodating, flexible and very quick to respond to all of my questions. Thanks again for everything!

  • Submitted: 28-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 6


Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Nearest Ski
15 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
North Beach
Car: necessary

Wineries, stock car racing, fishing, fishing charters, drive in theaters, restaurants, spas, golf, antiques, downhill skiing, snowboarding, cycling, birdwatching


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Prince Edward, Ontario

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$120
Pet Fee C$120
Refundable Damage Deposit C$150

Rates are based on up to six guests. There is a nominal charge for extra guests of "25 per guest per night. No more than 9 guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties