Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Hidden Valley Wooded Splendor - 50% off May Stays!

Bedrooms 5
Space 4,300 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 16-20)

This beautiful, five bedroom, four bath chalet is ideal for any family reunion or celebration. Located on a 2.6 acre wooded lot only a short drive from both Hidden Valley (.5 miles) and Seven Springs (3.3 miles) resorts. Privacy, peace and quiet await you, while all the fun is still close by!

We now offer 2 full refrigerators (one in the kitchen, one in the heated garage) for plenty of food storage space! There's also enough room for up to eight cars in the driveway!

Check in time is 4:00pm and check out time is 11:00am. Early check in and late check out are offered for an additional fee if available.

We do not offer land-line telephone service in the house. Pets accepted with approval from owners. NO CATS PERMITTED!

Keywords: house, lodging

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2018


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Somerset, Pennsylvania

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Two sinks with large mirror
    Jack and Jill bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Opens to main floor second bedroom and main living area
    Upstairs bathroom - toilet , shower
    Lower level bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Main floor second bedroom - 1 queen
    First lower level bedroom - 2 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Second lower level bedroom - 2 queen
    Upstairs bedroom - 1 queen , 2 double , 2 twin/ single
  • 1 King size bed 6 Queen size beds 2 Double beds 3 single bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Heated garage for skiers, cell phone booster


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Hidden Valley Wooded Splendor - 50% off May Stays!
average rating of 4.8653846 based on 52 reviews

Perfect for our Needs& Responsive to Questions

  • 5 of 5

We used this lovely and well-appropriated home for a "Wedding Base Camp" for the Mother & Father of the Bride, being married locally, and four cousin couples. The house is everything the full listing describes....(read it thoroughly! When I see people complaining, the blame is totally on them...everything is fully & accurately described and depicted in the listing!) It was Perfect and as you might assume the open Great Space (kitchen/dining/living) was where we congregated....and out on the deck, too! Yet, anyone wishing to break off for some quiet/nap time had their own place to escape to. Loved the kitchen space ...not a tool/pan omitted. Could be prepping meals and STILL be a part of the conversations. And lastly, any questions unanswered on website, were quickly responded to by John. Everyone agreed, Fern Wooded Splendor added it's own joys to an already Joy-filled wedding weekend. Thank you for making it available on Home-Away!

  • Submitted: 14-Apr-2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking your time to write a review and.... I'm glad you enjoyed the house! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great for a weekend

  • 4 of 5

Our holiday weekend started with our first night of flash flooding, no electricity in the basement rooms and perimeter of the house which then lead to no wifi, cable, or as advertised "booster" cell/telephone service. BUT... being that it was a holiday weekend, John (owner) & Holly was responsive and got Chris (of Hidden Valley Rentals) out the next day/Saturday, then a Dad & Son electrician by Sunday. In the end, we all had a great time and were sad to leave.

Here is our review of the house:

Overall house was plenty of space for our group of 11.

Kitchen: Open concept! Heating surface and oven were working. Plenty of counter space, dishes, cups, utensils. It was a pleasant surprise that dish detergent and washer pods, sponges, paper towels, and trash bags were provided. Dish washer is small and old but we had plenty of people to hand wash dishes. 12 cup Coffee machine and 4 piece toaster is provided. Large extended dining table accommodated our large family meals. Extra fridge in the garage was a bonus.

Living Room: Fireplace was easy to use. We suggest posting instructions on how to open the flue (turn knob to the right). Sofas are super comfy! They provide plenty of wood in the shed in the front of the house but because of the flooding, we definitely needed fire-starter logs.

Deck/Hot Tub: Large deck with two sliding doors. Outside lights were tricky to turn on but that was more of electricity issues we experienced. They provide Day 2 shock so the 6 person hot tub was "clean" and enjoyed every evening. Be careful getting in and out as they do not provide a step but a table that was used as one.

Bedrooms: Sheets provided were very thin and comforters were thin polyester. We suggest bring your own sheets and extra blankets as it was cold at night. Upstairs loft and basement bedrooms are dark dungeons with no windows which makes them great sleeping areas.

Bathrooms: Thin small "gym" towels, wash clothes, and hand towels are provided. Some of them had stains and holes but they smelled clean. No complaints but would suggest bring your own bath towels too. Toilet tissue was provided along with every sink had hand soap ! huge win . Plenty of hot water.

Please note: this house is located in a "No Service" cell zone so you will need to drive up to the main street to use your cellphone when the wifi/internet/electricity goes out. There is NO landline in the house which we found as a safety concern during our stay.

  • Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer H - thank you for your post!! Unfortunately the weekend you stayed, the mountain experienced a very warm weekend with a lot of rain. With the warmth came a lot of snow melting so we indeed did have a flash flood issue going on. Sorry about that. Since I've owned the house this is the first I've seen this type of flooding and I appreciate your patience with the electricity issue. As you stated, we did try to mobilize an electrician as soon as possible. Our normal electrician was out of town (holiday weekend) so I paid another electrician an additional fee to come so that we could get the power on. Sorry you felt the sheets/comforters were "thin". We've had complaints if they are too heavy during the summer and too light during the winter - so we also provide 15+ additional blankets/comforters so that those that are cold can add a blanket. This way people can have some control over how warm/cold they are especially since they are usually staying with others who may like the thermostat set differently than they would normally set it at home. We've never had a complaint about our towels. As I stated in our personal email exchange - I have discussed this with our cleaning company and they will be more careful to be sure no towels with holes are used. As for the land line telephone. Unfortunately the service provider up on the mountain does not offer a regular land line phone other than through their internet service - which is why I cancelled it and provided the booster. So even if there was a land line available, I'm quite certain the phone would have not worked because of the electrical problems that were caused from the extremely unusual circumstances due to the flash flooding. Again thank you for your business and your post! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Terrific Accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed renting your house for our annual family & friends ski weekend. The house is well equipped - we especially enjoyed the fire place & hot tub and the upstairs bedroom was perfect for the kids that were part of our group. We would definitely rent this house again.

  • Submitted: 11-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Christmas celebration

  • 5 of 5

This home had everything we needed for our Christmas gathering. Plenty of room for everyone! The best part for us was the fact that the kitchen area was connected to the living room. We were able to have plenty of space to be in the same common area without feeling crowded. If anyone needed to nap or get away from the group there were plenty of spaces for that as well. Another positive was the location. It was isolated and quiet but access to shopping was only a 25 minute drive away. If you are interested in outdoor fun the ski resort is only a five minute drive away. We also enjoyed the hot tub (our adult children were in it even when the snow was falling) and the fireplace that we had burning all day! Plenty of wood supplied! I realize that this is not related to the home but we were fortunate to have 5 inches of snow on Christmas Eve so it made it even more wonderful. We highly recommend the home and would consider a trip back ourselves!

  • Submitted: 3-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Family wedding

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much , House was very clean lots of room. Did not use the hot tub not enough time with wedding. It was very convenient to the wedding which was very nice. would loved to have had more time maybe next time. Would recomend the house to anyone who would be looking for a place in the area. Everyone was very easy to work with. Thanks again Miriam Smith

  • Submitted: 21-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great house for a family vacation. We had a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Pittsburgh Airport
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Hidden Valley Resort
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Hidden Valley Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Laurel Hill State Park


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Somerset, Pennsylvania

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 16 2018 - Sep 6 2018
2 night minimum stay
Sep 7 2018 - Dec 26 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Linen/Hot tub C$236.37 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit C$958.28

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
All winter stays must include a Friday and Saturday night stay, weekends CANNOT be split.
MLK and Pres. Day wknds are a three night minimum.
Week stays are from Friday to Friday or Sunday to Sunday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties